We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent relaxing Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent relaxing Holiday!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Right on the Strand, minutes to everything, Gym, Pool, Magnetic Island Ferry...
Apartment had everything, Management were very helpful & nothing was too much trouble!
We only stayed for a week, could have easily stayed for a Month!
We will be back.
David & Yvonne

Room Tip: Rooms had views of both Bay & Marina, Exec Apartment was very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thankyou David for your review of the property & especially your comment about coming back. Apartments located on the sides of the tower block have front & rear balconies which have views of the Marina & Cleveland Bay. The 2 bedroom apartments with this aspect go up as far up the 3rd floor & the floors thereafter are all 3 bedroom apartments.

You can rent our apartments from a minimum of 2 nights & as long as you want. We do special rates for long term stays. We would love to accommodate David for an extended period next time.

Kind Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    60
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
150
57
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Townsville experiences a dry tropical climate. As such, Mariner's North is ideally located right on the water. Similarly, its close proximity to The Esplanade and the city centre facilitate easy access to restaurants, hotels, markets, shopping and the Magnetic Island ferry terminal.
Each apartment is beautifully appointed.
Management and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay.

Room Tip: If you want absolute quiet during the day then it may wise to take a room away from the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoscoRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
What a headline from RoscoRobbins who travelled all the way from Tassie to stay with us at Mariners North. I am biased of course & therefore agree with Rosco that we are the 'Best in Townsville.' Mariners North certainly has the best location & we endeavour to make our guests' stay with us as pleasureable as possible.

Great to hear of guests' experience at the property as it allows prospective customers to make an informed decision. We value Rosco's feedback & certainly look forward to seeing him & his wife back at Mariners.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Well organised holiday apartments right on the water, great pool n barbeque area, even a tennis court! Gardens immaculate, they even cleaned the vehicle windscreen the day I left. Best even, tks for great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Short but sweet. Alan's reveiw summs up his experiences in a few sentences, but says it all. Mariners North is ideal to catch up with Family & Friends if you are visiting Townsville. Located right on The Strand, walking distance to restaurants & shops,play tennis, have a BBQ & have a swim in the pool & relax. Thats the life.

I look forward to seeing you at Mariners North.

Cheers,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Wow these apartments are very spacious & well appointed. Could not believe how large the living area & balconies were. Mariners will not disappoint. Fantastic views to Magnetic Island, The Strand & beach. Managers Brett & Maree were friendly & very helpful. The swimming pool is located on the beach side of the resort & there are BBBqs which we found very handy. This Resort is ideal for Families, Groups, Couples it has it all. We loved it so much we stayed an extra couple of nights. we will definitely be back on our next trip to Townsville.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oasis-palmcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Wow what a great reveiw from oasis-palm cove. We certainly value guest feedback & this one certainly sums up our apartments & property. We look forward to welcoming back the guys from oasis-palm cove.

Cheers,

Brett
Owner Operator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights in exec Ocean View apartment. Beautifully fitted out, large apartment with big balcony overlooking beach and Magnetic Island. Ferry to Island is just 10 min walk away and main restaurant and bar strip ( Palmer St ) is only 15 mins walk.
No lift in exec apartment block, so watch out if you're on a 6 week trip like us and have packed accordingly !
Have seen earlier complaints about having to dispose of rubbish yourself on departure, which rankles slightly given the price, but this was a minor blip in an otherwise excellent stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lozweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
loaweir's review certainly highlights our close proximity to Sealink's Ferry Terminal to Magnetic Island & walking distance to the bars & restaurants at Palmer St. The apartments are large & all have full length balconies overlooking Cleveland Bay.

There is three building sections in the apartment complex : the 10 storey tower with lift access; West & East Wings with stair access. The executive apartments are located throughout the property. The Tower does not necessarily give you the better views, but does have lift access. We recommend you request lift access when booking if you don't wish to walk up stairs.

Yes, we do request guests leave the apartments in a tidy state & empty the rubbish on departure. As I have mentioned previously, this is standard practice for self catering apartments.

We appreciate the comments & happy that you had an excellent stay.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just spent 7 nights at these lovely apartments and could not fault them. The reception staff are friendly & helpful (even lending us a cotton & thread from her handbag to sew a button on). The rooms are spacious &clean. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in the tower which had beautiful views up the strand & over to magnetic island. The pools & grounds are well maintained and has a great BBQ area for a large group. The location is ideal. This was our first trip to Townsville and we have enjoyed beautiful weather. Will definitely be back and would not stay anywhere else. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
What a fantastic review from Simone, we certainly appreciate the time guests take to provide feedback to the property & prospective customers on Tripadvisor. We do take pride in our presentation of the gardens & pool area. We certainly have the best location in Townsville with absolute ocean views from every apartment.

The BBQ/Gazebo area is located between the pool & tennis court right on the ocean. It offers groups & families a great venue to get together relax & enjoy the view of Magnetic Island & The Strand. We look forward to having Simone come back & enjoy what Townsville has to offer.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent 6 days in a ground floor apartment facing north. The apartment was comfortably and attractively set up with glorious views out towards Magnetic Island, The apartment was very clean and had all the bits and pieces needed to make comfortable for the six days
Although we arrived later in the day, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The location was great, being adjacent to the outdoor Olympic sized pool and within walking distance of restaurants, coffee shops and the Magnetic Island ferry. Despite all that the location was quiet and undisturbed.

All in all, it was a delightful place to stay in all regards. Location, facilities and location.

Room Tip: The view out towards Magnetic Island are spectacular. We chose a ground floor apartment to give easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRW269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I agree wholeheartedly with Peter's comments regarding the view from his ground floor apartment - spectacular. The majority of our inquiries from guests want to be located high up in the complex to get the best view, but this is not necessarily the case. The ground floor apartments in the West Wing have uninterupted views of The Strand & Magnetic Island. The ground floor apartments offer easy access the pool, BBQ & gardens. As Peter mentioned, whilst we are walking distance to all amenties the location is very quiet.

Thank you Peter for your comments on Mariners North, especially that the apartment was very clean.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners North Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Property: Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Address: 7 Mariners Dr | The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners North Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners North Holiday Apartments offer Absolute Ocean Front accommodation in Townsville. Every apartment is fully self-contained , with two full sized bathrooms, a spacious open plan living area and a generous private balcony with stunning ocean views. They come complete with air-conditioning, large modern kitchen, laundry, Austar TV, DVD, security access and secure undercover parking. Venture outside your apartment and enjoy a range of resort style facilities including a saltwater pool, spa and full size tennis court, all set within tranquil tropical gardens. The Strand is right at your door step offering the Waterpark, Childrens Playground, patrolled beaches; BBQ area,Rockpool, Cafes, Restaurants, cycling & walking tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mariners North Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing