We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just spent 7 nights at these lovely apartments and could not fault them. The reception staff are friendly & helpful (even lending us a cotton & thread from her handbag to sew a button on). The rooms are spacious &clean. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in the tower which had beautiful views up the strand & over to magnetic island. The pools & grounds are well maintained and has a great BBQ area for a large group. The location is ideal. This was our first trip to Townsville and we have enjoyed beautiful weather. Will definitely be back and would not stay anywhere else. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
What a fantastic review from Simone, we certainly appreciate the time guests take to provide feedback to the property & prospective customers on Tripadvisor. We do take pride in our presentation of the gardens & pool area. We certainly have the best location in Townsville with absolute ocean views from every apartment.

The BBQ/Gazebo area is located between the pool & tennis court right on the ocean. It offers groups & families a great venue to get together relax & enjoy the view of Magnetic Island & The Strand. We look forward to having Simone come back & enjoy what Townsville has to offer.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    62
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
155
57
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent 6 days in a ground floor apartment facing north. The apartment was comfortably and attractively set up with glorious views out towards Magnetic Island, The apartment was very clean and had all the bits and pieces needed to make comfortable for the six days
Although we arrived later in the day, the staff were friendly and helpful.

The location was great, being adjacent to the outdoor Olympic sized pool and within walking distance of restaurants, coffee shops and the Magnetic Island ferry. Despite all that the location was quiet and undisturbed.

All in all, it was a delightful place to stay in all regards. Location, facilities and location.

Room Tip: The view out towards Magnetic Island are spectacular. We chose a ground floor apartment to give easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRW269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I agree wholeheartedly with Peter's comments regarding the view from his ground floor apartment - spectacular. The majority of our inquiries from guests want to be located high up in the complex to get the best view, but this is not necessarily the case. The ground floor apartments in the West Wing have uninterupted views of The Strand & Magnetic Island. The ground floor apartments offer easy access the pool, BBQ & gardens. As Peter mentioned, whilst we are walking distance to all amenties the location is very quiet.

Thank you Peter for your comments on Mariners North, especially that the apartment was very clean.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Have just returned from having 3 weeks of fantastic weather in the best accommodation in Townsville at Mariners North on the Strand. Uninterrupted views across the water to Magnetic Island ,including down to Palm Island on those clear days.( 100kms North)
On one of these days ,while having lunch on the balcony we were treated to an FA 18 Hornet giving an air show for the people of Townsville. This was in acknowledgment of their acceptance by the people of North Queensland during a combined exercise held with some of our other " friends".
The Strand is a highlight for all ages, water park for the kids, coffee, restaurants plus walking for those reducing the waistline .Shortly another feature will be finished at the rock pool end of the Strand ,this will be at the old army compound, which will include a magnificent walk to Pallarenda

Room Tip: Walk up Units are more suitable for those who will use the facilities of pool,tennis BBQ area,also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good to see elvo back at Mariners North, we arranged for the F18 Hornet to welcome him back. Just kidding, yes the Airforce did put on a spectacular display whilst elvo was here. As elvo has stated he prefers the ground floor apartments which gives easy access to the pool, tennis & BBQ area. Just to reinforce elvo comments on The Strand, it does offer great facilities. The Jazzine Barracks development will be opened in March 2014, which will offer a boardwalk right through to Pallarenda. It was the old Army barracks & is being developed into parklands & recreational areas by the Townsville City Council.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudjimba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Right on the water at the south end of the Strand, views over Cleveland Bay and Maggie Island. Spacious well appointed apartments, all overlooking the view, fully equipped with "full size everything" and a wide furnished verandah under cover. Secure entry and parking under the building, lifts and luggage trolley. Nice pool with shade sail, bbq area all in pleasant gardens. Helpful and friendly management - e.g. our kettle went kaput middle of Sunday afternoon, replacement brought in half an hour. We stay here after a bareboating holiday in the Whitsundays and really appreciate the apartment's good laundry facilities too. Far and away the best location in Townsville, if you want an apartment look no further.

Room Tip: High floor tower but all suites face the view and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
What a tremendous review from Lin, we really appreciate her generous comments about our property. The apartments are large & spacious offering guests a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy their holiday. Certainly Lin enjoys the location with the views of The Strand, Cleveland Bay & Magnetic Island. Our whole goal of meeting & exceeding guest's expectations is perfectly summed up in Lin's review.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just back from a three night stay with my sisters (for a family wedding in Townsville). Had requested a nice view and it was delivered. Just wonderful position on the Strand - perfect for walking along the oceanfront walking tracks. And the great pool was really appreciated. The unit itself was spacious and very well equipped. It had obviously been refurbished as furnishings were all new and lovely. We were expecting a lower standard as had red reviews with 'dated' comments, but our 2 bed, 2 bathroom unit was of a very high standard. We were in the lower wing on the third (top) level and had been notified by the booking staff that this unit did not have a lift, and they checked that we were ok with stairs. This was not a problem to us, but it was nice to know beforehand. If you want a lift, request a 'tower' room. We checked in afterhours so had arranged for our key to be left in the afterhours security box. All worked well and we found our unit and carparking but unfortunately the wrong key/fob was supplied and we were locked out. A quick phone call and the friendly staff had someone on our doorstep within minutes to solve the issue. Very impressed with this service, and the helpful nature of the staff at reception. A perfect stay in every respect, and can highly recommend these apartments. Will certainly use them again next time we're in Townsville.

Room Tip: Ask for a view - not sure if all are as good as our Room #31 but it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripmode33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
What a great review from Tripmode33, we are very happy that we exceeded their expectations. The apartment they stayed in was a standard 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor in the west wing overlooking The Strand Beach. The apartments in this section offer spectacular views of Cleveland Bay.

All of the apartments are spacious & well equpped as noted by Tripmode33. We certainly value the feedback & appreciate the positive comments.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kallangur, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We took our almost three year old on a week long holiday. The apartments were well suited for our family with the two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Although we did not need to use the services of the reception desk often, we did not have any problems. The view from the large balcony was fantastic. Townsville as a holiday destination is not entirely 5 star. The locals apart from a few were not friendly or willing to engage in conversation or just a courteous 'hello' as you walked by. We have said we would probably come back here but certainly not for the services or friendly atmosphere of Townsville in general but for the beautiful weather and location. In walking distance to the water park which is awesome the museum and reef aquarium (both were great and our toddler loved them). We had to hire a car to get out and about for a couple of days. The apartments offered us everything we look for in holiday accommodation as we usually like to spend most of our time outdoors. The only negative comment i would have would be the value for money if it was not for the view and location i would have to say it is slightly over priced. We have stayed in fully self contained accommodation many times and have always been supplied with detergent and garbage bags. To have to purchase a product you will be leaving behind increases the cost of your stay. It doesn't sound like much but it all adds up and as I said this is my only negative comment.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Further to Belinda M's review, we appreciate the time she has taken to put her thoughts of Townsville & the property on tripadvisor. I don't necessarily agree with Belinda's comments on Townsville, but do agree that the apartments are well suited to families; the waterpark is awesome & the weather during winter is the best.

We do provide some essentials items when you stay in our apartments. These include 2 dish washing liquid sachets; 2 dishwashing powders; 1 laundry powder; a chux; scourer; spare garbage bag & tea towels. In addition to these items we provide tea; coffee; & sugar enough for the first 2 days. There is also soap, shampoo; conditioner & body wash supplied. In general, we provide enough essentail items for at least 2 days. Our apartments are classified as self-catering & it is the responsibility of the guest to purchase any further items. We do leave excess dish washing liquid & powder in the apartments from previous stays.

Townsville isn't a key tourist destination but there is still plenty of attractions & activities to keep you busy during your stay including but limited to The Strand; Aquarium; Magnetic Island; the Reef; Castle Hill; Riverway & Paluma.

I look forward to welcoming back Belinda to Mariners North.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Really large apartment with all the amenities you would expect. This place is just a short walk from the city centre, shops and located at the end of the strand. The hosts were friendly and the place was clean. Was a surprise to find that our windscreen had been cleaned on departure - thanks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the tour where there is secure parking included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msdcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Msdcairns' review of Mariners North has highlighted some great aspects of the property including the spacious apartments with great ocean views. We value input from guests & appreciate the time taken to review the apartments.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
752 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.5 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners North Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Property: Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Address: 7 Mariners Dr | The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners North Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners North Holiday Apartments offer Absolute Ocean Front accommodation in Townsville. Every apartment is fully self-contained , with two full sized bathrooms, a spacious open plan living area and a generous private balcony with stunning ocean views. They come complete with air-conditioning, large modern kitchen, laundry, Austar TV, DVD, security access and secure undercover parking. Venture outside your apartment and enjoy a range of resort style facilities including a saltwater pool, spa and full size tennis court, all set within tranquil tropical gardens. The Strand is right at your door step offering the Waterpark, Childrens Playground, patrolled beaches; BBQ area,Rockpool, Cafes, Restaurants, cycling & walking tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mariners North Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing