We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View to die for, great location. Just magnificent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The best thing about Mariner's North are the magnificent views from the balcony. It is the perfect place to sit and enjoy drinks and food as the sun goes down, taking in Townsville's beautiful winter weather and colourful sunsets over the Strand and Palleranda. The balcony was spacious, with a good sized table and chairs to make the most of the outdoors. The unit itself had plenty of room, was well appointed, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable, with everything that would be needed for extended stays. Even the main bedroom had a wonderful ocean and beach view.
The location is brilliant, within waking distance of the city strip, and right on the Strand with its attractions. We enjoyed the nice clean, large swimming pool.
The only down side is that the units are all two and three bedrooms, which makes them a little more expensive for a couple compared with one-bedroom apartments, however, I doubt that there is a better place to stay in Townsville, so the extra cost is worthwhile. We loved the place, and will return for another stay.

Room Tip: For views, the main tower is hard to beat
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

May be Tim should be a copy writer, what a great Headline - its sums up our great location on 'The Strand' in Townsville. The apartments do offer large spacious living areas & balconies that overlook Cleveland Bay. This time of the year in Townsville offers great weather & great sunsets from your apartment at Mariners North.

Take the opportunity to come to Townsville & experience the awesome climate we have over the winter period.

Warm Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Mariners North Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed twice in a 2 bedroom apartment and will be booking again this year. Mariners' has a great location overlooking the coast and the new Marina and is a stone's throw from the Strand with all it's beach facilities and restaurants etc. The uninterrupted views out to sea and along the Strand and towards Magnetic Island couldn't be better, always something to see. The hotel has a very pleasant pool and garden area overlooking the water and there are garden apartments if a lower level is preferable. Our 6th and 7th floor apartments were in the Tower, which is not high rise. There is secure underground parking, a definite plus in this area. The apartments have individual owners so can vary in decor etc. but both ours were spacious, well equipped, very clean and everything worked, plus a good size balcony with outdoor furniture. Reception staff are friendly and helpful, but servicing is only carried out for slightly longer stays unless paid for. We tried The Oaks on Palmer and won't be going back, it was 2 years ago so it might have changed but once bitten......... ? Instead we will rebook where we can be pretty confident of being comfortable.

Room Tip: All have ocean views, lower level has easy garden access, higher quieter as always, but not a noisy...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Great to hear from Lin S regarding her recent stay at Mariners North. It is an accommodation provider's goal to create return guests & we have have achieved it on this occasion. Mariners North welcomes feedback & we appreciate Lin taking the time to give her review on the property.

Further to Lin's comment about the the servicing of the apartments, we are classified as self-catering apartments. If you stay more than 8 nights the apartment is serviced. We will service the apartments as requested for a minimal charge. The majority of guests want to be stay in higher floor apartments, we would recommend families consider ground floor apartments as they have easy access to the pool & gardens.

Warm Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fabulous location, the best views of the beach & sea from the balconey. The Unit was spacious & the kitchen was great, everything you needed was there. The pool was great, just what was needed after a long walk along the strand.The tennis courts looked great although we didn't get around to using them.The beds were very comfortable & the kids liked the aircon!
We all really enjoyed our stay at Mariners North.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J01962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Well what I can say with a review like that! Thank you Jo1962 from Mareeba for your great comments on your recent stay. Contact me personally next time you stay at Mariners North & I will be more than happy to provide you with a complimentary upgrade.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Mariners North, staff super friendly and obliging, nothing was a problem, room was great, easy walk to the city, restaurants, casino, marina ferry terminal etc and to wake to a view like that was just special, have stayed at many different hotels & apartments but Mariners North is the one for us we will return just as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Hi Ruth R,

Great to hear your comments on Mariners & its satisfying that you had such a good time. The apartments are handy to everything Townsville has to offer. As you mentioned we are only a short walk from the Casino. Townsville is fortunate to have the Casino & if your not a gambler it offers a number of dining options.

Let me know when you return to Townsville & I will offer you an upgrade. We value your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My stay at Mariners North was everything I had expected and more. The views were spectacular and with the beach basically at your doorstep what more do you need for your stay in the tropics? Rest assured this is the place you'll want to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

DGSx's comments were short & sweet. We appreciate the feedback & I can't argue with you about the views. The Strand is right at our doorstep with 2 patrolled beaches - Picnic Bay & Arcadia, as well as the Rock Pool.

No need for a car, you are within walking distance to the Magnetic Island Ferry Terminal., Casino, Entertainment Centre, Great Barrier Reef Boat, Tobruk Swimming Pool, restuarnts, shops & more.

Great time assured whilst staying at Mariners North.

Warm Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were contracting in Townsville for a period of 8 Months, which we spent the whole of our time staying at Mariners, and had up to 4 apartments at one time. Mariners apartments have the BEST VIEWS in Townsville, the apartments were very well maintained, very clean and also child friendly! The staff are very plesant, and very efficient!

We will most definately be back to stay AGAIN!!
Thanks alot Jo and all other staff at the MARINERS NORTH HOLIDAY APARTMENTS for making our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Erin & her husband operate a bitumen road crew. They were sent to Townsville to resurface a number of roads that were damaged during the cyclone & wet season. Most of the crew had come straight from NZ. We accommodated them for a number of months at Mariners. They certainly appreciated the location & the large apartments.

Thanks Erin for your comments & look forward to seeing you in Townsville.

Regards,

Brett
Owner Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I absolutely loved the view and on a beautiful day as we had, you couldn't want more. We had a couple of questions and the staff went out of their way to help us which we appreciated. We will definitely use this plac again. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Michelle comments are well appreciated especially her remarks about the staff. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Regards,

Brett Thompson
Owner Operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners North Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Address: 7 Mariners Dr | The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $154 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners North Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners North Holiday Apartments offer Absolute Ocean Front accommodation in Townsville. Every apartment is fully self-contained , with two full sized bathrooms, a spacious open plan living area and a generous private balcony with stunning ocean views. They come complete with air-conditioning, large modern kitchen, laundry, Austar TV, DVD, security access and secure undercover parking. Venture outside your apartment and enjoy a range of resort style facilities including a saltwater pool, spa and full size tennis court, all set within tranquil tropical gardens. The Strand is right at your door step offering the Waterpark, Childrens Playground, patrolled beaches; BBQ area,Rockpool, Cafes, Restaurants, cycling & walking tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mariners North Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing