We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariners North Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Our original accommodation fell through on arrival and Mariners North was one of the options the hotel suggested to us as having a comparable arrangement available. We viewed a couple of 2 bed apartments before settling on one. The location is towards the southern end of the Strand near Tobruk Baths and a short walk to "the bucket" which is a large and impressive water play area. It's a comfortable level walk up the beautiful Strand to Gregory St - approx 10 - 15 mins (?) and about 20 mins to the fishing pier and basketball court etc. Gregory St is where most of the nearby eating places seem to be located and importantly this includes CBar which is a very nice good value eating spot on Gregory St Headland. I would also consider it walking distance to Reef HQ and that area to the south via the old Strand.
The apartments we looked at both had large airy living areas, laundry and full kitchen. We were very impressed with the design of the one we took as it facilitates cross ventilation so most of the time air con wasn't required in our apartment even in February, if anything it tended to be bit too cool and we would keep one balcony door shut. There were two balconies one on the northern side giving views across the beautful gardens to the islands and up the Strand, the second south towards the old Strand across what is currently a construction site. Each balcony was provided with seating. The northern facing balcony had a table and four comfortable chairs. The southern balcony had two cushioned chairs and a small table between them. Our apartment had 1 main bedroom with queen and ensuite bathroom and access to the southern balcony. . There was a second bathroom and another bedroom with two single beds. Some apartments also have a sofa bed. There was a seprate laundry. 2 TVs and pay TV also provided. All floors were tiled. All this for the very reasonable price of $AUS 185 a night over a four night stay for 4 people.
Some apartments have stair access and others are accessible by elevator our apartment was off the lift lobby as we were travelling with my mum who is mobility impaired. You might need to be specific about access if this is important to you. The stairs were quite steep we felt and even the lower level apartments have one flight of stairs.
The pool is lovely and right on the water. The gardens are also beautifully maintained. Tiny frogs live around the pool. Only about 2 cms long they have an impressively loud croak. If you're swimming at night keep your eyes open for them. We were lucky enough to spot one on the edge of the pool and watched him croaking for quite a while. His little body puffing up to work his very impressive vocal sac. SOOOO cool. There is also a tennis court, however I'm not sure about supply of raquets and so on. Might be worth asking if you want to play while onsite. There is a small bbq area near the pool.
Much of the furniture was new in our apartment, however the main bed's attachment to the bedhead was distressingly wobbly. Not particularly a problem on my own in that room but I don't think I'd have been happy if I was travelling as a couple. There was also a strange faint high pitched whine when someone flushed one of the toilets, but that was fine once we figured out what it was.
On the whole we were extremely happy with this accommodation for the price we thought it was excellent value. We would definitely stay here again.
Sorry I didn't think to photgraph the interior, but I have attached one of the view.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 320 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank alf c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjola94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve and Sandr... S, Manager at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten Ap. Nr. 34 - super guter Zustand - 2 Bäder- tolle Ausstattung
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berndglanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett T, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank giotaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenBritAustralia, Owner at Mariners North Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners North Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners North Holiday Apartments

Address: 7 Mariners Dr | The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $170 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners North Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariners North Holiday Apartments offer Absolute Ocean Front accommodation in Townsville. Every apartment is fully self-contained , with two full sized bathrooms, a spacious open plan living area and a generous private balcony with stunning ocean views. They come complete with air-conditioning, large modern kitchen, laundry, Austar TV, DVD, security access and secure undercover parking. Venture outside your apartment and enjoy a range of resort style facilities including a saltwater pool, spa and full size tennis court, all set within tranquil tropical gardens. The Strand is right at your door step offering the Waterpark, Childrens Playground, patrolled beaches; BBQ area,Rockpool, Cafes, Restaurants, cycling & walking tracks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mariners North Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing