We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townsville short-stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townsville Central Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Right in the heart of Palmer Street, the Townsville Ibis is the ideal hotel if you want to be close to all the great eateries in town, as well as walking distance to Reef HQ. The room was very nice and clean and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank travelocityknome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Good Evening travelocityknome,

Thank you for your great feedback. I agree with you, our location is central, close to local attractions and restaurants.
We pride ourselves for our services. Everything from our rooms, value and customer service.

We hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 502 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was very impressed by the excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very accommodating. The hotel is very well situated and the street was very appealing.
Thank you for the great experience. Will bring my husband back with me next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Good Evening,

What a great response you have proveded us. Thank you. At Ibis we do pride ourselves on our service. Nothing is ever a problem for our valued guests.

I have to agree with you, we are ideally located on Palmer Street and close to local attractions and transport options.

We hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Room was clean with modern decor The location was great for my visit. Car park and entry was a little difficult to find as a "first timer". Staff very helpful and restaurant was convenient and food qutie good. TV did not work. On the whole, very comfortable and would recommend. Good value for price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank overnighter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hello overnighter49,

Thank you for you great respnse about your experience at our hotel. Our team pride them selves on their service and friendliness. We are lucky to have Sugatrain attached to us and boasts great food.

My apologies the TV didn't work during your stay. We are in the process of upgrading our TV's.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Ibis for one night and it provided everything we needed. A bar and restaurant right downstairs, a million other restaurants on the same popular Palmer street to choose from, very very comfortable bedding, walking distance to the pretty Ross creek and footbridge and the nightclubs on the very next street. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mturner_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hi Mturner_13,

Thank you for your raving review. At Ibis Townsville we are lucky to be located on Palmer Street and very happy to have Sugatrain Bar on our premisis. Location is perfect for Townsville nightlife.
We do pride ourselves at meeting all our guests needs and happy to hear that you experienced great service during your stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Ibis in Townsville. The location was excellent and close to all the local restaurants and within walking distance of the ferry terminal.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis63-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hello Janis63-64,

Thank you for your 5 out of 5 score. We have have a fantastic location which, as you have stated, is close to Restaurants and the Ferry Terminal.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is located in a popular part of the city, but not in walking distance of the beach. The rooms are spacious and the bed was comfortable. The waterpressure in the shower was very good.
The only downside to our stay at Ibis Townsville were ants. We had some sweets in the room which attracted ants but later moved it to the bathroom, where the ants followed it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstenNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Good Afternoon KirstenNL87,

What a great review. Thank you. Our location is great for eateries, nightlife, shopping and close to the CBD of Townsville. During the summer season unfortunately the Strand is not within walking distance, however it is only a short car ride to the water.
Ants!! In the tropics ants are a problem all year round. It is unfortunate and I am sorry that you got to experience our tropical ants being attracted to your sweets.

Thank you again for you great review.
Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ideally located to many shops and restaurants. Great choice of eating venues. Room was basic but spacious and met our needs. Great value for money. Staff were very helpful. Car parking available on site.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hello Waterm,

I have to agree with you, we are located perfectly. Palmer Street is one of the top destination points of Townsville. Our rooms are basic but meets our guests needs.
Our team at Ibis Townsville are very friendly and go our of their way to exceed expectations.

Thank you for your great review.

Kindest Regards,
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#21 of 41 in Townsville
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
798 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsville Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsville Central Hotel

Address: 12-14 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Ibis Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Townsville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $59 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townsville Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsville Central Hotel is a 4 star hotel offering stylish accommodation in the heart of the city. Located on vibrant Palmer Street, guests can enjoy a range of dining options at the surrounding cafes, bars and restaurants. Townsville's main shopping mall, Flinders Mall, is close by and there is easy access to the city's entertainment highlights. Centro Bar and Grill is located within the hotel and guests may choose to dine or enjoy a quiet drink. Centro is open for breakfast and dinner. Staying at Townsville Central Hotel also offers access to the popular Strand Park, with a swimming pool, lovely beaches, community art displays and public events. Many of Townsville's attractions are nearby including the beautiful Magnetic Island which is just a short ferry ride from the city. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi and on-site parking A continental breakfast Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Townsville Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing