We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townsville Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Townsville Central Hotel
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ideally located to many shops and restaurants. Great choice of eating venues. Room was basic but spacious and met our needs. Great value for money. Staff were very helpful. Car parking available on site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Waterm,

I have to agree with you, we are located perfectly. Palmer Street is one of the top destination points of Townsville. Our rooms are basic but meets our guests needs.
Our team at Ibis Townsville are very friendly and go our of their way to exceed expectations.

Thank you for your great review.

Kindest Regards,
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    233
    108
    36
    14
See reviews for
60
185
59
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night. The location is perfect! Even though the hotel is located on a busy street, it was very quiet in our room. The room was basic, but very clean. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgorQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi IgorQ

What a great review. Thank you. Our location is great. Palmer Street is the place to be. Even though it is busy the hotel is quiet so you can enjoy the atmospher without the noise. Our rooms are basic, but still ofer the essentials with comfort.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend needed a room in the early hours of the morning and the lady at the desk at ibis checked her in, comforted her and provided a charger for her phone. My friend couldn't be happier with the welcome, the location and the connivence of being able to check in at an odd hour. Thanks ibis and thank you to the lady who checked her in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyLou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hello RyLou S,

Thank you for the great review. What your friend experienced is what we do best. We make all our guests feel welcome and comfortable no matter what time it is, with or without a reservation.
I hope you will be able to come and experience the Service here at Ibis Townsville yourself.

Kindest Regards,

Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good standard ibis on a busy street. We stayed for just 1 night whilst travelling the east coast. ribs and rumps next door, amazing restaurant!!! Everything you'd expect of an ibis to be honest, good price for a clean comfortable stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmab175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Good Afternoon Emmab175,

Thank you for a great review. We have a fantastic location as you'd expereinced. Being located on Palmer Street you are spoilt for choice with what to do and we are so close to other local attractions and th City Centre.

Thank you again for your fantastic comments.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis, Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a typical Ibis, good value for money, good service and friendly staff.
No trouble booking in, all smooth and pleasant.
Room not large but basic and ideal for a 1 or 2 night stay.
Super comfy bed, flatscreen TV and a walk in shower, bathroom not big but perfectly functionable.
Long bench to work at, 2 chairs, small wardrobe, little table and fridge.
Our rate included breakfast which was very good value, nice food and the restaurant is popular with guests and walk-ins. Bobbi such an asset, a very friendly welcoming lady first thing in the morning. Parking excellent. A/C super cool.
Location could not be bettered, right in the centre of Palmer Street which has some of the very best restaurants Townsville has to offer. A very short bridge walk over to the centre of town, but town has little to offer, walk a little further to the beautiful Strand!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hello kezCairns,

Wow such a great review - Thank you. As a team we agree with you. Our location is perfect. As you stated we are close the fantastic restaurants, Townsville CBD, a short walk to the Strand and other local attractions.
Bobbi, along with the rest of our team, is an asset to the Hotel. Our guests are our priority and we understand the importance of providing exceptional customer service.
Our rooms are basic but functional, modern and comfortable. It's great to hear positive feedback. Thank you again for the great review.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kindest Regards,

Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis, Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Central and close to The Strand. Small rooms, clean and basic. Ok for quick overnight. Staff prompt and helpful. Standard Ibis style accommodation. Parking at rear of hotel in open carpark. Restaruants close by.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi BrisbaneMegan,

Thank you for your review. We are a standard Ibis with a fantastic Townsville location, like you stated. We do pride ourselves with our service. Our guests are our number one priority and we are here to make a stay as comfortable as can be and also strive to exceed expectations.
I hope your next stay is as enjoyable as your last.
Kindest Regards,

Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel ibis, Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a 1 night stay at Ibis in Townsville. staff were the most friendly and obliging I have come across in a long time. The hotel is reasonably new so is in very good condition and cleanliness is 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello daw01,

Five out of five- Thank you. Our team is dedicated to all of our guests and understands the importance of customer service and delivering every time. We make sure that our rooms are clean and the Hotel is presenatble at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back ibis Townsville.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#15 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#11 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsville Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsville Central Hotel

Property: Townsville Central Hotel
Address: 12-14 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Ibis Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Townsville
#14 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townsville Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsville Central Hotel is a 4 star hotel offering stylish accommodation in the heart of the city. Located on vibrant Palmer Street, guests can enjoy a range of dining options at the surrounding cafes, bars and restaurants. Townsville's main shopping mall, Flinders Mall, is close by and there is easy access to the city's entertainment highlights. Centro Bar and Grill is located within the hotel and guests may choose to dine or enjoy a quiet drink. Centro is open for breakfast and dinner. Staying at Townsville Central Hotel also offers access to the popular Strand Park, with a swimming pool, lovely beaches, community art displays and public events. Many of Townsville's attractions are nearby including the beautiful Magnetic Island which is just a short ferry ride from the city. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Townsville Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing