We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis - Townsville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townsville Central Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed December 7, 2012

friendly greeting by staff on arrival. rooms were clean. Had breakfast at the hotel both mornings, Great coffee!! Good selection on menu. Staff in all areas were very friendly. Foyer,elevators and rooms very clean. close to Townsville Central all within walking distance

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank customer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Good evening customer70 ,

I am going to have to agree with you. We do great coffee. Thank you for mentioning how friendly our team is. We pride ourselves in the service we deliver here at Ibis Townsville.

We are lucky to be located on palmer Street. Not only are we surrounded by eateries, but close to Townsville CBD and local attractions.

I hope your next stay is as enjoyable as your last stay.

Regards,
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Ibis Hotel, Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 503 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is my second stay here after being here in March 2011, both on business. Again I was lucky enough to get a special at $74 a night compared to full freight of $119. They have obviously realised they were overpriced back in 2011 as they were charging standard tariff of $130 to $140!
This is a typical Ibis hotel – basic, cheap fittings, rooms size reasonable, perfect for a business trip but would not want to spend more than 2 or 3 days as a bit cramped and no pool or other “resort” facilities.
Positives – right in the middle of a strip of restaurants and cafes and a short walk to night club area. Food at the onsite “Sugatrain” was again good, not cheap but reasonable quality and consistent. Also now have 24hr room service. Staff were very friendly and helpful, which was different to last time – as with most low end hotels this aspect is pretty much a daily lottery.
Negatives- starting to look a bit tired, lots of chips, scuffing and fraying in the room which in a better hotel would be fixed.
Bottom line – if you get it for the right price – my call is less than $100 (in low season) - it is good value. Perfect for 1 to 3 days business or as base to do other things around Townsville.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Good Evening Cobra53,

I have to agree with you, our location in Palmer Street is fantastic. Our prices do flucuate day to day depending on the season. There are many great deals and rates that you can book for the hotel both directly and online.

Our hotel is six years old now and unfortunately is in need of some repair that we are progressing towards throughout the new year. At the moment the Hotel is still in good condition. It would be great if we did have 'resort facilities', but unfortunately due to where we are located, the size of the property and being an Ibis we cannot house such facilities.

Thank you for your comments in regards to our team. We pride ourselves in our service and friendly attitudes and we know that it does make a difference.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A last minute trip to Townsville for a meeting meant that hotel choice was limited. The Ibis is well located and good value (Townsville). Rooms are basic, actually a little like a cabin on an overnight ferry. Basic, functional but clean. Great for a stay when you're only planning on sleeping in your room. Fortunately there are plenty of pubs and restaurants around.

So it's good for an overnight stay or somewhere to sleep, but its not a destination.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hi Dusse,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay. Ibis Townsville is only a 3.5 Star Hotel, like you said, maybe not a destination but we are in the best location Townsville can offer. I agree with you, our rooms are clean and we do pride ourselves in our service.
We are very lucky as we have an amazing restaurant Sugatrian for our guests to use for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodGosford
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was a weekend away from kids So was perfect We where able to relax and pop down stair for drink and dinner on Palmer Street Breakfast was very nice and relaxed like we love So pretentious crap or snobby over work staff that cant make a simple flat white(has to be a espresso macchiato blah blah) Was just what we want and need Will stay again

Room Tip: Leave the kids at grandmas and grandad and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNinja357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi GNinja357,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ibis Townsville is a great place to relax and our location is fantastic. Being on Plamer street is a bonus for us with all the eateries surrounding us.
We take the time to understand what our guests like from us. It is a relaxed town, so we create a relaxed atmosphere with good service. Flat Whites are our most popular coffee and I am glad that we were able to meet your needs in serving it to you.
We hope you enjoy your next stay.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay here was made special due to the staff being so friendly, The hotel is a basic Ibis, but the nicest one we have ever stayed at. It just had something extra, including a lovely bar and restaurant, and the staff went the extra mile to give us more tea etc, with a really good atmosphere with the staff members, as teh Manager was so lovely with them, too, Makes a big difference!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolHappyrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Good Afternoon BristolHappyrambler,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback you have provided. It's great to receive five out of five with any score.
At ibis Townsville we strive to produce the best service and experience for our guests. We are a friendly team and enjoy working at the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Hotel ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here at least 15 times over the last few years while travelling through. It's in a great location and the staff are always super friendly. The rooms are simple but very clean and new. It's always super cheap too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaomiGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hello NaomiGreen,

Wow, a 5/5. What an awesome ranking. Thank you. At Ibis Townsville we love to hear great feedback especially from return guests such as yourself. It's nice to see that we are consistant and you enjoy coming back to the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you upon your next arrival.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Ibis Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#23 of 41 in Townsville
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#17 of 41 in Townsville
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#15 of 41 in Townsville
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsville Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsville Central Hotel

Address: 12-14 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Ibis Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Townsville
#10 Business Hotel in Townsville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $59 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townsville Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsville Central Hotel is a 4 star hotel offering stylish accommodation in the heart of the city. Located on vibrant Palmer Street, guests can enjoy a range of dining options at the surrounding cafes, bars and restaurants. Townsville's main shopping mall, Flinders Mall, is close by and there is easy access to the city's entertainment highlights. Centro Bar and Grill is located within the hotel and guests may choose to dine or enjoy a quiet drink. Centro is open for breakfast and dinner. Staying at Townsville Central Hotel also offers access to the popular Strand Park, with a swimming pool, lovely beaches, community art displays and public events. Many of Townsville's attractions are nearby including the beautiful Magnetic Island which is just a short ferry ride from the city. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi and on-site parking A continental breakfast Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Townsville Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing