We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townsville Central Hotel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easy”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here at least 15 times over the last few years while travelling through. It's in a great location and the staff are always super friendly. The rooms are simple but very clean and new. It's always super cheap too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Hello NaomiGreen,

Wow, a 5/5. What an awesome ranking. Thank you. At Ibis Townsville we love to hear great feedback especially from return guests such as yourself. It's nice to see that we are consistant and you enjoy coming back to the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you upon your next arrival.

Kindest Regards
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    233
    108
    36
    16
See reviews for
60
187
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and have no complaints at all. We were on an Accor Red Hot Rooms rate and decided to upgrade to the king room option which gave us more space to spread out. The food in the Sugartrain Restaurant was quite good, especially breakfast. The staff were all excellent and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is surrounded by a large number of different eateries and bars which is really convenient. Will definitely use this property again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello,

What a raving review, thank you. It is amazing when fantastic comments are dispayed about your travels and stay at Ibis Townsville. We do pride ourselves for our service in all areas including recption, restaurant and housekeeping.

We agree, our location is great. Like you stated we are so close to the CBD, attractions, The Strand and eateries/bars. Palmer Street has a great atmosphere and we are happy to be apart of it.

Thank you again and look forward to having you stay at the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Steve Wellsteed
General Manager
Ibis Hotel, Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The beds were too hard, remotes did not work efficiently. The reception on some channels were not good. And the rooms are too small to relax in. There was not enough carparks, so we had to park in the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Grabross,

Thank you for your comments. My apologies you did not have the best experience with us. It would be great to have a bed that suited every guest that came and stayed, however being a hotel, we have the standard bedding required and unfortunately we can't please everyone. We are in the process of updating our TVs and remotes that will satisfy our guest and the channels will also improve with the upgrade.

I hope the next time your in Townsville and you decide to stay with us that you have a better experience with our improvements.

Kindest Regards
Hayley Jamsek
General Manager
Hotel Ibis Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Good location, very close to night life. A few restaurants in Palmer St to choose from. Small room but contained everything we needed ie. Iron, tv. Comfy beds!!

Only down side was no window in the room so felt abitt stuffy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_sister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good Evening Travelling_Sister,

I 100% agree with you. We have a fantastic location, in a street that is always buzzing with nightlife because of the restaurants and bars, especially ours - Sugatrain.
Our rooms are basic, but like you said had everything you needed for your stay.
We are a one stop great location spot.

We hope to see you again soon.

Steve Wellsteed
General manager
Ibis Hotel, Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.1 mi away
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Rydges Southbank Townsville
#27 of 41 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsville Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsville Central Hotel

Property: Townsville Central Hotel
Address: 12-14 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Ibis Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Townsville
#15 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townsville Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsville Central Hotel is a 4 star hotel offering stylish accommodation in the heart of the city. Located on vibrant Palmer Street, guests can enjoy a range of dining options at the surrounding cafes, bars and restaurants. Townsville's main shopping mall, Flinders Mall, is close by and there is easy access to the city's entertainment highlights. Centro Bar and Grill is located within the hotel and guests may choose to dine or enjoy a quiet drink. Centro is open for breakfast and dinner. Staying at Townsville Central Hotel also offers access to the popular Strand Park, with a swimming pool, lovely beaches, community art displays and public events. Many of Townsville's attractions are nearby including the beautiful Magnetic Island which is just a short ferry ride from the city. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Townsville Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing