We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townsville Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Townsville Central Hotel
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    233
    108
    36
    14
See reviews for
60
185
59
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Good location, very close to night life. A few restaurants in Palmer St to choose from. Small room but contained everything we needed ie. Iron, tv. Comfy beds!!

Only down side was no window in the room so felt abitt stuffy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_sister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Good Evening Travelling_Sister,

I 100% agree with you. We have a fantastic location, in a street that is always buzzing with nightlife because of the restaurants and bars, especially ours - Sugatrain.
Our rooms are basic, but like you said had everything you needed for your stay.
We are a one stop great location spot.

We hope to see you again soon.

Steve Wellsteed
General manager
Ibis Hotel, Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and 5 yo son stayed in the hotel Ibis Townsville for one night. The room was booked on the same day butu everything went nice and smooth. Room is very basic but clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nicely located also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, General Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Toyo_Mindy,

Thank you for your positive response. We pride ourselves in serving and helping all our guests. Our team at Ibis Townsville were so pleased to see you comments. We agree with you, we are situated in a great location, right near the CBD of Townsville and centrally located to the best tourist stops Townsville has to offer.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
252 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel Ibis Townsville for one night (7.9.12). Check-in was swift and professional. Our room (121), located on the first floor, was small but adequate and featured the typical simple but functional Ibis decor and furnishings. The view from the window was across a car park towards another building of the hotel. Hence, to ensure privacy it is advisable to have curtains drawn.
The hotel is in easy walking distance to the Townsville central business district and the Magnetic Island ferry terminal (about 20 minutes). We also recommend the short trip to Magnetic Island and a possible stay there for a day or two (see separate review).
We had booked well in advance through 'wotif.com' and paid AUD 110.00 (excluding breakfast). The Sugartrain bistro is a very pleasant eatery and their staff at the time, was excellent. For two continental breakfasts we paid AUD 34.00. Overall, we have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Ibis Townsville to any budget-minded traveller.

Room Tip: If possible, inspect allocated room first prior to finalise check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thilo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Friendly & flexible staff. Was a well located hotel with all facilities required - I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again. Looking forward to staying there again. Was good value too. Only stayed the one noght though. Breakfast was good too although choice limited

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReidSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mossman
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have just spent a couple of nights at the Ibis and over all was happy with the experience. Room was clean, perfectly situated, staff were friendly and the food at the Sugartrain bistro was excellent.

I did however have a few issues with the room and it's climate control.

1. the window is a fixed pane of glass so there is no way to let fresh air into the room, which made the small room very claustrophobic.
2. there is no ceiling fan, which is an essential item in the tropics, so you have to have the air con on, (the hotels temperature is set on around 23 degrees and there is no manual way to change it other than contacting reception). You can turn it off if you get cold but then you boil as there is no ceiling fan and you can't open a window.
Most unpleasant.
3. strange bed linen of two sheets covering a doona, the sheet alone was too thin with the air con on and the doona was too heavy at the set temperature and who wants to contact the reception in the middle of the night to alter the temperature of the air con. Making for a most uncomfortable nights sleep.
At the time of staying the outside overnight temperature was 15 degrees, our room temperature was 23, why on earth were we heating the room when it was a perfect temperature outside. If we had been able to open our window and turn on a ceiling fan we would not have needed to have the air conditioner on, saving a considerable amount of power.
In the summer when you need the air con on all the time then I guess their system would work perfectly.

Although this did have an impact on my sleep, I would still stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moomoomossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#15 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsville Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsville Central Hotel

Property: Townsville Central Hotel
Address: 12-14 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Ibis Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Townsville
#14 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townsville Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsville Central Hotel is a 4 star hotel offering stylish accommodation in the heart of the city. Located on vibrant Palmer Street, guests can enjoy a range of dining options at the surrounding cafes, bars and restaurants. Townsville's main shopping mall, Flinders Mall, is close by and there is easy access to the city's entertainment highlights. Centro Bar and Grill is located within the hotel and guests may choose to dine or enjoy a quiet drink. Centro is open for breakfast and dinner. Staying at Townsville Central Hotel also offers access to the popular Strand Park, with a swimming pool, lovely beaches, community art displays and public events. Many of Townsville's attractions are nearby including the beautiful Magnetic Island which is just a short ferry ride from the city. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Townsville Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing