We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel room?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Kensington by Vivo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Kensington by Vivo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel room?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Ok, not expecting much but seriously, no microwave? I can get them for $49 from the good guys. BRAND NEW!!!! Could fit on top of the fridge in the cupboard!!!! I can handle the shoebox room but just want to heat up a frozen meal. Disappointing!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chrisso68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
23
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

First time staying at the new Q Resort rooms and was very pleased . Rooms are brand new and finished to a high standard . reception staff were friendly and helpful . Location is central to the Townsville CBD and offers secure parking .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eagles97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Once again picked this place for cost as we were in Townsville overnight for work. $109 for a hotel room but it had no outlook & no atmosphere. I realise this is a new resort & perhaps the finishing touches are still coming!, however at present the resort has no soul. The rooms are nicely furnished but are really just a box of a room, mutton dressed up as lamb. The bathroom was well appointed but something was missing - I think the room overall just didnt give you that nice feeling! On top of this my husband almost broke his toe on the 3cm step up into the bathroom which is a major fault design! There were no wine glasses - this is in my opinion is unspeakable!!! and there were no human niceities like a plate, a knife, bottle opener or munchies (just in case), a shame for all of these missing items. On a positive note the bed, linen & pillows were lovely & cable TV was provided. I think the thing that disappointed me the most was the pool. It was totally sterile & uninviting. There was a table with 6 chairs & a BBQ, but not a deck chair in sight. I laid my bath towel (no pool towels were provided) on the plastic deck surrounding the pool & tried to ignore the 500 workers next door who were building a skyscrapper - I know Q Resort cant help construction, however some effort could have been made to make the area a little private, and perhaps even comfortable for the guests! My overall feeling of the pool area was, we prefer that guests do not use this area but if you must, please be quick & under no circumstances.... enjoy yourselves.

Give me an older style room with character, cleanliness & charm any day over a room that is new, sterile & small. Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASSunnyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely modern apartments, beautifully clean and a great nights sleep. Special mention to the two ladies in the reception office who went above and beyond and were extraordinarily helpful and friendly. What a credit to your team.

Location is ever so slightly out of the town but bus service runs very close and there is a fantastic cafe opposite. Made use of the pool also which was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

It's a new building.
we took the one bedroom apat. It was big, comfortable, we could stay there a month. Its actually a flat with a lot of space.
When we booked, we booked the studio, but it was so small that we couldn't even put our 2 suitcases in. So we upgraded to the one bedroom, which was like 3 studios combined.

there is still constructions near by, but it we didn't ear.

Go to see the sunrise on the top of the castle hill. An amazing phenomena, while we drove up the hill, locals were jogging up the hill with flashlights!

Room Tip: take a one bedroom apt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a business trip. Initially when I drive there in the evening from the airport, it almost looks as if it’s in the middle of nowhere. There didn’t seem to be anything really in the immediate area. But then if you head from the accommodation to the city you realise you’re very close to everything and could walk into town.

I had a hotel room as opposed to an apartment. It was reasonably priced for Townsville and although the room was quite small, everything was new, modern and clean which I like. Check in was not at Kensington apartments but at the apartment block right next to it which is also part of the same group. Reception was open until 9pm. The check-in was easy and receptionist friendly, helpful and efficient. I could park the car in car park on the ground floor of the apartment block. It was a secure car park so no security issues and plenty of spaces to park in. My room was on the 3rd floor which you could take the lift to from the carpark. As I said, the room was small – but had a fridge, tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TV and internet access which was really all I needed. There was also a desk area and chair. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was powerful and hot. I didn’t have a balcony but had windows that faced onto the main road but also Castle Hill. I didn’t really notice any road noise so it seems to be well sound proofed. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the pillows were great too – I had a great night’s sleep here. The only slight downside was there was only a very small area to hang up clothes above the fridge but as I was only there for a couple of days it didn’t matter as I didn’t have much luggage. There is a small pool in the complex which I didn’t use. Opposite the Kensington apartments is a cafe which served good coffee and sit in or take away breakfast (the bacon and egg roll with hollandaise was lovely!).

Overall, the place is good value for money and I’d happily stay here again. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirboo North, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I booked a standard, one bedroom hotel room for less than $70 through an internet site and on arrival was upgraded for free to a one bedroom apartment on the top floor. I was also given a complimentary bottle of white wine. The apartment is self-contained with oven, stove, microwave, large fridge, cutlery and crockery. Laundry facilities are in the bathroom. There was a large LCD TV and comfortable couch. Large Queen size bed with ample closet space. This is the type of accommodation you could easily live in. It was not serviced. I think they service if you stay more than 5 days. There is a rubbish chute outside for rubbish and brooms etc supplied. There was construction right next to the apartments which they state on their website but I really couldn't hear anything. There is a balcony with table and chairs. Pool and gym. Everything is spotless and so spacious. The rooms are quiet although, being on the top floor, I could hear the wind whistling. My mother commented on it but it didn't bother me. I've stayed at Q resorts Holborn before with my family and had the same wonderful experience. The staff are very nice and helpful. Since I use public transport,I was grateful to have a bus stop right outside the apartments. This is the only accommodation I'm happy to stay at when I'm in Townsville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.6 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#11 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#14 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Kensington by Vivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Kensington by Vivo

Property: Central Kensington by Vivo
Address: Central Kensington Apts 1-3 Kingsway Pl, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Q Resorts Kensington)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Kensington by Vivo 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the newly developed Central Precinct, Central Kensington by Vivo Property is a stylish serviced apartment complex offering a variety of hotel rooms and modern, spacious one bedroom and two bedroom fully self-contained apartments. The Central Precinct is also home to a new state of the art cinema, Hogs Breath Cafe, Guzman & Gomez and Max Brenner. Breakfast and lunch is available at the onsite cafe. Central Kensington is also a short stroll from the CBD hub, Government and Legal buildings, Palmer Street dining, bars, shops and local attractions. Bus stops at the top of the driveway for travel to major shopping centres. Central Kensington also offers FREE unlimited WI-FI, undercover complimentary secure parking, and free use of pool and BBQ facilities. If you will be arriving out of hours, we will either text you or e-mail you details of our lock safe system for you to retrieve your keys, along with an information pack regarding the property. Property Information/Facilities •Complimentary WI-FI with unlimited downloads •Five minute walk to fully staffed Information/Booking Centre •Situated five minutes walk to CBD Business Hub, Woolworths, Post Office, Hotels and Liquor Outlets •Ten minute stroll to Reef HQ, the largest living aquarium in the southern hemisphere •At the doorstep of Townsville Railway Station •Council bus 50 metres walk from entrance •Outdoor pool with free use of BBQ facilities •Complimentary parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Central Kensington by Vivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing