We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great location, Great service a true Oasis in the city!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Oasis Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Oasis Inn
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Great Rooms, Great location, Great service a true Oasis in the city!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

From the moment we checked in it was wonderful. The staff are very helpful , the room we had was large and spacious, and very very clean. The restaurant was a nice suprise, the food and service was exceptional. Tje grounds are large with a great pool, you never feel like your in the city. It was a short walk 5mins in the city mall, and 10 to the strand, so it was great for us without a car. Couldn't recommend the jewel of a find high enough. It has everything you need and more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    117
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
108
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Great motel..once the renos are completed the motel will be a fantastic place to stay. Linen is crisp and clean and the rates are every bit affordable. Location is tops and city noise is non existent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2010
Thanks for this positive review! Our major room renovations are complete although we are always looking for ways and new ideas to improve our facilites and service. These rooms now provide guests with modern furnishings, new bedspreads e block-out curtains, flat screen tvs, whisper-quiet aircons - a home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moranbah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Excellent, enjoyed the stay and will return again. Staff were very happy with the location, appearance and customer service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

This place is a dump. We stayed for one night when driving down from Cairns to Airlie Beach. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful who checked us in but the hotel is old and dated with dingy rooms and noisy air con system.
Thankfully the shower was good but can't say anything else good about the place apart from the free parking.

There is a Woolies 2 blocks away with an ATM. We unpacked and went to explore the seafront which is very impressive with much better places to stay than the City Oasis Inn.

We also had a pretty ropey meal in the Coffee Club in Townsville so it was bad news all round. After a long walk returned to hotel to enjoy our bottle of Sauvignon Blanc in the plastic glasses supplied.

Didn't get much sleep, bed was uncomfortable, if you turned the aircon on it was as noisy as a pneumatic drill and when you turned it off it was too hot so we took it in turns through the night to give the aircont a 5 minute blast.

Would suggest to anyone contemplating staying here to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickrory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

A pleasant stay was indeed enjoyed with attentive staff, who were not constantly 'in-your-face'. Close to all local attractions/ eateries / entertainment. Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms, including the bathroom. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere all around. You, as a guest were made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyNorthernGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed in a family suite on a family holiday with our three young children. For some reason our reservation had been cancelled (not by us!), but fortunately this was quickly rectified and we were given the same room we had booked after all. The location was superb, the swimming pool area was terrific. Unfortunately, the room itself, although large was quite disappointing. The furnishings were old, the tap in the bathroom basin dripped constantly. The adjoining room where the children slept had a frosted glass door which led to a large outdoor common area. On the evening we stayed, a group of other travellers set up outside for drinks and smokes, so this made it impossible for us to leave the door or windows open for fresh air. The glass door had no curtain so it also meant that we had light coming in to the room till well past the childrens' bedtime, making it very difficult to get them to sleep. It was handy to have the kitchen facilities, and is walking distance to a Woolworths, if you are self-catering, but for the reasons mentioned above we found it a frustrating experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needaholiday_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2009

We arrived about 8pm and was greeted by a young, friendly receptionist. We indicated that we were keen to go to the restaurant for dinner and was told that the restaurant would be closing in a few minutes. The restaurant was ok and although we didn't have time for a swim the pool area looked really lovely.
We immediately went to our standard hotel room, which was advertised as an April special with 30% off the rate. We found the room quite shocking - very small, very old (70's style) and in desperate need of refurbishment. The shower was just a trickle, no basics such as tissues, hairdryer, a blanket, handtowels, which is standard in every other hotel room no matter what quality!
We feel that this was not good value for money so be wary of the standard hotel room, as the quality was very poor, barely 2 and half star. We tried to see if a better room was available but was told there wasn't but I urge anyone else to consider another type of room and be sceptical of any special associated with the basic hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.6 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Oasis Inn

Property: City Oasis Inn
Address: 143 Wills St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Townsville
#4 Family Hotel in Townsville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Oasis Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Oasis Inn is a four-star resort style property, superbly located in the city centre of Townsville, North Queensland. City Oasis Inn offers a wide range of accommodation styles. Suiting the corporate traveler due to the close proximity of government/corporate companies, and holiday guests as they are only a short walk to local attractions. The saltwater, lagoon style pool incorporates a heated spa and an open spa, as well as waterfall and children's wading area. This is surrounded by lush tropical landscaped gardens. The licensed Sidewalk Cafe and Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with indoor and alfresco dining. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your City Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing