We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Oasis Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Oasis Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Can't complain about service received at the City Oasis Inn, all staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Room was a little smaller than expected but still nice none the less, location is in city vicinity and 5-10mins walk (I have short legs) away from the strand. Area inn is in is very quiet so no noisey neighborhood, big plus!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Stephanie S

Thanks for your review! We love that you liked our central location and our classic standard rooms.

Remember next time if you want more room to move, we have Executive rooms and Studio rooms with cooking facilities, that have queen beds, large ensuite bathrooms, and some even have balconies.

Like us on facebook! We are called City Oasis Inn :) happy travels,

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    119
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
108
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night over Easter. The place is nice and quiet. Our standard room was quite small, but very clean. The beds were really comfortable.
At the check-in, the manager gave us the area map and advised where to go for a meal, which was was really helpful as a lot of places were closed due to the Esater break.
We will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Public Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear IgorQ

I hope you had a great time in Townsville over Easter. The weather was really beautiful and the city was shining.

Of course, the classic standard room is best for budget, and we do have more spacious rooms, with options of spa baths, balconies, queen-sized beds and cooking facilities. If you are looking for a really large space, we even have our wonderful Miner's Cottage, restored from the 1880s in a lovely turn-of-the-century theme.

Thanks again for your review - enjoy the rest of your trip!

Regards

Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Well run and friendly hotel. The best value of our 5 week stay in Australia. Parked immediately outside our room. Accomodation was quite compact for 3 of us, in particular access to the shower room compared with some later hotels which were generally twice the price. One of the best swimming pools, surrounded by trees to give shade.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Public Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hey Peter W

Thanks for your review! We are so happy that you took the time to say what you liked about our property, especially considering you thought we were the best value of your 5 WEEK STAY. That's amazing.

We know it is really convenient to park your car in front of your room. We can offer this to our guests, especially upon request. We do recommend that you request a room with a carpark right outside, for extra convenience.

Our lagoon-style pool is our pride and glory, especially given that it's consistently a balmy 25 degrees Celsius here in Townsville - always perfect for a swim!

Kind regards

Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Extremely welcoming and friendly! After being diverted to Townsville due to cyclone ita we were welcomed with a friendly face at the front desk from Brendan who not only gave us umbrellas and a map around town but help reassure us about the weather and our safety. The room was very clean, complete with all amenities, including en suite, air conditioning and a comfortable bed. When we awoke the following morning to the storm hitting town the staff opened up the restaurant and ensured we were comfortable and kept us updated on flights and weather! A definite recommendation if you find yourself stranded, passing through, or on holiday! Thanks city oasis!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on our property City Oasis Inn
I am sure that was a weekend you won't forget!
Thanks for making City O a part of your cyclone interrupted holiday, I hope you made it to Port D and had a couple of days to unwind and relax.
You mentioned that you were very impressed with Townsville I hope you get the chanced to come back and explore our region when the weather is a little more boring.

Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonee Ponds, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Good clean motel accom in the centre of Townsville. About 1 km walk to beach and The Strand. Good walk track up Castle Hill as well for the fit and healthy. Air conditioning and Free WiFi very welcome. Continental breakfast was included, though I had to pay another $22 for a full breakfast on top which was a bit odd. Other than that a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keesie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Keesie65
Thanks for your review
Its great that you were able to experience some of Townsville's wonderful outdoor activities all just at City O's doorstep.
We also offer free entry into the historic Tobruk Olympic swimming pool for those who enjoy a few laps as well as free entry into one of Townsville's best Gyms , with sweeping views of Magnetic Island from the Gym floor it's not a bad way to pass some time during a workout .
Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great service, very friendly family business, nicely renovated inside, but needs a paint job outside. Better mattresses - rooms and beds are small. Loved the open windows and the swimming pool area. Was a shame you had to go to another premises for a gym. Little restaurant was nice, good food, but expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraandJohan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for your review of City Oasis

You stayed in one of our standard rooms (by the way check out the great rates on our standard rooms direct on our website) they are more compact than our larger executive and family units but still have all the main features like split system air con, overhead fans, flat screen TVs, beds with pillow top mattresses.

If you are after more space give one of our executive units or apartments a try

Thanks for mentioning the open windows, that's a feature in all our rooms, opening windows, overhead fans and of course top quality air conditioners in every room.

All our beds are less then 12 months old, we have decided to provide every guest with quality pillow top mattresses and you will find them in all our rooms.

CIty Oasis is located in the city center only 200 meters from the GPO, Woolworths and over 100 retail shops. Townsville has 3 major shopping centers located in the surrounding suburbs. Castletown ( BIg W, Target, Woolworths, hundreds of specialty shops ) is located 3 km from City O and Stockland (Myer and all the above) is located 7km from City O.

Although the city centre does not have any department stores there are still many smaller quality shops open for retail therapy!

We are however located close to many wonderful tourist icons in our city like Castle Hill (walk, run or ride ) - there is a great view from the top; The Strand ( swim, stroll and eat ); the historic Tobruk olympic size swimming pool offering FREE entry to all City O guests

As mentioned we do not have an on site gym but we have on offer something way more exciting for our guests - that is FREE entry into Townsville's premier gym. With sweeping views of Magnetic Island as you use the treadmill, this gym boasts more equipment then all of Townsville's hotel gyms put together. The best news for City O guests is that entry is free while staying with us.

Once again thanks for taking the time to review CIty O

Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location is perfect. Park the car and walk to all that Townsville city has to offer. Great service at the hotel and the restaurant has great food. There's onsite parking and with the beautiful gardens you really wouldn't know you are in the middle of a CBD. Nice and quiet too,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Lu K

Thanks for your review

I am so glad you enjoyed our restaurant the Sidewalk Cafe

The team at City O have put together a new menu recently and have concentrated on great tasting, well presented food at great value prices. We are open for breakfast and dinner most days but we do have a couple of days off so check with reception for our operating hours.

Our chef Min Suk has created a veal dish that is very unique, its my recommendation if you are looking for a tasty main

Hoping to look after you again on your next visit to Townsville

Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.6 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Oasis Inn

Property: City Oasis Inn
Address: 143 Wills St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Townsville
#4 Family Hotel in Townsville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Oasis Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Oasis Inn is a four-star resort style property, superbly located in the city centre of Townsville, North Queensland. City Oasis Inn offers a wide range of accommodation styles. Suiting the corporate traveler due to the close proximity of government/corporate companies, and holiday guests as they are only a short walk to local attractions. The saltwater, lagoon style pool incorporates a heated spa and an open spa, as well as waterfall and children's wading area. This is surrounded by lush tropical landscaped gardens. The licensed Sidewalk Cafe and Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with indoor and alfresco dining. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing