We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Oasis Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Regis Anchorage(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$93
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waters Edge The Strand(North Ward)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Motel(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Motel(North Ward)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Plaza Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$87
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$95
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Townsville(Townsville)
$102
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
152
133
31
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
133
31
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheated spasidewalk cafetropical gardenpool areacastle hillcontinental breakfastwalking distanceexecutive roomafter hoursair connice poolbed was very comfortablebbq areawould stay here againstayed one nightpleasant stayflinders street
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 325 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our one night in the Oasis Inn ticked all the boxes for a business trip. Very good position if you do not have a car. New comfortable bed and clean room and bathroom. Good breakfast and extremely helpful staff. The pool is lovely ! The room was small but we did not want to pay for bars and frills.The value for money was outstanding. To have a window that you can open at night is wonderful so please could safety catches be put on the windows on the ground floor. That is a big plus these days. We would definitely recommend it. The Manager couldn't have been more helpful. Kindness is so important in the Hospitality Industry and the customers always feel if they are wanted. Thank you.

Room Tip: Fantastic value but check size of room to accommodate your needs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Helen A

Thanks for your great review on our property

I am so happy you noticed our brand new comfortable beds, we have pillow top mattresses in every room.

We also have quite a few room types and sizes so depending on your budget and requirements I am sure there is a room, unit or even our 2 bedroom cottage to meet your needs.

Once again thanks for taking your time to send in your thoughts about City Oasis Inn

Regards

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We (2 adults and 1 child) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. From the beginning, the staff could not have been more helpful. Every little detail was attended to. We asked for swimming towels, directions around the town, calling a taxi, more supplies and all of these and more were accommodated immediately.

We had trouble with a booking for a cruise and after contacting our travel agent interstate, we needed to use the computer and printer. A staff member helped us with this making sure we had everything we needed.

The front counter staff were really exceptional in their desire to help and went out of their way to make our stay a good one. I know that one expects good service these days, but I have to say that every person at this place was truely customer centred and this made a huge difference.

On our holiday in Qld we found that the pools are generally not heated. So it was a bit cold in the pool but the spa was lovely and warm. The surroundings for the pool are really attractive. There is a nice playground area for the children, and the gardens are quite tropical, lots of trees and plants.

Although small, the hotel had a nice atmosphere about it. The rooms that were not taken were serviced and the doors left open, possibly for ventilation, and this gave it an open feel rather than being closed in like most other hotels with long corridors and shut doors. Our room was spotless, everything worked, there was cold water in the fridge (most welcome) on arrival. We had a double bed and single in the room and it was a bit tight with not alot of space for luggage but for 2 days it was fine.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast which is in the small dining area downstairs. Again very polite and helpful staff, good service and quite adequate a meal for a day out. We also ate at their restaurant on the first night and were glad to be fed quickly after our long day's travel.

The hotel is in central Townsville, so it is easy to walk to places. We had a car for a day which did enable us to see more as the city is quite spread out. The beach is a little way from the hotel but it is in walking distance for the average person.

We were extremely happy with the overall quality of the hotel, and most certainly recommend it. Hopefully we can venture to Northern Queensland again and stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coral W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hello and Thank You so much for your kind review of your experience at City Oasis Inn.

I am glad to hear that our Reception staff helped you with all of your needs; I will congratulate them on the wonderful services that they have provided you and your family.
Our hotel is located within the CBD of Townsville which makes it easy to go for a stroll along the strand or down to the Mall.
Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback.
We hope to see you when you venture next to North Queensland.

Kind Regards,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the oasis in Townsville mid year. Travelled with a girlfriend and had 2 motel style rooms. The rooms were fairly small, but clean. There was no outdoor sitting area which is a pity in such an area. We chose the hotel based on the pictures of the pool, bit unfortunately it is so well shaded that it was too cold to swim in. This is probably a blessing in summer, but mid winter was a real disappointment.

The adjoining restaurant was a touch strange. We tried it out our first night. The staff must have been exteemely new as they had no real sense of the menu. The soup was obviously microwaved, and finding out whether there were anchovies in the Caesar salad a real challenge to the staff. The meals arrived totally separately, a good 10 minutes in between. And we're very average. We did not bother eating there again.

Reception staff were friendly and efficient.

Gail

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank parnersinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Gail
Thanks for giving us the positive feedback about our reception staff; we do aim to be friendly and efficient and are happy to be helpful.
You booked two of our Standard Rooms for your previous stay. Next time, if you want more room, it would probably be better for you to book an Executive 2-Bedroom Apartment. These apartments have more space than our Standard Rooms, and yes, they do have private balconies for you to use.
Our lagoon-style pool is not heated, so in winter if you prefer a warmer soak, you have a couple of options. There is, of-course, the heated spa, which we keep at a balmy 35 degrees celcius or you could go to Tobruk Pool, only a short walk from City Oasis, FOR FREE. That’s right, entry into Tobruk Pool normally costs $5 per person, but City Oasis gives entry to its guests for free, so you’d be saving at least $10 per swim! To swim in an Olympic-grade swimming pool!
Thank-you for your patience with our trainees in the Cafe; your comments will act as guidance for them, and you’ve been very helpful in highlighting their need to improve.
Happy Travels!
Regards,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice hotel.nothing bad to say!the rooms are nice and clean!so as the pool and spa!and the ladies at the front desk are helpfull and really nice!and it's only 5minutes walking from the city center!i would absolutely stay there again:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissanycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us whilst in Townsville. I am glad you got to use our pool area, along with our lovely heated spa. It is nice to be able relax after a long day out and about Townsville. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind Regards,
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved our stay, very polite staff/cleaners.
Very helpful with everything.

I think the bed was a bit small for the both of us, and felt a little unsafe as someone was leaving the doors open late at night.

The pool was lovely, and the location was great!

Room service food could have been a little better, but was nice.

A little pricey, but over all was a great stay, and would do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steffvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thanks for your positive comments: I will pass the review on to our staff, and no doubt they will be grateful for the feedback.
We have a wide range of room types, as we try to suit all customers’ needs. Next time you stay, you might prefer to book an Executive Room. This room type is larger than the Standard Room, with a queen bed, larger ensuite bathroom, and options for a spa bath, kitchenette or balcony. All rooms, both Executive and Standard types, have flat-screen televisions, luxurious pillow-top mattresses, air-conditioning, and wi-fi access.
We are really happy that you found our tropical, lagoon-style pool, and the location of the property to your liking. With just a short walk to most attractions, such as Flinders Street Mall, Reef HQ, The Museum of Tropical Queensland, Castle Hill and the Strand, we appreciate the convenience and are glad to provide you with any information that might make your stay easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews