We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, central and enjoyable”
Review of City Oasis Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Oasis Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“friendly, central and enjoyable”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We (2 adults and 1 child) stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. From the beginning, the staff could not have been more helpful. Every little detail was attended to. We asked for swimming towels, directions around the town, calling a taxi, more supplies and all of these and more were accommodated immediately.

We had trouble with a booking for a cruise and after contacting our travel agent interstate, we needed to use the computer and printer. A staff member helped us with this making sure we had everything we needed.

The front counter staff were really exceptional in their desire to help and went out of their way to make our stay a good one. I know that one expects good service these days, but I have to say that every person at this place was truely customer centred and this made a huge difference.

On our holiday in Qld we found that the pools are generally not heated. So it was a bit cold in the pool but the spa was lovely and warm. The surroundings for the pool are really attractive. There is a nice playground area for the children, and the gardens are quite tropical, lots of trees and plants.

Although small, the hotel had a nice atmosphere about it. The rooms that were not taken were serviced and the doors left open, possibly for ventilation, and this gave it an open feel rather than being closed in like most other hotels with long corridors and shut doors. Our room was spotless, everything worked, there was cold water in the fridge (most welcome) on arrival. We had a double bed and single in the room and it was a bit tight with not alot of space for luggage but for 2 days it was fine.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast which is in the small dining area downstairs. Again very polite and helpful staff, good service and quite adequate a meal for a day out. We also ate at their restaurant on the first night and were glad to be fed quickly after our long day's travel.

The hotel is in central Townsville, so it is easy to walk to places. We had a car for a day which did enable us to see more as the city is quite spread out. The beach is a little way from the hotel but it is in walking distance for the average person.

We were extremely happy with the overall quality of the hotel, and most certainly recommend it. Hopefully we can venture to Northern Queensland again and stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello and Thank You so much for your kind review of your experience at City Oasis Inn.

I am glad to hear that our Reception staff helped you with all of your needs; I will congratulate them on the wonderful services that they have provided you and your family.
Our hotel is located within the CBD of Townsville which makes it easy to go for a stroll along the strand or down to the Mall.
Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback.
We hope to see you when you venture next to North Queensland.

Kind Regards,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    120
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
111
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Victoria Austalia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the oasis in Townsville mid year. Travelled with a girlfriend and had 2 motel style rooms. The rooms were fairly small, but clean. There was no outdoor sitting area which is a pity in such an area. We chose the hotel based on the pictures of the pool, bit unfortunately it is so well shaded that it was too cold to swim in. This is probably a blessing in summer, but mid winter was a real disappointment.

The adjoining restaurant was a touch strange. We tried it out our first night. The staff must have been exteemely new as they had no real sense of the menu. The soup was obviously microwaved, and finding out whether there were anchovies in the Caesar salad a real challenge to the staff. The meals arrived totally separately, a good 10 minutes in between. And we're very average. We did not bother eating there again.

Reception staff were friendly and efficient.

Gail

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank parnersinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Gail
Thanks for giving us the positive feedback about our reception staff; we do aim to be friendly and efficient and are happy to be helpful.
You booked two of our Standard Rooms for your previous stay. Next time, if you want more room, it would probably be better for you to book an Executive 2-Bedroom Apartment. These apartments have more space than our Standard Rooms, and yes, they do have private balconies for you to use.
Our lagoon-style pool is not heated, so in winter if you prefer a warmer soak, you have a couple of options. There is, of-course, the heated spa, which we keep at a balmy 35 degrees celcius or you could go to Tobruk Pool, only a short walk from City Oasis, FOR FREE. That’s right, entry into Tobruk Pool normally costs $5 per person, but City Oasis gives entry to its guests for free, so you’d be saving at least $10 per swim! To swim in an Olympic-grade swimming pool!
Thank-you for your patience with our trainees in the Cafe; your comments will act as guidance for them, and you’ve been very helpful in highlighting their need to improve.
Happy Travels!
Regards,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice hotel.nothing bad to say!the rooms are nice and clean!so as the pool and spa!and the ladies at the front desk are helpfull and really nice!and it's only 5minutes walking from the city center!i would absolutely stay there again:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissanycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us whilst in Townsville. I am glad you got to use our pool area, along with our lovely heated spa. It is nice to be able relax after a long day out and about Townsville. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Townsville.

Kind Regards,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved our stay, very polite staff/cleaners.
Very helpful with everything.

I think the bed was a bit small for the both of us, and felt a little unsafe as someone was leaving the doors open late at night.

The pool was lovely, and the location was great!

Room service food could have been a little better, but was nice.

A little pricey, but over all was a great stay, and would do it again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments: I will pass the review on to our staff, and no doubt they will be grateful for the feedback.
We have a wide range of room types, as we try to suit all customers’ needs. Next time you stay, you might prefer to book an Executive Room. This room type is larger than the Standard Room, with a queen bed, larger ensuite bathroom, and options for a spa bath, kitchenette or balcony. All rooms, both Executive and Standard types, have flat-screen televisions, luxurious pillow-top mattresses, air-conditioning, and wi-fi access.
We are really happy that you found our tropical, lagoon-style pool, and the location of the property to your liking. With just a short walk to most attractions, such as Flinders Street Mall, Reef HQ, The Museum of Tropical Queensland, Castle Hill and the Strand, we appreciate the convenience and are glad to provide you with any information that might make your stay easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Old ground floor rooms are poor, with the strangest basin wc cistern set up I have ever seen.
Breakfast not available on Sundays but might be worth avoiding on other days as well as buffet selection is limited.
Hotel is in business district and streets are dark and quite at night if you want to walk to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepete102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello and Thank You for reviewing City Oasis Inn.
Yes, you are correct, our hotel is right in the centre of town, only 300 metres from our main street. Within 200 metres, is a Woolworths open 9pm on weekdays and 5.30pm on weekends. The Cowboys Leagues Club and some great restaurants are only 250 metres away.
The wonderful thing about our location, although we are in the city centre, is that it is nice and quiet after 5pm. After dark, there is plenty of street lighting that makes for easy navigating the city centre and surrounds.
I hope you enjoyed the free upgrade that was asked for and given at no extra charge. I think the room we gave you was one of our Executive Kitchenettes which gave you not only a queen size bed and kitchen area, but plenty of cooking facilities also.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.
Regards,
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in a Standard Family Room for 2 nights while in Townsville. The room was clean, well laid out and the kids loved the 2 bunk beds in their room. The bed in the main room was a bit small, likely due to the fact that nothing bigger would have fit there, but it did mean that we didn't get as good a sleep as we would have liked. The pool/activity area out the back was nice and the kids had fun playing on the play equipment. It's good value and we would stay there again if visiting Townsville.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello, thanks for reviewing City Oasis

Its great to hear you would return to City Oasis on your next trip to Townsville
We are fortunate to have a property that offers varying room types to suit varying budgets
If you are looking for a larger bed we also have family rooms and apartments in our executive wing.
These rooms have queen size beds instead of double beds so if you are looking for a little more room these would be ideal.
One of our larger family units has 2 queen beds and 2 sets of bunk beds (4 single beds) and can sleep up to 6 people .
We also have fully self-contained two room loft apartments that have a full kitchen and washing machine and dryer in the bathroom area . These rooms can fit up to 8, ideal for a large family or 2 families sharing
Once again thanks for your review
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I think we were lucky to get in - paid $135 for very small room with double and a single bed for 2 adults and our 10 yr old. Probably OK value by Aussie prices but there was hardly room to open a big suitcase.

We were in a hire vehicle and maybe just should have avoided going into town altogether because we only needed one night stop-over, arriving late and leaving early. Comfy beds, very clean, we messed up with the Sat Nav so I think it wasn't that far from Bruce Highway in the end..

Ditto the interesting way to access your room key if arriving after 19:30 and warning that parking in front of hotel may have required money although we squeezed in the back OK.

Friendly reception in the morning with clear instructions left the night before. All good!

Room Tip: no 14 was a box for three people but 1 night bearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMorganPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor

Yes, you are correct that the night you booked our standard room for 3 people was a busy night in Townsville. In fact the whole city was booked out. July and August are our busiest months in North Queensland so it is always wise to book ahead which you did.
I am sorry we couldn't upgrade you into one of our larger family or executive rooms but I think you booked the last room available for that night.
We offer free off street parking to all our guests and there is plenty of free parking space available.
Street parking is also available and is free from 5pm Friday afternoon to 9am Monday morning for the weekend traveller
Thanks for mentioning our friendly front office staff. I will pass on your positive comments to them

Happy and safe travelling
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.6 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
467 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Oasis Inn

Property: City Oasis Inn
Address: 143 Wills St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Townsville
#4 Family Hotel in Townsville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Oasis Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Oasis Inn is a four-star resort style property, superbly located in the city centre of Townsville, North Queensland. City Oasis Inn offers a wide range of accommodation styles. Suiting the corporate traveler due to the close proximity of government/corporate companies, and holiday guests as they are only a short walk to local attractions. The saltwater, lagoon style pool incorporates a heated spa and an open spa, as well as waterfall and children's wading area. This is surrounded by lush tropical landscaped gardens. The licensed Sidewalk Cafe and Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with indoor and alfresco dining. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your City Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing