We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family's back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Oasis Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Oasis Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family's back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Well, I wrote before my daughter (7) loves staying here. We spent 5 days here over New Years and experienced exactly the same friendly, attentive and courteous staff. Even to the point of calling on the day of check in to make sure all was ok and that if we arrived after-hours, how to collect the keys. We've now stayed in the smallest rooms (standard, park outside, Beds and bathroom motel rooms - ideal if just over-nighting), to Larger apartment rooms with kitchenette's and even the 2 bedroom cottage (1890's restored cottage - which is awesome). A lot of larger chains could learn a thing or two about customer service from the City Oasis. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Adam

What a pleasure it was to read your review on City Oasis Inn

Thanks for mentioning our customer service

As a smaller property we really concentrate on trying to provide genuine friendly help, service and local advice. I am so happy you experienced this while staying with us

Looking forward to seeing you again at City Oasis Inn
Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    119
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
108
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwater, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed there just on the weekend only for the one night and we had a dog.....Rottie.......we were making our way back to central Queensland from Cairns and needed somewhere that was pet 'friendly' I was a bit worried as in the past some places I just wouldn't even let my pet sleep in the rooms let alone myself, but this place was PERFECT!! So clean, so modern, and very relaxing atmosphere, the service we got from the gentlemen that worked there was very friendly.......I am so happy that now I can actually go away up north and know that Mohave got somewhere good to stay. Thanks so much :) I love my dog so he has to come with me everywhere and this makes it so muc easier now, I even loved the yard part for your pets to sniff around, the pool looked gorgeous as well, if we were not so tired and didn't have to leave so early the next morning we defiantly would of had a swim. Highly recommend !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
HI Kristy G

Thanks for your generous review of City Oasis Inn
We love our pets as well, that's why we have great pleasure in offering a small number of our rooms to our fellow pet lovers.

We really look forward to meeting and sharing the joy pets and their companions have when travelling together

The respect and consideration pet owners show us and fellow travellers is always appreciated

We hope to see you again......soon

Regards
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed with City Oasis Inn over the Christmas period this year (2012). Right from the first email enquiry I was treated to some of the best customer service I have experienced. Knowledgeable, helpful, friendly staff who promptly answered my questions in detail. I booked based on that alone. We were delighted with our well appointed room over looking the spectacular lagoon pool and meticulously kept tropical gardens. The pool was well used during our break with the spa and waterfall being a great hit with us all. Our room rate included a complimentary continental breakfast each day and we were always greeted in the cafe by the wonderfully accommodating, friendly staff. As a family we have pledged to always stay at City Oasis Inn when we are in Townsville. A secret garden getaway in the perfect central location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Guest Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Vanessa E

It has been such a pleasure to read your review; it’s wonderful to know that our service has left you with a lasting positive memory of your accommodation experience. Our staff here are all locals from Townsville, and really just love to help out, have a chat and give out information.

You’re right about the pool and gardens – they make the property feel like an Eden, especially in the middle of summer, when having a swim is the one thing everyone dreams of!
No doubt we’ll see you soon (when you and the family can next have a trip up north).

Kind Regards
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We only stayed for one night but wished we could have stayed here longer. The city was beautiful and the hotel was in a great location. It was close to the tourist areas and made for a great rest stop on the drive down the coast. The outdoor pool and hot tub was a great place to relax. The room was nothing spectacular but the beds were soft and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The room smelled a little moldy but it is a tropical area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Guest Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Shantel

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at City Oasis. Townsville is a really special place to visit, and pretty much a perfect place to stop over when on a long road trip. Being close to the mall and the coast makes our motel ideal for tourists who want an comfortable and relaxing stay, while in a central place.

We are sorry about the mouldy smell in your room – rain had leaked in through the open window and we were unable to completely dry the carpet before you checked in.

The staff will be thrilled to know you were pleased with their service, and I will pass your compliments to them. I hope the rest of your trip in Australia was as nice as your time in Townsville. If you decide to come back one day, give us a call!

Kind Regards
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in the 2 room executive apartment. We spent a few nights. The pool was a treat. Being summer we went from aircon to pool and back again!! There are BBQ facilities and a decent sized grassed area that kids could play.The beds and pillows are superb (normally don't sleep that well when I am in a different bed). Kitchen set out well. Had all we needed. In the city with shops close by. The only negative was the stairs to the upper level rooms. Lugging cases up and down was an inconvenience. Parking was no problem and it was easily accesible.

Room Tip: Get ground floor if you don't want to use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Guest Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hi K L,

I enjoyed reading your review.

Our 2 bedroom units are a popular choice with families - especially over the summer holidays! They provide guests with double the facilities - 2 tvs (with austar - kids channels are available), 2 bathrooms & 2 seperate sleeping areas. One room also has cooking facilities.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Katie
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved this motel, loved this city. It was quiet and relaxed and this is exactly what we were looking for as a family. City Oasis is in a wonderful location, a very short walk to the Strand and all it has to offer. Water park or just a lovely walk by the beach.
Rooms were spotless and very comfy. Glad to get back to them each evening after a day full of sightseeing. I think what l loved most about City O was the beautiful pool and gardens. So safe and secure for my children to play, l didn't have to worry about them at all. Well done City Oasis, keep up the good work , we will be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Guest Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Hi Cheryl B,

Thank you for taking the time to review City Oasis.

Our lagoon pool sure is popular with our guests! It is a lovely tranquil place to relax after a long day & the tropical gardens provide a nice cool place to rest and read a good book. Don't worry if you forgot your book we have a selection on hand.

I am so glad you enjoyed your time in Townsville.

Best wishes for the Festive Season

Katie
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at the City Oasis Inn on my way up the coast, and it was amazing!

The pool area is so perfect to relax and chill out, very family friendly. It is like a secret rainforest in the middle of the city.

They have free gym access to a great gym just around the corner, this was such a nice surprise.

The rooms were so nice and very clean - comfortable is an understatement! It's like a giant cushion, I only wanted to leave my room to go to the pool!
The aircon was perfect, beds were super soft.

They have laundry facilities and off street car parking.

I would highly recommend this motel to anyone stopping in Townsville.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdofparadise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownsvilleBrendan, Guest Relations Manager at City Oasis Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hi birdofparadise 12,

Thank you for your kind review.

Providing guests with a comfortable bed away from home can be a challenge. We are glad that our plush pillow top mattresses were to your liking.

I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the free access to Strand Fitness. We were able to secure our guests free membership to a fully equipped gym with group exercise classes, weights and a cardio area that overlooks the Strand and Magnetic Island.

Did you get a chance to walk up castle hill? Another great fitness activity in Townsville.

We hope to see you again.

Katie
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.6 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Oasis Inn

Property: City Oasis Inn
Address: 143 Wills St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Townsville
#4 Family Hotel in Townsville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Oasis Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Oasis Inn is a four-star resort style property, superbly located in the city centre of Townsville, North Queensland. City Oasis Inn offers a wide range of accommodation styles. Suiting the corporate traveler due to the close proximity of government/corporate companies, and holiday guests as they are only a short walk to local attractions. The saltwater, lagoon style pool incorporates a heated spa and an open spa, as well as waterfall and children's wading area. This is surrounded by lush tropical landscaped gardens. The licensed Sidewalk Cafe and Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with indoor and alfresco dining. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing