We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay in Townsville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Palms

Motel Palms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Palms
Save
You added Motel Palms to your Saves list
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Mackay, Queensland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Townsville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Always stay here when in Townsville on business and could not meet nicer hosts than Wayne and Bev. I have never asked the price ( except V8 week ) and have never been disappointed with the service. Rooms are always clean and tidy and I can always get an evening meal delivered from across the road and put on your bill. Breakfast is always nice also. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a Courtyard room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The management is very nice. A natural smile on their face as you enter the reception. You just feel like being at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Motel Palms was the perfect choice for an unexpected overnight stay in Townsville. Great value for money, clean, good efficient staff and a comfortable bed. All you need really. Reception gave me a good tip on a local restaurant and I had an excellent T-Bone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

I stayed here with my wife for one night due to an early departure to Sydney next morning.
The room was large, well furnished with a comfortable bed. No complaints about the bathroom either. The kitchen facilities were everything we could ask for and the tip from the receptionist to get a couple of take away pizzas from nearby "La Porchetta" proved to be the best value meal of our time in Oz! They were so big we left some in the fridge for the cleaners.
The swimming pool looked great even in the dark. Well worth staying longer if Townsville is the place for you but watch you don't get ripped off hiring a car from Hertz (but that's another story!)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiomanDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Western Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at Motel Palms for one night in July, during a sales trip from Cairns to Brisbane. We found our room to be Very Comfortable, Clean and extremely affordable. The Pool looked lovely although we did not have time for a swim.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My family travelled to Townsville to attend a convention which lasted a week. The Motel Palms was just what we were looking for to accommodate our long stay. It is very close to our venue, shops and sporting facilities, which worked a treat if we wanted to buy something to either eat or cook in a hurry. We had a self-contained unit which suited our needs perfectly. Amongst our group were those of all ages. Beverley, Wayne and staff handled and catered for their needs wonderfully, friendly and always with a smile.
Motel Palms is surrounded by shady palm trees and a beautifully kept garden, which gives the BBQ and pool area a fantastic family atmosphere, and a great place to relax.

We were very impressed with the service, location and quite atmosphere that we will definitely return again for another long stay. Good work Motel Palms keep it up.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petal54089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

I recently made a trip to Townsville to see the in-laws and I was very impressed with our accommodation pick. Not being overly excited about the in-laws trip we picked a motel over staying with the family. I liked the look of Motel Palms website and we locked it away for our 4 day stay. During our stay we received great friendly service, a nice clean room and enjoyed the beautiful pool – they even gave us the idea of bringing the relatives over to use the pool and have a family BBQ, this went down a treat with the family and it was a wonderful afternoon.
It’s rare these days to experience good service and to deal with friendly people who genuinely like doing what they do – keep up the good work Motel Palms and see you around Easter when we head back for another family visit!

A. Graham - Laidley, QLD

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank A_GrahamLaidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
1.8 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Rose Motel
Colonial Rose Motel
#17 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raintree Motel
Raintree Motel
#22 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Motel
Coolabah Motel
#37 of 41 in Townsville
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#25 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spanish Lace Motor Inn
Spanish Lace Motor Inn
#31 of 41 in Townsville
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Palms

Property: Motel Palms
Address: 44 Bowen Road, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Townsville
Palms Motel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing