We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way is this 4 star - more like 2.5-3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquarius on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Carnegie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“No way is this 4 star - more like 2.5-3 star”
Reviewed September 9, 2005

There is no way this is a 4 star hotel.

The positives:

- It has great views of Magnetic Island and of up and down the Strand (the main esplanade) from many of the rooms (I was on the 13th floor which was good for that).
- You can see back on to Castle Hill from the corridor.
- Airconditioning was good.
- Well located to the Strand and cafes (which is important as there is no restaurant there).
- Bed was fine.
- Self contained which might be good for some people.

The negatives:

- Needed a paint job both in the room and in the hallway (hallway paint was 1970s green and white) - paint was peeling off the cupboards in my room.
- Noisy - could easily hear next door.
- Toiletaries were basic and hand cream was in one of those squirty thigs you get in public toilets.
- No restaurant or cafe - breakfast is via room service only. It was much cheaper to walk two short blocks and go to one of the cafes.
- Room service dinner from one of the local restaurants called Sorrentos - I did not try this so this is for info only.
- No security to the floor at 10pm with no-one at reception. I walked right into the lift (no need to put a card in or anything) and up to the floor so anyone could have done the same thing. It may be that security comes on later but this was late enough and made worse in that no-one was in reception to check.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    208
    81
    27
    26
See reviews for
47
224
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 4, 2005

.. you'll love this place. This hotel is simply awful. It is listed as a 4-star hotel which it might have been 10 -15 years ago but now it is very run-down with peeling paint, molding falling off the walls, the rooms and hallway are smelly. It was very difficult to even get room service to give me fresh towels or change the bedding! I was told that because I got the room at a discounted rate $80 per night, I only entitled to room service once a week. Well, the week came and went and still no new towels or sheets. Then after 10 days of this, I found a HUGE cockroach in the kitchentte. I called the desk and asked someone to remove it. He said someone would be along soon. When no one came I killed it myself and told the manager to please remove it by the time I got back. It was still there when I returned 8 hours later --- and no clean towels or sheets of course!

I would have checked out sooner but was staying there as a guest of business clients -- I finally just got a nicer hotel on my own dime.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2005

We drove by and enquired about a room here, and were fortunate enough to get one. We stayed here August 18 2005.

The rooms are very large with a sofa, table and chairs, microwave, toaster oven, plates, silverware, cups, sink and refrigerator. Every room is an ocean view and all had large balconies. It was very clean.

The hotel is located on The Strand, where many hotels, timeshares and restaurants are all within walking distance, making it very convenient.

There is no restaurant on the premises, although a local Italian restaurant would deliver for quite reasonable prices.

The only drawback to this hotel is that, because it is on The Strand, you get quite a bit of traffic noise going until quite late at night.

The views are what really make this hotel - we could see to the port one direction and Magnetic Island the other. It was also great to have all the kitchen amenities as it meant we could eat lunch and breakfast in our room if we wanted to.

Helpful?
3 Thank EmpireGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2005

Westayed atthe Aquarius our 1st night in Townsville. It is in afantastic position on the Strand with beautiful views of magnetic Island. It is the tallest building in Townsville and we had a unit almost on the 8th floor. The rooms are good although the decor of the corridors is real retro, but I kinda like that. Unfortunately there is no restaurant anymore on site (I was told it had just shut down) and there was no cable TV. And we love cable. But apart from that the staff where friendly, it was clean and has views very impressive. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2004

This Hotel is in an excellent position on the Strand at Townsville an up and coming holiday destination. Although the rooms need a little updating they are clean and provide everything you need. The pool is well looked after and the staff attentive. A good base for a relaxing few days between larger city sight seeing and a visit to nearby Magnetic Island is a must.

Helpful?
3 Thank Silvertraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 24, 2004

It looks good on the outside and the view is great but the room was very tired looking and worn out. It needs a total renovation and update from the eighties style decor. The room was very small and overpriced compared to similar accomodation.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2004

This hotel is by far the worst we have ever stayed in.Management boast that it is a 4 star hotel and the "only beach front in Townsville" - well they are wrong on two counts, firstly it is more like a backpackers budget hotel and secondly there are hotels all up and down The Strand in Townsville all beach front and with views. We found mould in the bathroom on the tiles and a 5cm (2 inch) cockroach crawling above the bedhead wall. Needless to say after that experience we didn't sleep all night and even if we wanted to sleep we couldn't as the bed was a funnel, both of us sliding into the centre of the bed.The room although tidy felt dirty and was old and after the cockroach experience we don't recommend anyone stay at this hotel. You should never compromise your room for a view - you don't sleep on the balcony!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
1.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius on the Beach

Property: Aquarius on the Beach
Address: 75 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquarius on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing