We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquarius on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Views to die for, very clean and friendly. Was a very hot day so was happy there was only 2 of us in the elevator as it's very small and not airconed. Same with hall way, someone had bought back fish and chips and the smell lingered for hours. But overall wouldn't hesitate in staying again. Awesome huge good pressure shower.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 475 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fantastic friendly staff! Right in the middle of the best thing Townsville has to offer, The Strand! Almsot didn't need our rental car. We were on the 11th floor, I woudl reccomend the upper floor rooms, pay the bit extra and go higher. Less traffic noise on a Friday night, certainly better view. Our room could do with a refresh, new carpet etc But the bed was comfortable, fluffy towels. You can hire big beach towels of $2.50 a day or buy them for $15, very reasonable. We will stay here everytime we come back.

Room Tip: Pay extra and go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We checked in after hours late on xmas eve after travelling for most of the day. Straight away we discovered we were put on a floor that was much lower than we were assured from our booking website we'd be on. Having stayed here before we knew that could mean LOTS of street noise from traffic and nearby bars and restaurants.

When entering the room it was an absolute sauna so we went straight for the air-con only to discover it didnt work - the batteries were not flat, the actual connectors for the batteries to connect to were totally missing! While sitting in this sauna of a room sweating profusely we attempted to contact the night emergency staff (as reception was closed). No answer after approx 15 mins of trying so we had to labourously pour through the information book and eventually found a different contact emergency number. The person that answered was not on site and then proceeded to try to contact the night person but was also unsuccessful. This begs the question what happens here in a fire or medical emergency here at night??? Are patrons left to their own devices???

After some time the second person was able to contact someone and after much shuffling around we were given a room on a much higher floor with an air con that actually worked. All of this had taken almost an hour and we were still yet to try to find a meal and it was now almost 9pm on xmas eve in Townsville! Good luck with that!!!!

I'd like to have had the drama end there but no.....the room was not cleaned very well with hair from previous travellers clearly visible on numerous surfaces in the bathroom....yuck! The bed had 2 very distinct sags which kept you in that position all night.

Then came the biggest irritation of all....we discovered a small slip on paper left on the bench that advised that since it was christmas THEY WERE NOT SERVICING ANY ROOMS FOR BOTH CHRISTMAS AND BOXING DAY!!! What on earth were we paying for???? If they werent servicing rooms then the cost should have been reduced accordingly don't you think!!! No fresh towells, beds freshly made or replenishment of tea, coffee etc!! How scabby and tight can they be???? Even a basic half service would have sufficed.Whats next? No cleaning on sundays???

I have previously managed a motel and know all too well that customers expect and are in fact paying for SERVICE..... so where is it people??????? If people book from a website that advises that the rooms are serviced DAILY, then they should actually receive this regardless of fiscally watertight management decisions or public holiday pay-rates! If you are not going to provide what people have paid for then you MUST advise people in advance. How miserly can they get???? Talk about feeling ripped off! When we expressed our dissatisfaction at check out we were advised that "well, you were told"..... yeah.... via a slip of paper only after we'd checked in and it was too late to do anything about it!!!!

This place has got location, but even that is not worth staying in a place that clearly demonstrates that service to customers is not their priority!!! What they just saved for 2 nights just cost them dearly in NIL return trade, a greatly reduced reputation and appauling word of mouth..... hmmmmm, was it worth it????

Room Tip: Dont expect room servicing on public holidays! Also check if what your booking states is included wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diannasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Rooms all face the water - higher up the better obviously. Stayed in the $145 executive room. QB was on the hard side, full kitchenette with a bar fridge. As per other guests parking is limited so bring your food / drinks with you and then you don't need to use your car. Great restaurants nearby - especially Watermark next door. Walk to Pubs too. 32" LCD TV, but ordinary lounge to watch it from. Shower is in bath but low pressure water - pretty average really. A/C was noisy out on the balcony. For the price you do get value for money

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here on our way up north. We were delighted by the standard of accommodation and the amazing views from the 10th floor. The location cannot be beaten. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely choose to stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending Aquarius on the Beach.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaW506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Loved this place. Recently renovated room by the owners was very modern and comfortable. A short walk to restaurants and the city center. The park and esplanade opposite was lovely to wake up to each day. As well as walk along! The staff were friendly and the parking was most convenient.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have less road noise. Although we had no problems on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButerflyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I arrived at the hotel and try to park my car outside reception except there are cars parked in the driveway so I had to double park, locking people into their car parks, to check in. There are so few car spaces for the size of this hotel that you will probably have to park up the street somewhere and walk about 500 m as the hotel is on The Strand and not far from the dining area so very busy. There was no solution and the staff member who checked me was not friendly. It is an old hotel that has been renovated. One plus is that the rooms all face the water. As it is on The Strand it is very noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
217 reviews
1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
947 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius on the Beach

Address: 75 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $80 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquarius on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing