We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If having a car park is important to you this is not the hotel to book”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquarius on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“If having a car park is important to you this is not the hotel to book”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I arrived at the hotel and try to park my car outside reception except there are cars parked in the driveway so I had to double park, locking people into their car parks, to check in. There are so few car spaces for the size of this hotel that you will probably have to park up the street somewhere and walk about 500 m as the hotel is on The Strand and not far from the dining area so very busy. There was no solution and the staff member who checked me was not friendly. It is an old hotel that has been renovated. One plus is that the rooms all face the water. As it is on The Strand it is very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    208
    81
    27
    26
See reviews for
47
224
39
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Some lovely staff, and incredible views. Every room overlooks the beach. From the hallway, there's an incredible view of the big rock behind Townsville, baking in the sun.

Some nice places to eat nearby, and a pleasant walk along the strand.

If you feel like swimming, there are jellyfish nets at the nearby beach (Net #2) and a pool in the complex.

Some aspects of the hotel are a little dated. Motel studio rooms with self-contained facilities (toaster, kettle, kitchen sink, cutlery, crockery).

Still, it made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The view from the balcony is priceless. You are very handy to cafes and take away shops. Supermarket a brisk 5 minute walk. However, the "Older" style accommodation is embarassing for what they are charging. I just don't get Townsville and the cost of the accommodation in this city. Our room had carpet warm through to the underlay. The freezer did not cool sufficient to make ice, under the microwave was cracked wood, the fridge was in very poor condition and theealed a bathroom disgraceful. After a shower the steam revealed a message that had been written by a previous gruest to someone they obviously felt deeply about. But we did not need see it. An obvious sign the mirror has not been cleaned in I am not sure how long. We had three guests in our room but only given two towwls. I rang reception but after 45 minutes decided to get it myseld. I was advised they were busy. Next day on servicing of the room we again only got two towels and had to go and collect anothet. If you are looking for a great location,this is good. If you are looking for value for money, a clean room and fittings stay well away from this establishment.

Room Tip: do not choose from what is called the horizons room. described by reception as older style rooms. m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Aquarius last weekend. I can see there are a few not so good reviews of this property, however all I can go by was our recent experience. We didn't find any issues with the staff or the hotel, the only thing we could say that was a negative would be that the bed was too firm and maybe needs replacing. Our room was nice and clean and very in a great location, the furnishings fairly new and typical of a coastal type accomodation, the bathroom was small but more than adequate, really, we weren't there to stay in our hotel room at all except for sleeping. The staff were friendly and met all our needs, the room was cleaned daily although the towels weren't changed one morning, no big deal though, we did hang them up so as the sign says, if you hang them up they won't be changed. Overall a very nice room and good value. There was no need for the hotel to have any dining facilities, step out the front door and take your pick of a miriad of cafes, bars, restaurants. Nice hotel, nice staff, great location, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor for a great view. Room 803 would be a good chice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moranbah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Sitting on the veranda overlooking the Strand, glass of wine in hand...perfect spot for predinner or pst dinner drinks. Close to great restaurants and short taxi ride to casino. Take a relaxing walk along the beach

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiznkirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Aquarius is once of the nicest places to stay when in Townsville. The rooms can be a bit pricey depending on when you book, and with some of the rooms privately owned and decorated, it can be a bit hit and miss on quality and decor, however for the most part, the rooms are very comfortable.

The one thing about the Aquarius is that everyone gets a sea view - and what a view it is ! If you want to be part of it all, you can wander down stairs and indulge as the hotel is also only a hop, skip and jump from restaurants, cafes and bars as well as being only 5/10 minutes drive from the airport or railway station. For people with young families, a free kids water park is also a short 10 minute walk away, or you can pull back the blinds, open up your door, and listen to the waves, stare across the ocean to Magnetic Island, and kick back on your patio. I think guests may also have free access to a gym which again is only a short walk from the hotel.

Another bonus is that in my experience, the staff are always happy, friendly and helpful. I liked the hotel and the location so much that it was our home away from home every weekend for about 2 months.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly bigger and have a small kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed four nights. Room was in excellent position for daily walks along the strand. The Island and ocean views from the balcony were relaxing. Self contained kitchen was very handy and well appointed. Road noise is a bit loud, especially on weekend with passing louts.

Room Tip: Get a higher up room to get away from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nealfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
1.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius on the Beach

Property: Aquarius on the Beach
Address: 75 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquarius on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing