We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquarius on the Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Just Right!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We travelled to Townsville with friends and both families stayed in joining rooms. Was perfect for our stay. The kids made great use of the super pool. We would stay there agian.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummabek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    200
    76
    26
    25
See reviews for
45
213
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I had a wonderful 3 nights at the Aquarius. I was on the 12th floor..incredible view over to Magnetic Island and along the Strand waterfront. There are some fabulous restaurants and cafe's all in walking distance. A supermarket/bank/butcher etc also in walking distance. The room was lovely with microwave, toaster, fridge, plates etc etc. A lovely balcony with table and 2 chairs to relax and enjoy the vista with a cold glass of champagne! What a treat to leave the balcony doors open at night and hear the gentle waves upon the shore! Great bed and even a bath! The local 'Redbus' stops directly outside the hotel and does a 'city loop'..great for having a look around the city and shopping or Jupiters Casino and Aquarium or ferry drop(for Magnetic Island) off/on. Very convenient. This hotel has the best location in Townsville. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! Fantastic and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Pay the minimal fee for upgrade and get a refurbished room and incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China (US Expat)
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Aquarius is directly across the road from the Strand and beyond that is the ocean. I was on the 8th floor and could leave my door open at night. The sound of the distant waves was very peaceful.

The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. I booked on Agoda and they had the room ready when I arrived. I asked to move from the 2nd floor to the 8th floor for a better view (and no mosquitos) - it was no problem.

The Strand is a park along side the ocean and you can people-watch from your balcony. I believe every room has a balcony - rather small - just two chairs and a table, but it's nice to have your morning coffee.

The downside was that you need to "rent" or "buy" a pool towel. I didn't think to bring one and 2.50AUD seemed silly. There are only 6 pool chairs so it was difficult to find a place to sit during the daytime. And, the pool was completely shaded by 3pm (in late April).

The kitchen was well equipped. I stayed during Easter weekend and there was no service on Good Friday or Saturday - that was a first for me.

I will definity choose this hotel for my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean with a balcony - ask for a room on 8th floor or above for a nice ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank china_mom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Had a good three days stay. Room was very comfy, view was great and the location is absolutely brilliant, right on The Strand. There is a small table and two chairs on the balcony overlooking the ocean and the room has microwave, fridge and all crockery and cutlery. We found everything in good condition and the room was very clean. There is a small table and chairs and also a lounge area. The lounge was very tired and needed reupholstering but this was the only downside of the room. There is a supermarket and take away stores close by. All in all will certainly go back to this hotel. Air con works well and is quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel would have to be in the best location in Townsville, right opposite The Strand, every room has a great view over the water, with a balcony to get out and enjoy it. Room very comfortable, nice bathroom, great bed... the best thing is the location though and the amazing restaurants nearby. Try Watermark and C Bar!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise, but not a major problem anyway. With the balcony door closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AchieveLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in a Delux Water View Room on the 8th floor. The view was amazing, the room was newly renovated, all tiled, little kitchen with microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle and cooking accessories. Little room, but value for money. Deffinitally worth to pay the little extra for a newer room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touring4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Reception closes 8pm but prior arrangement can be easily made to access room key. Limited coffee & tea in room but enough to get the day started :)
Comfortable atmosphere and found the bed/pillows firm but great for my back. The view from my room was outstanding! Have booked in again and will recommend this venue to others.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangiMoresby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.7 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius on the Beach

Property: Aquarius on the Beach
Address: The Aquarius 75 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquarius on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing