We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean views galore.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquarius on the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I live in the outback, so this place was like a dream. Oceans views for miles.
We had a newly furbished apartment which I highly recommend. Close to everything and the Strand is awesome. We had no issue and thought the area was outstanding. I am a ex-city kid so have reasonably high standards and could not fault this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Aquarius on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I love staying at Aquarius and have stayed there several times. The views from the room are wonderful. The staff at the front desk are always friendly. Because the rooms are individually owned, some of them have slightly different decor/quality furnishings based on what the owner has added. The only drawback to staying at Aquarius is that if you want to park your car after 5-6 pm, there is a chance you will need to find a spot on The Strand or on the street behind the hotel as their lot fills up early... However, this is a small price to pay when you have a nice clean, spacious room with a view waiting for you.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angeltravellergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Fantastic value for money and awesome location!! wish we could have stayed longer!!

Room Tip: Views over Maggie island are the best!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitsundayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived in Townsville by plane at 10 am and had booked to check in at 2pm the same day.When we arrived at about 2:10 pm the room wasn't ready and we had to wait for a half hour in the foyer.When we were advised by front counter receptionist that room was ready and to go up to the 'executive'suite on the 11th floor,we got up there and the cleaner was still inside mopping the floor.After another 5 minutes waiting outside we were let in only to find dirty grubby hand prints all over the glass door to the balcony.Cleaning was a disgrace.The room itself was pitiable,a very small kitchen,this part being how it comes to be called 'executive',because the kitchen is effectively the corridor of the level,our room being at the end of the corridor.The shower leaked water onto the bathroom floor and there was no exhaust vent for the toilet,only glass louvres opening out to the bedroom,single room area.Pathetic really,zero privacy,the toilet being 1 metre away from the bed,separated by a paper thin wall divider,and opening to a raft of louvres .Parking was at back of hotel but no guarantee to get a spot,if was full,park out on the street.The only thing the place has got going for it is the views of the strand,but they don't make up for the awful amateur service and very poor qualit amenities.Terrible.I stayed at the Lynd Junction Roadhouse once and that is 5 star compared to this dump.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brfromtheisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The good part,great view good location,seems good value when you stay 7 nights but beware rooms are not serviced,ie no fresh linen no fresh towels and the garbage well you have to take it down to the dumpster your self.
It is supposed to have a flat screen TV ,it does but its an old analogue TV with no digital channels.
The kitchenette consists of a toaster and a microwave.
Parking after 5pm dont even try.
Hotel front office especially on weekends do not seem to realise that they are in the hospitality business.

Room Tip: Go high for the view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to Townsville to go the following day to Magnetic Island for our honey moon. Our room was disgusting, filthy, smelly, the windows were rusty, the carpet was torn, the bath scratched. We couldnt believe that they charge 150$ for a room when the hotel its in such an state and more when we told them that we were in our honey moon. Incredible. The hotel needs a complete renovation. Its a huge hotel but its out of date. I dont know how they dare to sell those rooms. A good thing was the view to the sea although the sea of Townsville is not that nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lb2011aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Just spent the week at Aquarius on the Beach for work. Good things first, great location, there are plenty of great eating option just close by (my room also had a kitchenette). Staff were really friendly. The room was very clean & the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was generally well appointed. Now the annoying stuff. Parking is the basically not available after 5.30pm, so you need to park behind the hotel or around the corner (had to drive round a very long block a couple od time to find parking. The room was also very worn (lounge was worn through to the stuffing, the towel rail is coming out of the wall).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Podfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius on the Beach

Address: 75 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquarius on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing