We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œReef Lodge Backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reef Lodge Backpackers
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hostel was great, but there really wasnt anything to do in Townsville and we wished we had just jumped straight on the ferry to Magnetic Island. However we stayed here for 2 nights and had booked a motel room which was excellent value. We had a double bed and a bunk bed so could have fit 4 in the room despite just being 2! It was clean and great to have a kettle and toaster in the room! The location was good, not too far from the ferry terminal and the greyhound bus. And a quick walk to the Strand or Flinders Street and the supermarket. Staff were helpful too. You seem to have to pay for everything such as internet, renting books and films etc which were all rpetty expensive, we didnt use any of there though. Its a great hostel if you want to stay in Townsville but we would much preferred to have stayed on Magnetic island not just doing a day trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanNixonHarding, Manager at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2016

Hi hmk2012,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback about the place and happy to see you enjoyed your time at the hostel. Books to buy are $2 and movies $2 to hire, money goes to charity. Internet $3 for an hour. Hope the rest of your holiday goes well and you enjoy your time in Australia.

All the best
Reef Lodge
Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 185 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hi! We stayed two nights at reef lodge. Something we wouldn't do the next time. Although everything was clean, the staff is terrible. They don't care about you at all! We asked them to help with the dvd player, but instead of helping they just looked at us like we're idiots, not knowing how it works. They also make you pay for everything, like book-exchanging, and the washing machine is really expensive (5 dollars). And if you rent a dvd-box with two dvds in it (when the movie is split in two, because its to big for 1 dvd), you have to pay for both of the dvds.
It's just not a hostel for backpackers. Maybe if you're old and you need strict rules, it's ok.
But we're not coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eline Dorien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanNixonHarding, Manager at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2016

Hello Eline,
Sorry you had a bad time at Reef Lodge and certainly making you feel like an idiot is not our intent. Maybe just having a bad day. The washing machine are a jumbo wash 12kg and at $5 it is less expensive than the laundromat at $6. Books and DVD's are $2 and if it is a series yes they cost $2 per disc, usually there are 3 episode per disc and still makes for a cheap 11/2 hours of entertainment. The money we raise goes to charity. Sorry for the late reply.

anyway hope the rest of your time in Oz went well.

Sincerely
Reef Lodge
Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Well, first of all, this backpacker as a very attractive price ($22 a night in a 6 share dorm without air con but with huge fans). Its also very clean and the share accommodations (2 TV rooms, hammocks, ...) are good, with pleasant decoration. But it also very difficult to obtain informations from the BP team. The internet is pretty expensive ($3 for 30 min and $5 for and hour), the washing powder and the laundry are out of price ($5 for a machine and add $1.2 for the powder). Not to mention the "Book crossing" witch will cost you $2 for crossing a book (!!) and $4 for taking a nearly destroyed book in most of case. Well not to bad but ... ;)
P.S. No swimming pool in the BP

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanNixonHarding, Manager at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016

Hi Mathieu,
and thank you for leaving your feedback. Happy to see you liked the rooms and the room prices. As for the cost of the other things you mention they return little or no money to the business and are sold as a convenience for the guests. The washing machines are a 12 kg washers and the closest laundromat is $2 more than we charge. Also we have never advertised as having a swimming pool. Our books are in good to excellent condition and do not keep any books that are as you state "destroyed" all the money from these goes to a charity we raise money for. Sorry for the late reply but it seems there are a number of reviews that were not replied to.

Hope your travels all go well and you enjoy where ever you end up,

Sincerely
Reef Lodge
Townsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Clean hostel however the 'spiritual vibe' set out by the tibetan flags, buddhas and hammocks was totally ruined by the rude management, especially the owner Dean and a moody receptionist who looked like she couldnt care less. Kitchen opening times are rediculous. If you want a lay in after travelling all night for example or have an early start the kitchen is closed! Also the gas is often not swithced on by the set time and when you eventually find Dean to ask for it to be switched on you are met with rude comments. Rude attitude made the stay uncomfortable. I do not reccomend this hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanNixonHarding, Manager at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2016

Thank you Hannah for taking the time to leave your feedback. Firstly as for being rude, I do apologize if I was. I have to admit my biggest fault is tending to treat others as they treat me. As we deal with so many people each and every day, simply put maybe I was just having a bad day and I can only say sorry if this was the case with you. The kitchen is open all the time except for approximately 1 hour in the morning at 10-30am each day. This is clearly stated on the both kitchen doors. Gas is turned off at 9-30 each night to ensure the safety of guest and should be turned on at 8am each morning. Yes, sometimes I do forget to turn it on and again sorry this has caused you such inconvenience. Sadly, too many times in the past the gas has been left on by people coming back after a big night out to cook up some food. This is simply a safety issue and not to inconvenience people, however the place catching on fire or a gas explosion is a far bigger in convenience. There is a microwave oven 2 x toasters and 2 x kettles people can use prior to the gas being turned on in the morning.

All the best, sincerely
Reef Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at this hostel for 4 nights. Wasnt awful, rooms were spotless and linen all clean etc but just not practical as a backpacker hostel! Rooms have no cupboards or drawers or anything in which to store your clothes so you literally have to live in a mess out of your case. Also there's no lockers in the rooms, there are lockers at reception but firstly, you have to pay for them and they're not cheap and also, the reception is closed overnight so you have no access to your valuables. Also there is no store room to put your belongings when you check-out, just a suggestion to leave them unguarded in the communal area. Internet very expensive and wifi only working for one day of my stay. Not terrible but from speaking to others, there is much better accommodation in Townsville as a backpacker!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just came back from reef lodge. The management has the worst service I have ever come across. I went with a school group and we paid for many rooms. They did not put us together and I spent every night worried about my students. Many people were smoking pot right in front of my students and they made very loud noise all night. We did not mind that so much- you would expect that from a backpackers in town near all the pubs etc but what did annoy me was at 7:45 AM the next day I got told off for talking to my students about what they needed to pack for the day. Apparently I was not considerate enough of other guests. What a joke!!!

The kitchen does not accommodate all the guests and the communal areas are small and pokey. It has a good location but would never recommend it to anybody. Look elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Meaghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanNixonHarding, Manager at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. Sorry you had such a bad experience. The room configuration would have been sorted with the organizer and they would have been aware of this prior to arrival. The whole complex is secure from the street, so no one has access to the property without a key. Smoking pot on the property? We do not condone this and would have definitely dealt with this if anyone had bothered to bring it to the attention of management. A lot of backpackers smoke herbal cigarettes and we have been caught out on many occasions when confronting people about smoking pot. We have had many groups over the years stay at the Reef lodge much larger and smaller than this group, many have continued to return each year since 2003 as they like the position of the property and the facilities. Rude management? Sorry you took offense as to being ask to keep your voice down at 7:45am while addressing your group. You refer to others being inconsiderate during the night by making noise however we were not there at the time, but would have asked these people also to be more considerate. As a teacher we are sure you understand the complexity of dealing with groups of people, sadly, we can't please everyone. On any one night we may have to deal with up to 70 people, we simply do our best. Again sorry you had such a bad experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights too many. The staff are rude and stop people from drinking in the common area at 10.30pm every night including the weekends, yet the noise from the bar behind it makes the rule pointless. Helped a friend leave her bags into her room and the owner was quite rude as to saying you can't be in the room even though I was at that stage standing at the door of the room. Had to change rooms during my stay and had to provide my name 5 times to the owner as he kept forgetting!! Looked out the window of the hostel and saw the owner with a person in a headlock on the street - would not recommend this hostel to my enemies!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liathroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeanNixonHarding, Manager at Reef Lodge Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2016

It’s always interesting the reasons why you remember some people and for that reason I will say nothing more than I tend to treat others the same as they treat me. Being moved 5 times simply comes down to rooms being previously booked, although we do try to minimise moving people if we can help it. Having to move people just adds to our work load. With regard to the guy being restrained. He was trying to break into the hostel and I asked him to leave. I tried to remove him without incident but sadly it was not the case. The police were called and he was taken away. Sadly, although there were people around no one tried to help me.

Sincerely hope the rest of your holiday went to plan and sorry for the late response. Did not see this review and thought it needed explanation.

All the best
Reef Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#13 of 41 in Townsville
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rambutan
Rambutan
#6 of 41 in Townsville
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Lodge Backpackers

Address: 4 Wickham St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: $16 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef lodge Backpackers and budget accommodation in Townsville caters to travelers looking for a quiet place to relax and chill out. "LONLEY PLANET" The cruisy atmosphere at Townsvilles best hostel extends from Buddhist sculptures and hammocks strewn through the gardens to an outdoor cinema with swinging lounges and more than 1200 DVD's. There is a games room with bench presses free weights and a retro video game machine (space invaders Frogger Paceman ... Very cool) The large kitchen, Dorms and private rooms are all spotless. WE are are in the center of Townsville city, with a short 500m walk to the Greyhound, Premier bus terminal, Magnetic Island ferry terminal, beach, city center and the "Reef HQ" "Museum" "Cultural Center" are straight over the road. We have a "no alcohol policy" after 10-30pm and we ask the people to be respectful of the other guests who are staying at the Reef Lodge. We have a large communal kitchen with all the utilities you require to cook. There are many communal area where people can sit around including hammocks, recreational room with a small gym, pool table and retro video game machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Reef Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing