We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 17 Townsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just a place to sleep”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the civic guest house on our trip form Cairns to Airlie Beach. The place does not have any special atmosphere and the rooms feel a little bit like prison cells (mainly due to the way they are closed). However, the facilities were clean and there were many young people staying there. Wi-Fi is only available near the reception. There is a public parking spot nearby. However, we did not have a good feeling leaving our car there and decided to opt for a payed parking spot in near sight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiki_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Owner at Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Our rooms are simple, but cosy and bright with windows opening onto Townsville sunny skies - a far cry from the description provided by this guest. We are a quiet hostel (versus a party hostel) and we strive to provide a friendly welcoming atmosphere. Free wifi is accessible from all rooms inside the main building to the exception of the last two, which are further away from the modem. The free unlimited car park just around the corner is a 3 minute walk from the hostel and is as safe as parking in front of the hostel. Furthermore there is no need to pay for parking as street parking is free overnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    104
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
3
108
137
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed in a dorm with only 4 bunk beds which I liked as it wasn't too crowded, it felt more like a bedroom than a dorm room.
The owners were really friendly.
It is a nice, quiet, clean hostel that is located close to Woolworths and not a very long walk to Townsville CBD.
It was a nice touch that I was picked up from the Greyhound stop by a courtesy bus, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is run by some lovely and accommodating staff. The rooms are basic and the furniture is antique like so quite smelly plus sinks are the smallest we've ever come across but we really enjoyed our stay. Wifi not good in rooms, we were on bottom floor and it was noisy at night as near to steps but it was clean and comfy and good location. Plus they picked us up and dropped us off at bus stop...was such a help!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The civic guest house is well situated in Townsville, only a few metres to the next supermarket and not much more to get to Flinders Street. We stayed in a very nice double room with refrigerator. We can’t complain about the kitchen, everything was clean and so was the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights, easily the cleanest hostel ive seen across all continents, highly professional and very friendly staff, i dont think there is a question they cant answer!

If you are looking to dive the SS Yongala from Townsville then you are in luck! Adrenalin dive shop is next door, they are the highest rated dive shop in town an do several trips to the Yongala each week!

Only downsides are that there is nor any kind of food offered, beyond a vending machine, and if you are looking to party all night then look else where. However if youve gotta be up early to catch a dive boat and want an excellent nights sleep then look no further!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JJXF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is my second time round staying at Civic Guesthouse. This time, I was on my own in one of the double rooms. I felt it was such great value for money. I didn't have an air conditioner(there was a ceiling fan), but it was actually cold at night for me. Linen is supplied and there is a small fridge in the room. There is a communal kitchen. We stayed out a little later than we should have and the was a night watchman who was able to let us is. I had hired a car while I was in Townsville and was able to park almost out the front before 9am and after 5pm for free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somethingaboutkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

You can't go wrong staying here - it's well priced, immaculately clean and has great facilities. On street parking is easy and they offer free wifi. Shops are just a short walk away so it's really well situated. They have ample spacious bathrooms and communal kitchen and hangout areas. The rooms down the passageway as you walk in could get a little noisy as they open onto a communal lounge where guests tend to Skype their friends. Highly recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cherrynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.2 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel

Property: Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel
Address: 262 Walker St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated and now voted one of the TOP 10 HOSTELS in Australia, the Civic Guest House is a friendly, charming hostel in the heart of Townsville offering clean, safe and cosy accommodation for the budget conscious traveler. Free Wi-Fi and a friendly service are what we consider a must. We also offer free transport to/from the Ferry and Greyhound bus terminal.Our aim is to provide our guests with a comfortable and quiet place to stay in a relaxed and friendly environment. You can chill out in the lounge room, prepare a meal in our large communal kitchen, or have a game of chess in the new game room. Conveniently located in a quiet street in Townsville's CBD, the Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel gives you a broad choice of room options ranging from shared dorms to private double rooms with en-suite bathrooms.Townsville is a great place to experience a laid-back tropical city lifestyle while enjoying the fantastic wildlife and exceptional sights of the Great Barrier Reef and Magnetic Island. Take a tour, enjoy numerous free activities in and around town, or simply relax by the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing