We stayed here for one night - Nice rooms and comfy beds. There are lots of facilities like a big kitchen, TV and pool! The staff are really friendly and helped us book transport. Would stay here again.More
- Free Wifi
- Free Parking
We stayed here for one night - Nice rooms and comfy beds. There are lots of facilities like a big kitchen, TV and pool! The staff are really friendly and helped us book transport. Would stay here again.MoreShow less
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and could take full advantage of our large kitchen and roof-top pool! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Townsville.
We stayed here for one night before our magnetic island trips and we are glad it was only one night.
We were told there was a shuttle to bring us to hostel from terminal but when we arrived and called reception we were informed it wasn't actually working on that particular day even though we had arranged it already.
The rules regarding a charge if you leave the aircon or lights on while out of the room made us feel uncomfortable because it would suggest the owners check your rooms while you are out. Also surely in the hot climate you would be allowed leave your aircon on so you can come home to a cool room?
Our door would not lock from the outside but reception was closed when we figured this out. The "breakfast" was terrible .. 2 slices of toast and tea which the water was barely even warm.
The space is clearly way too big for the cleaners to maintain. The rooms had no theme and we had printed out pictures stuck on our wall.
We did enjoy the thick mattress and the shuttle to the ferry terminal the next morning. Other than that the rooms are not worth the price.
My sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your stay and that there was a mix up with the shuttle!
With regards to the air conditioning, the cleaners just simply knock while they are going around, and if we notice a room which is unoccupied we try to turn them off. This is to keep costs down and it is also more environmentally friendly. It only takes a few minutes to cool the room so we ask that it is turned off during the day. This is similar to a hotel which has you insert your key to turn on any lights or air con, we try to save electricity while guests are out and about.
We do have an after hours number located on the reception door which you can always ring if there are any issues. Some doors can be locked from the inside and pulled shut, we will make sure to tell our guests in the future so that they can lock their doors. Thank you for this advice.
Thank you for your feedback on the morning toast, coffee and tea. We are a backpackers so we do not provide on breakfast but we try to provide something to get your day going. We turn the kettle on in the morning when we come in so it does take some time to warm up. I will make reception aware to put it on high so that it heats faster.
Again my apologies for your stay not meeting your expectations, I appreciate your honest feedback and we will make changes accordingly. I hope you enjoyed Magnetic Island :)
This place looks like a scene out of a scary movie. Several junkies everywhere, we felt really unsafe and didn't leave our valuables in the room whenever we left. We only stayed one night as we needed a place to sleep while driving the east coast and we should have just slept in the car. This place is unsafe and easily accessible to anyone in the area. I would definitely advise avoiding this place.
Thank you for your honest review, we apologise you did not have a great stay with us. Management has been made aware of the issues and we are working to mitigate the concerns you have shared. We do have secure locks on each door to ensure your belongings are safe so please let us know if yours was broken in any way so that we can fix that promptly.
Again, my sincere apologies, I hope you have a safe travel along the rest of the east coast.
Victoria @ Adventurers
Like many young travellers this was chosen because it is a cheap place to stay, however for quality, it's the worst backpackers I've ever stayed at.
We arrived as a late check in which was fine, you just have to inform the reception because they close at 7pm. On arrival we were a bit surprised to find the backpackers so out of the way, in an alley really. A man, who we later discovered as a worker at the backpackers, explained to us where our single (double bed) room was.
On entry to the room we were quite disappointed especially because we were exhausted from an adventurous day on Magnetic Island. The mattress was obviously very old as it completely sunk in the middle and our 2 nights stay were both not good nights sleep due to this. We were given 1 sheet which was disappointing and surprising because although we don't experience insane Winters here in Australia, it still gets quite cold at night time. We read (no one told us) on a sheet of paper on the stair way that you could hire blankets for about $5 total - very bizarre.
As we've found with all other backpackers (around 8 that we've stayed at in Australia) - you can easily hire bathroom towels, however this didn't seem to be an option? It wasn't written anywhere and it was never spoken about. On the night of arrival we went down and asked for a towel and were given someones left behind unwashed beach towel with holes in it.
When I stay at backpackers, I by no means expect luxury, however I do expect that things look clean. The bathroom was definitely not clean - with dirty floors, nothing to dry your hands with and no soap (even after the cleaners had gone through early in the morning). The laundry area was exceptionally unkept, with a heap of tiles missing (stacked around the area), ironing boards which looked more dusty and dirty than you can imagine and 2 washing machines/dryers which were placed obscurely around.
The two nights that we stayed here were not enjoyable at all - we dreaded going back to the place.
We did however have a place to 'sleep' and shower, so I guess thats what we paid for.
Wouldn't stay here again.
My deepest apologies that your stay was not a good one and I really appreciate the detailed feedback so we are able make improvements to our facilities. We have since replaced a few mattresses which were older and repaired bed frames which will hopefully fix the bedding issue. We have also changed our signage so that our guests can have better access and awareness to our hostel information, highlighting our towels and blankets for hire, especially for guests with a late check-in! We do have nice clean towels for hire so it is odd that you received an old one with holes in it and I will most certainly make sure that all staff are informed of this because this is unacceptable. We have new cleaners to ensure the bathrooms and laundries are kept more tidy as well as well stocked with soap and hand towels for guests' convenience. Unfortunately we had some damage and were re-tiling one of the laundries while you were here and I apologise for the unsightly appearance during your stay. This has since been repaired and the ironing boards have also been replaced. Again, I am deeply sorry you had a less than satisfactory stay with us and I wish we could have done something for you while you were with us; but due to your feedback we have been able to make many changes which will hopefully improve future guests' experiences. We thank you for your honesty!
Victoria @ Adventurers
After driving 10+ hours I needed a good night's sleep at a reasonable price and that's exactly what I got. Great value for money with friendly staff, especially the very knowledgeable Scottish lass at reception. Sure enough I was most pleased with my stay.
Thanks so much for your great review! We have late check-in and early check-out procedures in place which makes it especially helpful for the sleepy traveller just passing through, and we often get guests who are doing just that. I'm glad we could provide you a comfortable stay on your journey and that Mhairi could provide the friendly service we pride ourselves on :) We hope to see you again on your next journey through Townsville, or perhaps for an extended stay. Again, thanks so much for your kind words, we hope to see you soon.
Rooms are great, they are clean, have there own fridge, air con or a big fan that's just as good. The rooftop pool is great and has an awesome view of the harbour and mountains. its a good place to party. pool table, ping pong table good places to chill and have a laugh with people. Best thing is the owners. Helpful, friendly and really look after you.
Thanks so much for your review, I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The owners take great care to make sure the guests feel at home, and do what they can to help their visitors. I'm glad you were pleased with the rooms and the pool, which is also my favourite part about this place! We hope to see you again the net time you are passing through Townsville, or decide to stay for a bit, we'll be here :)
Take care, and thanks again for your friendly words,