We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as everyone says” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventurers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adventurers Resort
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not as bad as everyone says”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while I was in Townsville. Had a single room to myself which was clean but modest. The staff were super nice and very helpful when I needed them, and I had no problems with the rooms or the locals or anything. The building is a little old but there's nothing wrong with them. The bed was comfortable, the bathrooms and kitchen were clean and overall it was a very nice stay. The only thing is that I arrived on a greyhound in te middle of te night and its quite a walk from the greyhound stop. But that's ok, it's still only about a 15 minute walk to the city. Overall, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aj0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    10
    14
    44
See reviews for
1
29
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

It all started with unfriendly English girl at reception. Our room was like a prison cell with very interesting decoration on the wall, mannequin. Do not even try to find something in the kitchen, there is nothing at all !!! But the worst thing happened to us next morning, when we found a big bed bug on the bed. Avoid this place, it is waste of time, money and bed bugs are one of the biggest nightmares ever !!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanislava N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

1. Prison like rooms with old bunk beds and thin dirty mattresses.
2. Dirty communal toilets and showers.
3. No pots, pans or utensils in the kitchen. You need to pay to hire them at reception as people steal them!!!
4. Full of long term travellers who use and abuse the place and the staff.
5. Loud music all night long, people shouting & swearing.
6. We witnessed fights and the police were even called.
7. Owners dont seem to have any control over the people who are living there (half of them dont even pay rent, they just use it like a doss house).
8. The swimming pool is disgusting, the pool contained cigerette butts, empty bottles and even sun loungers.
9. There is no TV room and if you want a TV in your room again you have to hire it due to people stealing them and going to cash converters.
10. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy, the reason we stayed here so long was because it was cheap but you really do get what you pay for.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Smitch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Without question the strangest place I have ever stayed in over 3 years travelling. We were left in Townsville unexpectedly due to a cyclone causing road closures so made our way over to Adventurers.

The place is basically 2 floors in a motel style setting. It looks more like a prison block than a hostel or motel though, it is completely unloved and unkept. Inside the rooms are just bare concrete walls and floors, one wall painted blue and one painted green with a double bed shoved at the end. The stench of bleach in the room made it difficult to sleep. It did have aircon that worked, that was the only positive about this place. The bathrooms were acceptable too I guess but involved walking past, and being shouted at, by a room full of residents who seemed to to abuse everybody who walked past their room.

There were a number of people living here and despite the rather curt rules posted all over the place they certainly didn't abide by them. There was shouting, drinking and loud music going on until all hours. It wasn't a party anybody could join in either, the residents would shout at anybody who walked past and the atmosphere was bordering on the intimidating.

The reception area was often closed but we did find the staff to be helpful, I think it was the owners daughter who checked us in and she seemed nice and was happy to help. It really doesn't make up for the general state of this place and the other residents though.

The place was more like a crack den than a backpackers hostel. Stay at one in the town centre, they can't be any worse and at least you won't have to walk 15 minutes to get into town either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hostelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

At first glance it looks like a prison with no attraction... The room was fine and had been cleaned but that's where anything good stopped!!!
The hostel is just full of drunken louts who have zero respect for anyone else!! The owners notice of zero tolerance was a joke as nothing was done when issues where raised! The reception never seemed open longer than an hour!! Very poor customer service! Will never ever stay here again! I got out ASAP!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The owners of this 'establishment' were both rude and unhelpful during my three day stay at Adventurers. Their pet hen ruled the property including the very basic kitchen and woe betide anyone who suggested that live poultry and cooking areas do not mix well. The rooms were sparten, the floor dusty, thin and worn linen was used on the beds and the sleeping conditions were cramped. The Adventurers hostel has a reputation as being a "party" hostel, in my experience the only ones that were doing any partying were the unfriendly and sometimes nasty permanent residents.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikerie, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Taken from my website http://thelittlebackpacker.wordpress.com

I booked this hostel purely from the review in the Lonely Planet guidebook; I have booked several other hostels this way and never had a problem. However this hostel really didn’t live up to the review. As described it was an ex motel complex but I never imagined it to feel so prison like with rows and rows of rooms on both levels. The whole place felt very old and un-loved, it really was not worth $55 for a double room for the night.

Atmosphere
There really was no backpacker atmosphere. It felt like a place full of regulars who live there and have no interest in being friendly to those who are staying for just the night. It would not be the sort of place you want to stay if you are on your own! It was definitely still more motel than hostel – I would even have thought it wasn’t a bad motel but as hostels go it really doesn’t cut it.

Staff
It was very hard to know who was actually staff and who wasn’t but from what I understand they staff I did meet were not that friendly or helpful. Arriving at the greyhound terminal I rang the hostel to find out how we got there, to be told very abruptly it was a 20 minute walk or a $10 cab ride – this didn’t feel me with confidence as who would stay that far away from the bus station. We were then not given very much information about the hostel when we checked in. And when I happened to encounter the cleaner the next morning I got shouted at for wanting to have a shower and asking how long she would be cleaning.

Communal Areas
There was the kitchen which was very basic and large but seemed to be kept nice and clean despite the lack of cleaning supplies for washing up. They also had a strange system of keeping the pots and pans in reception which wasn’t great when reception is only open 9 am until 7 pm. The TV lounge was a huge room that felt very old and empty with just a massive TV and couple of old sofas. The reception area was a pretty communal area with internet, another TV, lots of travel leaflets and free tea/coffee. The only really nice part was the rooftop pool – part of what made us choose this hostel in the review. The view over Townsville and the river was pretty nice from up here.

I’m afraid to say there was nothing that was friendly about this place from the staff to the layout. It is an ex motel building but you feel like they are done nothing to the place since it was a motel. There were all sorts of angry signs and rules plastered all over the walls – none of these rules were we informed of at check in and the signs did not seem friendly towards the people staying there.

I don’t like to be completely negative about places but unfortunately there is very little I found positive about this hostel except the nice view from the rooftop pool. I would not recommend this hostel to other backpackers unless you are after a long term stay as there seemed to be a community between the long termers.

Taken from my website http://thelittlebackpacker.wordpress.com

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#14 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rambutan
Rambutan
#7 of 43 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Civic Guest House Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventurers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventurers Resort

Property: Adventurers Resort
Address: 79 Palmer St | South Townsville, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adventurers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Adventurers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing