We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation & friendly service”
Review of Seagulls Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seagulls Resort
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked a last minute deal which included a bottle of wine & $20 credit on dinner or breakfast in their restaurant . The room was nice, quiet air conditioning, large tv screen, good beds & great pillows - definitely a great deal! Breakfast was the opposite - very basic offering & not recommended at all!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bossyflossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 166 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

For the pst 5 weeks I have stayed at Seagulls on work related business. The rooms are clean,we'll set out.Reception staff are very friendly but you have eat there. The food is great . Wi the Thai chef is a cracker you will never have a sirloin or eye fillet at any other place which for the price,quality and we'll they are exceptional. The flavour and tenderness of the meat is something I wish other restaurants would copy. Getting away from the gastronomic affair the place is very family oriented . A nice place to stay but take your insect repellant the mossies.
come out at dusk but you can't blame the resort for that hey. I highly recommend for service and quality for the price. Cheers

Room Tip: Do ask not to stay on the front of the resort,rooms facing the pools are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here enroute to Cairns. We hadn't pre-booked but the receptionist was friendly and helpful and we managed a free upgrade. The room was excellent, so clean and seemed to be newly refurbished. We ate in the restaurant which was good value and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchumieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I always stay at Seagulls. The refurbished rooms are lovely as is the tropical garden. Restaurant has a tranquil ambience and great food. Central yet not on the busy and noisy roads. Beds are very comfortable with a choice of pillows. Great prices and great staff. Have to say - the lady who serviced our room daily (over a four day stay) was terrific!

Room Tip: There is a large choice of rooms...we had one adjoining the palm tree area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent an overnight stay recently at seagulls and found the room and facilities to be quite OK . The hotel is located in-between Belgian gardens and North ward so it's only a very short drive to Townsvilles' iconic strand and beachfront . The room was of a good size , clean and quiet with good facilities . Would happily recommend .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagles97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the motel (pretending to be a resort) only to find the dourest receptionist you are likely to discover in a long time. She could not crack a smile if her life depended on it not to mention she did not acknowledge our presence until she finished some task on her computer that took a few minutes to do. The room we were given was supposed to have a nice outlook (room No. 137) but it certainly did not.

This room was a family unit but was very old and tired. Claimed to be a 3 star but closer to a 2 star. There was a TV in the main room with a DVD player which was not hooked up and never did work during our two day stay. The main bedroom had an old CRT TV also with a DVD player which was not hooked up. Why provide equipment that does not operate?

The air-conditioning was the older style units that were very ineffective. The place was not very clean. It was evident that the cleaning staff never cleans the exhaust fan in the bathroom as it was covered in dust.

Do not expect the staff to make up your bed while you are staying there. All they do is empty the garbage bin and nothing else. The beds are very hard and have very limited linen eg a set of sheets and a single cover.

While there is a restaurant there and the food is passable expect to pay a high cost for it plus credit card fees. Breakfast was not included in the room rate of $210 per night. I did check this out a return to the dour receptionist who said we could pay for it if we wanted it. But why bother when you can go down town and have a great breakfast with nice views.

Watch out for the fact that when you book they take the full stay amount immediately they have your credit card details making it very hard to cancel and get your money back. Clearly they do this because they know people would not want to stay for any length of time. We were that disappointed we would have left after the first night if they had not taken our full money at the time of booking.

We would not have selected this establishment only it was recommended by a single colleague who had stayed there a couple of times since it was near his work area. This place is located at a considerable distance from the town centre and offers nothing in the way of entertainment.

I will never be staying here again.

Room Tip: Unhelpful reception staff so good luck trying to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a company event. It's a 5-10 minute drive to the marina area.

Rooms are clean and comfortable although pretty standard motel quality. Grounds are very good and pool bar is a great spot to meet before and after dinner.

Definitely better than most places I have stayed in Townsville.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
1.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
798 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#6 of 41 in Townsville
316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagulls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagulls Resort

Address: 74 The Esplanade, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $83 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seagulls Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seagulls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagulls Resort Townsville
Seagulls Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing