We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”
Review of Seagulls Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seagulls Resort
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent an overnight stay recently at seagulls and found the room and facilities to be quite OK . The hotel is located in-between Belgian gardens and North ward so it's only a very short drive to Townsvilles' iconic strand and beachfront . The room was of a good size , clean and quiet with good facilities . Would happily recommend .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eagles97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at the motel (pretending to be a resort) only to find the dourest receptionist you are likely to discover in a long time. She could not crack a smile if her life depended on it not to mention she did not acknowledge our presence until she finished some task on her computer that took a few minutes to do. The room we were given was supposed to have a nice outlook (room No. 137) but it certainly did not.

This room was a family unit but was very old and tired. Claimed to be a 3 star but closer to a 2 star. There was a TV in the main room with a DVD player which was not hooked up and never did work during our two day stay. The main bedroom had an old CRT TV also with a DVD player which was not hooked up. Why provide equipment that does not operate?

The air-conditioning was the older style units that were very ineffective. The place was not very clean. It was evident that the cleaning staff never cleans the exhaust fan in the bathroom as it was covered in dust.

Do not expect the staff to make up your bed while you are staying there. All they do is empty the garbage bin and nothing else. The beds are very hard and have very limited linen eg a set of sheets and a single cover.

While there is a restaurant there and the food is passable expect to pay a high cost for it plus credit card fees. Breakfast was not included in the room rate of $210 per night. I did check this out a return to the dour receptionist who said we could pay for it if we wanted it. But why bother when you can go down town and have a great breakfast with nice views.

Watch out for the fact that when you book they take the full stay amount immediately they have your credit card details making it very hard to cancel and get your money back. Clearly they do this because they know people would not want to stay for any length of time. We were that disappointed we would have left after the first night if they had not taken our full money at the time of booking.

We would not have selected this establishment only it was recommended by a single colleague who had stayed there a couple of times since it was near his work area. This place is located at a considerable distance from the town centre and offers nothing in the way of entertainment.

I will never be staying here again.

Room Tip: Unhelpful reception staff so good luck trying to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a company event. It's a 5-10 minute drive to the marina area.

Rooms are clean and comfortable although pretty standard motel quality. Grounds are very good and pool bar is a great spot to meet before and after dinner.

Definitely better than most places I have stayed in Townsville.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Seagulls Resort is a nice little place to stay. It's not exactly in the middle of town but it is only a short drive to the town centre, marina, shops etc. It is set in lush surroundings around a pool area.

PROS

- comfortable beds
- mini fridge provided
- tea and coffee facilities
- has adequate clothes hanging space
- has an iron and ironing board
- hair dryer provided
- bathroom was quite nice
- has free-to-air TV and free Austel
- Has a nice restaurant for lunch/dinner
- has nice surroundings and a pool
- has a kid's play area
- has plenty of on-site parking
- has ceiling fan and adjustable air-conditioning
- service was quite friendly
- free Wi Fi. (You need to go to reception and ask for your user name and password. They give you a voucher for up to 8 hours. It has a price on it, but you are not charged. You need to log off when you have finished using the internet as it is a timed voucher. Each time you log on you will have to input your user name and password, so don't lose it. Average download speed recorded as 0.2Mb/s and upload speed 0.2Mb/s. If you run out, get another voucher.

CONS

- no in-room safe provided
- not many drawers for clothes
- breakfast not really great for the $20 price. It consisted of the same menu everyday:
* juice/coffee/tea
* range of cereals
* poached eggs and ham
* pancakes with maple syrup/muffins
* toast/jams

Other: There is a café and bakery just across the road.

Room Tip: Get one away from restaurant and kid's play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roddlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed 2, nights in a very nice room . The surroundings were absolutely gorgeous a wonderful place to relax. We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely the service was fantastic and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The resort is an easy walk to The Strand which has chafes and restaurants and a lovely beach and parks.
Perfect for families with pools as well
Loved it and highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was very nice only recently refurbished and a very reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazzav60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and the room was average, though it was clean.
The grounds are really exceptional with the numerous trees and plants. The room we were in could do with being renovated as it was definitely in need of updating. The hotel is located quite a distance (too far to walk)from the main section of Townsville. I paid for the Wi - Fi but the reception was non-existent and the lady at the desk who was very helpful returned my money as she told us that the reception was very poor in certain rooms. If visiting Townsville again we would use a hotel closer to the main area.
John and Morag Kerr.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Even on a soggy, stormy, rainy day -- the grounds are absolutely beautiful.
From the moment we arrived, service was terrific. Front desk (Kim) was so welcoming and cheerful and helpful! The room was great, and VERY clean, bedding and linen were cozy. Great WiFi reception. As we were leaving today, under stormy skies, the fellow at front desk went out of his way to look up travel info and route updates for us...much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
1.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
798 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#6 of 41 in Townsville
316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagulls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagulls Resort

Address: 74 The Esplanade, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $83 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seagulls Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seagulls Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagulls Resort Townsville
Seagulls Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing