We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun family weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ville Resort-Casino
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Mackay
1 review
“Fun family weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

What a great location to stay in townsville with great food & Amenities (the kids loved the pool). The footy package was great value for money, An all around good way to spend a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_andersen2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    292
    135
    42
    27
See reviews for
129
269
30
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

I stayed one night, arrived 7pm and left 8am. Was told on arrival that a hold would be placed on my credit card for the room cost and an additional $100 for incidentals. I've come across this type of policy on a few occasions during my travels and can only assume it reflects a large number of denied cards at check-out? Dodgey guests? It is particularly frustrating that the hold can take some days to clear. This can be a real pain to business travellers who rely on corporate cards with modest limits. I've had a card declined in the past because the previous hotel still had a hold on it.

The room itself was fine, although dated. It was a standard (superior) room, clean and a decent size, with a great ocean view to wake up to. Room service options for dinner were limited and the meal just average. Buffet breakfast was standard fare with nothing special. Poached eggs sitting in hot water for so long they were rcok solid. Staff were indifferent.

All up, it's just an average hotel, with average rates ($165 incl b/fast), so I got what was paid for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernRiversNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Credit card was debited both on arrival and departure without the first debit being reversed.

When the hotel was contacted on the second day after departure to queastion this I was told by the Duty Manager that it took 2-3 days for the first debit to be cancelled as this was thier arrangement with the NAB. I have not found this to be the case in other top rate hotels I have stayed in and I would consider this to be no more than a rort, or in fact theft as someone is holding money to which they have no entitlement, either the hotel or their bank.
I will certainly not be staying at this establishment in the future, and would advise other travellers to check this policy befor checking into this hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damitj, Hotel Sales at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Thank you for your valuable feedback and your comments have been taken on board. We are currently reviewing the systems we have in place with our financial institution to ensure their banking procedures do not negatively impact on our guests. We are sorry for any miscommunication on our part and the inconvenience caused to you and we hope we can welcome you back to Jupiters Townsville in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

On arrival, champagne on ice, luscious chocolates and a stunning room with views across the marina to Magnetic Island- WOW!
Then a relaxing freshen up with the luxury Mor toiletries and off to dinner@ Jupiter's "Essence" fine dining restaurant. This was an exquisite dining experience with attentive, stylish service, beautiful food and to finish, a surprise "Happy Anniversary" mini Choc torte to share!
Next morning, we woke late, to discover a perfect blue sky day and sparkling pool below, when those drapes were opened.
We headed downstairs to breakfast at "Aqua"- where there was a vast array of fresh fruits etc and full English and Continental breakfasts available, with all the trimmings.
What a special place to celebrate a wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasqueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damitj, Hotel Sales at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
We at Jupiters are delighted to hear your wedding anniversary was one to remember! We hope this is the first of many celebrations at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

My Husband and I decided to take a well earnt 3 night break to Townsville. We were contemplating booking an apartment but decided not cook! The casino was chosen as our destination - 3 restaurants to choose from. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who carried our luggage to the main desk. It got better! The receptionist was bright and cherry, full of useful information and informed us of our upgrade. This was a surprise as we had booked a package that was already GREAT value. Our room was 1916 - from opening the door the WOW factor was there. The room had been totally refurbished was tastefully decorated, a bathroom to die for... we were obviously over the moon. Our experiences with staff throughout the complex during our 3 day stay were all wonderful, down to the poor barman that had managed to get himself badly sunburnt.
The room upgrade was great but what really made our stay was the friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4funGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damitj, Hotel Sales at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide some wonderful feedback. We are delighted that your stay was memorable and that our staff exceeded your service expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jupiters in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville QLD Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

We paid $595.00 for a one night stay in the presedential suite Room Number 1901 (Best room in the hotel) It was not worth the money, the decor looks old & worn (Carpet needs replacing & is torn in one area near the bathroom) The window near the spa was cracked, the room had not been cleaned properly (There were hand towels in the bathroom with a previous guests hair still on them) The 24hr menu near the phone in the dining room had snot stuck to one of the pages (Disgusting) The nicest thing about the room was the view and the spa area (Allthough the spa itself is old and needs to be updated) I have read other peoples reviews about Jupiters in Townsville and I would have to agree that the staff there can be quite rude at times, on check in I had to go over to reception to ask what the problem was as they were mucking my wife around, I did not get any answers as to why they were taking so long and they ignored me until they were ready to serve me, I was very close to asking for a manager to make a complaint but was not in the mood for an argument or to be kept waiting any longer, further more the next day we had breakfast brought up to the room and had been supplied with empty salt & pepper shakers (what sort of staff don't check these things before bringing them up to the room?) I regret tipping the room service bloke before checking the food tray myself, also on check out we had to call for a porter three times before one arrived, In my opionion quite a few supervisors of the different departments of the hotel are not doing their jobs e.g. room cleaning are not doing their jobs, they should be making sure that the rooms are cleaned to acceptable standards, after all that's supposed to be what you are paying for in the room price, also the hotel reception staff could do with improving their customer service skills & attitudes, they should realise that customers staying at Jupiters is what pays their wages, room service should be checking food trays before delivering to the rooms, room maintenance such as cracked windows & torn carpet should be replaced, this is all common sense stuff and all points to one direction - MANAGEMENT!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secure1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damitj, Hotel Sales at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
We sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback. We are disappointed to hear your stay was not as it should have been. Please be assured that our Management team take complaints very seriously and steps have been taken to address your concerns. We hope that we are able to welcome you back to Jupiters in the near future and that your stay exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

When we arrived we were greeted with a breakfast discount voucher which was nice, we used this to get breakfast which was nice although still reasonably expensive. The room was nice with a good view, minibar and fridge. Although the bathroom was dated it was clean. The only bad point was that there was no safety deposit box in the room but these are available at reception. We ate at the casino cafe which was cheap but tasty. The casino staff were polite and friendly. There was also plenty free parking onsite. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damitj, Hotel Sales at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, March 22, 2010
Thank you for your positive review of Jupiters Townsville and for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. We are pleased your stay was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jupiters in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ville Resort-Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ville Resort-Casino

Property: The Ville Resort-Casino
Address: Sir Leslie Thiess Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
#7 Family Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ville Resort-Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is currently undergoing a $35 million redevelopment. Extensive works to the property may include noise and closure or relocation of some facilities. These may include the Hotel and Casino entrance and restaurants. Please note that the hotel pool and rear lawns are currently closed during construction. The stunning results of these upgrades will include an infinity-edge pool with swim-up bar and private cabanas, new functions/events areas as well as new restaurants, bars and extensive decking – all with views to Magnetic Island. General construction works are restricted between 7am - 6.30pm Monday through to Saturday, with noisy works being restricted to the hours of 9am – 5pm. The Ville Resort - Casino is superbly located on the Townsville breakwater and overlooks magnificent Magnetic Island, the Coral Sea and Townsville City. The property is within walking distance of the Magnetic Island Ferry terminal, the CBD, the restaurant precincts of Palmer and Flinders Streets and Townsville's award-winning beachfront, The Strand. There is so much to do - so much to see in Townsville and The Ville is a "hot spot" for lifestyle and holidaying in the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ville Resort-Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Townsville Hotel And Casino
Jupiters Townsville Hotel Townsville
Jupiters Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing