We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Icon & now they have Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ville Resort-Casino
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We had a great surprise when we stayed here after visiting Townsville some years ago. Stay at the Casino was the only option in Townsville as the town has little else to offer. It was a great surprise to find that our suite has been totally renovated. It couldnt have made for a better stay. We were happy to extended for a second night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeca321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 798 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2009

I've stayed at Jupiters 20+ times since visiting Townsville as a Sales Rep in the last 3 years - and although I've complained numerous times, they always put me in the smoking rooms, that haven't been refurbished and usually only floor up from all the contruction work.

Some rooms have been renovated - if they haven't - expected the peach coloured enamel bathrooms, with shower curtains that don't stop the water splashing out and super slippery tiles. Aircon that doesn't adjust, really bad accoustics / sound proofing, poor TV reception. Room service is okay - but patchy - fairly decent menu but often overcooked seafood, soggy chips and melted desserts.

Breakfast is a complete ripoff - you're much better off going into town to one of the Cafes.

Interesting note - I complained to the GM on my second last visit and was offered a complimentary upgrade on my return. Which was great - my next trip where I was travelling with my boss, we were upgraded from a Twin Room to a Executive King Room complete with Champage and Strawberries - but only one bed. When we called down to say we would need 2 beds - were told that the hotel was fully booked, as were all of the rollaway beds.... Made for a very cozy business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy6328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed one night on the executive level. The view was good, the room had been updated with new bathroom and was very pleasant. The service, foyer and facilities were awful. We had coffees and hot chocolates with guests on the pool deck after returning to the hotel from a function. The pool deck was the only suitable place and all the drinks were very slow coming and luke warm. YUK - no reaction at all from staff when it was raised. Could only get a buffet breakfast for $25 per head - no a-la-carte so could not get coffee and toast in the hotel unless we paid $25 each. Great, inexpensive breakfast was enjoyed at C'est Si Bonne on the Strand. Stay somewhere on the Strand - there are good places to eat and stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guests24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We had a superior room, and stayed one night. Spacious room, a nice location, we had an ocean view. We went to the casino downstairs and it was great to be able to just walk upstairs to your room.
We had a snack at the cafe downstairs which was nice, with friendly and helpful staff. We also had a buffet breakfast in the Aqua restaurant, some of the food was a little cold, but otherwise nice.
Overall a little expensive to stay, we would stay there again if we were going to the casino.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May whilst attending a conference. On check in we were told we had been upgraded from a delux room to executive with a view of the pier. The hotel was in a great location - easy access to the ferry to magnatic island and the strand. We did not really use the resturants on site so can't comment however did order in a gourmet pizza which was delicious. The room was neat and tidy. Something we found odd however was the bathroom it has a glass window which you can see into and you need to use the control to put the blind down if you want some privacy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sahota_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We were lucky enough to stay in a suite which was fantastic. Sensational views in all directions. Very clean and locely decor. Could not fault the service at the hotel either.
On a previous night when they were fully booked and needed accommodation, the staff went far beyond in trying to find us alternate accommodation

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We chose to stay at Jupiters on a recent overnight business trip to Townsville. We normally stay in another part of town but our business was at the convention centre and the casino is right next door which is very convenient.

For the price paid for the room I was not disappointed, there was space to stretch out and relax and the bathroom was well proportioned. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the minibar items were priced reasonably (still expensive but not as bad as some I have seen).

My only disappointment for the stay was the quality of the in house restaurant Aqua. I am not sure what the target market for this restaurant is but it certainly isn't me and to be honest I am not that fussy. Its a smorgasbord/cafeteria type set-up and to be honest I have had better fare at my local RSL club. The decor is also "cafeteria like" which doesn't encourage diners to sit around and enjoy the ambiance but the prices charged were expensive considering the quality of the meal.

Since Jupiters is a bit of a walk away from other dining options I will probably give this place a miss for our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 8,500,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
487 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ville Resort-Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ville Resort-Casino

Address: Sir Leslie Thiess Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
#7 Family Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $81 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ville Resort-Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are entering the final exciting stages of our 40 million dollar redevelopment, and as such you may experience some construction noise or closure of some facilities. Please note that currently the hotel pool and rear lawns are closed however there is a nearby local pool available for hotel guests to enjoy. The Ville Resort - Casino is superbly located on the Townsville breakwater and overlooks magnificent Magnetic Island, the Coral Sea and Townsville City. The property is within walking distance of the Magnetic Island Ferry terminal, the CBD, the restaurant precincts of Palmer and Flinders Streets and Townsville's award-winning beachfront, The Strand. There is so much to do - so much to see in Townsville and The Ville is a "hot spot" for lifestyle and holidaying in the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ville Resort-Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Townsville Hotel And Casino
Jupiters Townsville Hotel Townsville
Jupiters Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing