We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ville Resort-Casino
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight on 23 May. The room was quite spacious, bed very comfortable and views were terrific. The pool was beautiful although we didn't have the opportunity to use it.
Staff on check-in and check-out were very friendly as were the staff in the restaurant.
Meals in Spin Restaurant were relatively cheap and the buffet breakfast was excellent.
Will stay here again when next in Townsville and would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear radar18,
It is great to read you enjoyed your recent Jupiters Townsville experience, thank you for writing your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Jupiters Townsville stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    309
    144
    48
    29
See reviews for
137
287
32
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights before the Easter long Weekend, We were not advised at the time of booking that there was a pool function to be held that night. It was a very loud affair with a Dj which unfortunately the music seemed to be facing towards the guest rooms with, a big let down for our first nights stay, we did make a complaint to the Duty Manager, although very empathetic and out of his control our complaint was handled very well with a room rate reduction, a nice gesture especially paying for an Executive room.
The room was well appointed has an Ipod dock with an excellent bathroom along with Robes and beautiful bath products.TV selection was average although we didnt spend alot of time looking at it.
Skip the room service meunu and head down to the breakfast buffet you will definitely get value for money and a better selection.
When booking we found that you may get better value in a package deal something to consider,but it is worth upgrading to an Executive level (18/19th floors) escpecially with Ocean views, would book again as I believe this is one of Townsvilles best Hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Kreenie,
Thank you for your positive review of Jupiters Townsville and for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We are pleased the majority of your stay was enjoyable, and that you appreciated our recently renovated Executive level room. It was dissappointing to read you were inconvenienced by a noise disturbance caused as a result of the function taking place on our back lawn, it was pleasing to see though the duty manager was able to assist you with a suitable outcome. Secondly with regards to your comments about our package deals, you do make exceptional savings when purchasing package accomodation deals, these deals are offered periodically throughout the year, and it always to pay to ask our reservations agent when next booking your accomodations at Jupiters Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I wanted to get a decent coffee at 7.10am and the only place available was Aqua. I was charged 37.90 for 2 cups of watery instant coffee. At that time this was the only place in Jupiters open and even though I stated I only wanted coffee I was still charged this ludicrous price. This pricing structure needs to be reviewed. Also Spin cafe does not open until 9.00am and even if I wanted to eat there I would not have been able to take my son as he is not 18. Think about it Jupiters!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear GoldCoastTez,
We appreciate you feedback, we apologise for your frustrations at not being able to get a freshly brewed coffee. We had noticed we were missing the service of coffee before our opening hours of Spin Cafe for our valued guests, as a result we have recently installed an Espresso machine our Lobby Shop, with coffee's being made from 7am for your enjoyment. For breakfast dining options when travelling with minors, we have two options available the full buffett breakfast in Aqua or we have a complete menu available through our inroom dining.
Once again, i thank you for your review and we would like to have the opprotunity to welcome you back if you choose to stay at Jupiters Townsville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

On advice from colleagues I stayed at Jupiters and as recommended paid the extra $30 to get the better quality rooms. Beautiful room, the bath with the spillover waterfall feature was memorable. Room service food was excellent - the moreton bay bug pizza with caramelised onion is a must try.

Service was super polite and professional - a rarity outside of capital cities. I had a problem with my door and it was taken care promptly. My only negative was the car park is outside rather than under the building but again the staff were excellent and ensured my bags were brought up.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Kerri54321,
It was great to read your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our recently renovated Executive level rooms. We look forward to hearing from you after your next Jupiters Townsville experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for his 21st, he decided he didnt want a partner just to spend time with me as we have a new baby.

We're from cairns and there were so many delays on the roads, what was supposed to be a 4 hour drive, turned into about 5-6 hours.

Check in was fine nice people, though the carpark is a little bit of a hike to the hotel with luggage. We were very hungry so we ordered room service, they told me about 45 minutes, which is quite a while if you ask me.
Anyway that was fine we waited. When we got the food about 50 minutes later is was cold! Mind you they were sandwiches but they were served with chips which where cold. The food wasn't great but we were starving so we ate it.

We went down to the casino, which was having renovations so most of it was cut off and it was very small. We stayed there for awhile going in between our room and the casino, playing slots, drinking and what not. We got a cocktail at the bar in the casino, and obviously those girls where picked for looks, they cant make a cocktail at all. It was so bad i didnt even drink it just left it on the table.

We weren't going to let anything ruin our night we were having a pretty good night. Then out of nowhere a dj starts playing and the casino turns into a dancefloor? Never heard of that if i wanted a nightclub i'd go to one. So that just completely ruined the atmosphere, we went to our room and went to bed.

Woke up in the morning and left, got maccas on the way home that was good! Dont get me wrong im not spoilt, rarely do we get to stay at hotels or even get a night alone, definetly not a place i would stay or gamble again. Nice views though

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank erinoconnor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Cordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Erinoconnor91,
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we are disappointed to read your expectations were not met on your recent visit to Jupiters Townsville, your comments have been taken on board, in aprtiuclar your feedback regarding the entertainment in our Casino, we are constantly working on creating a fun entertaining atmosphere for our customers. You mentioned that our Casino was under renovations during your visit we are sorry for any miscommunication on our part the area sections off was badly damaged during Cyclone Yasi, and did take a few weeks to repair and get back on track.
Once again, we thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope we can welcome you back to Jupiters Townsville in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My Husband and I chose to stay with Jupiters in Townsville for the weekend of our wedding, It was actually back in March 2009! We had booked the Executive Suites and had friends who done the sneaky and went in earlier after the Ceremony to set it up with rose petals and all the likes... The Suite was absolutly beautiful! The Bath was heaven in a tub!! I dont think we left the room once over the weekend, Oh except for our Full Body Massages Downstairs near the Pool Area!! The bed was pure heaven as well. We also had some Honeymoon Photography done using the room as the location and the photos turned out just beautiful!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taheki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Taheki,
Thank you for taking the time to provide some wonderful feedback. A belated congratulations and we are delighted that your stay was memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Jupiters in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Rooms, hotel and pool are all good. The breakfast buffet was great - they even have T2 teas. Atmosphere was good and staff very accomodating and even let us have a late checkout. We got room service at 2am one night and it came quickly and was reasonably priced. You can easily walk to the cbd and the strand from here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulzieJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MareeMcCahon, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear JulzieJ1,
Thank you for leaving your review about Jupiters Townsville. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your recent Jupiters Townsville experience. I have forwarded your praise of our team and Aqua to our management team for their knowledge.
Once again, I thank you and I look forward to hearing from you after your next Jupiters Townsville visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
3.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ville Resort-Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ville Resort-Casino

Property: The Ville Resort-Casino
Address: Sir Leslie Thiess Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
#7 Family Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ville Resort-Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is currently undergoing a $35 million redevelopment. Extensive works to the property may include noise and closure or relocation of some facilities. These may include the Hotel and Casino entrance and restaurants. Please note that the hotel pool and rear lawns are currently closed during construction. The stunning results of these upgrades will include an infinity-edge pool with swim-up bar and private cabanas, new functions/events areas as well as new restaurants, bars and extensive decking – all with views to Magnetic Island. General construction works are restricted between 7am - 6.30pm Monday through to Saturday, with noisy works being restricted to the hours of 9am – 5pm. The Ville Resort - Casino is superbly located on the Townsville breakwater and overlooks magnificent Magnetic Island, the Coral Sea and Townsville City. The property is within walking distance of the Magnetic Island Ferry terminal, the CBD, the restaurant precincts of Palmer and Flinders Streets and Townsville's award-winning beachfront, The Strand. There is so much to do - so much to see in Townsville and The Ville is a "hot spot" for lifestyle and holidaying in the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ville Resort-Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Townsville Hotel And Casino
Jupiters Townsville Hotel Townsville
Jupiters Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing