We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Nights in Townsville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 Nights in Townsville”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My recent visit found this hotel to be average in most areas.
Rooms were clean & tidy and quite reasonable - Breakfast was average - Food was basic/tasty but good value from restaurant and room service. Location was excellent for our purpose. The sauna was out of order when I went to use it which was a disappointment. A big upside for this hotel is the beautiful Sharna at reception. One of the most efficient, bubbly, knowledgeable and helpful front counter staff I have encountered anywhere in the world. All in all this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    227
    102
    42
    31
See reviews for
110
163
63
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and thought the room was quite nice but pretty small. We were upgraded for free on arrival and the room appeared to have been fairly newly renovated and everything was pretty fresh. The queen size bed was comfortable and the room had all the mod cons including a DVD player. Like the rest of the room, the bathroom was pretty small but clean. There was also a desk with chair and a lounge type chair as well.

Check in was smooth and the staff were all very friendly and efficient. There is a laundry room with a washing machine and dryer that were free to use. In the basement is a swimming pool and spa but the water was cool and uninviting.

Right next door is a coffee shop with direct entry from the hotel and the breakfast was OK.

The hotel is pretty conveniently located downtown and there are some nice restaurants nearby and other attractions are within easy walking distance. There is also free off-street parking.

All in all, nice small room, great staff and good value, conveniently located hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blu_Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I found our room to be all that we wanted. It was clean and tidy; great shower and quiet neighbours. Our room was a good size; had a comfortable bed and the cost was reasonable. Fortunately we had breakfast included from the restaurant downstairs. The location was great! In fact it could not of been better. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Close to lift and not to high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb010F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this motel on the 18 sept, the rooms are small but for the price very reasonable. The reception staff were very friendly. Only negative was traffic noise in our room. It was so loud I thought the window was open.
We also ate at the restaurant which was basic menu but value for money. I think if your room was on the other side not Stanley St the noise wouldn't be such an issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozmurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

You should be aware that there was a deal at the time that if you left a good review here you got a late checkout!

The good: Good air con. Quick walk to shops and restaurants. Good tv, desk and lounge chair. Nice bathroom.

The bad: No hand towel. Sounded like the window was open, could hear very noisy traffic all night and thanks to thin walls could hear other guests as well as someone having a very late night shower thanks to the roaring of the water pipes accompanied by a high pitched squeak. Also the window was right by some lights with inadequate blinds. Must have woken up about 20 times.

The ugly: There was a thin Doona in the bed without a cover that was between two flat sheets. Found myself touching the bare doona a few times which was disgusting and totally unacceptable, could see other people's hairs and dirt in it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

the hotel was good, but it would be good to have the correct address on the confirmation the actual entry is in Stanley street!!!! we drove around for 20 mins before accidently seeing the entrance!!!!!!!


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kieren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very nice, clean Hotel, close to Woolworths, but no shops open after 5:30pm close by if you need some food to buy. We got a great deal for accom which included breakfast for our 5 night stay. It was a continental breakfast, but had excellent choice, toast, coffee,various tea, several types of cereal, fruist, pastries ,baked beans, and yogurts. Very yummy. We were happy to also have free Wi-Fi, and you can also borrow DVD's. Have to say that the staff we dealt with were the best we have had at any stay at other hotels. Our booking with Sharna over the phone was a pleasure, extremely helpful, and Jodi on our arrival was very accommodating, pleasant and helpful also. Will without a doubt have a favourable comment or two to say about the staff and hotel and not hesitate to refer others here or stay again.
Getting around from the hotel, there is a bus stop across the road which had a bus come by every ten minutes during the week, but on weekend a various times. Close by to the Mall, you can walk there in few minutes. Staff at Café were happy to help and give assistance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.1 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#22 of 41 in Townsville
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Plaza Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Plaza Townsville

Property: Chifley Plaza Townsville
Address: Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
#8 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#11 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Plaza Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chifley Plaza Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of Townsville's shopping and business district, just 10 minutes drive from the airport, and 2 minutes to the beach.The hotel offers a range of guest rooms and suites - all are non-smoking with individually controlled air conditioning, wireless internet, TV, DVD Player, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Plaza Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing