We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only good thing about this hotel is the location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The only good thing about this hotel is the location...”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night in April to attend a wedding, fantastic location if you are after something in the city...but that's about it.

The rooms smell incredibly musty, and with no balcony you can really air out the room. The bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab...made for a long night! The room I stayed in was very old looking, the only new thing in there would be the tv. The bathroom was average, but they didn't even bother to give me a fresh toilet roll...I was using the left overs from the previous guests...gross!!!

I would not stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    227
    102
    42
    31
See reviews for
110
163
63
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Room was up to standard for a family room but ants were everywhere in our bed over the cupboards even after complaining still nothing done , THE POOL absolitely needs overhaul it was disgusting spa & sauna broken it was so claustropobic & stuffy no air flow roof broken over chlorinated what a hugh let down even kids did not enjoy the swim, front desk service fantastic can not fault their service. But the resturant side was terrible. over cooked breakfast more smiling and less of a dont want to be bothered attitude will really consider if we return the paid car park was nothing but a broken down neglected building that was open to the public abyway & cost $10 per night should be uncluded with the amount of accomodation avatl need to perhaps come up to standard of service from front counter

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns, qld
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for work enroute to Cairns. From the moment I walked in the hotel I was made to feel like I was on holiday. I was met with a genuine, warm friendly smile from the receptionist, Sharna. I have worked for 10 years in tourism and can say that she is one of most professional receptionists I have met. I did not feel like a number- but a valued customer. Nothing was to much trouble, and the upgrade was awesome as it was a slow night.

The hotel is situated within walking distance of everything and right opposite the police station so everything is convenient yet a feeling security and safety.

I had room service which was also delivered by Sharna. I tell you what, if management don't look after her she will get poached!






  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Chifley Plaza Hotel Townsville is in a central location. Self serve breakfast of cereal, toast, yogurt & muffins was included there was the option for the cooked menu in the well equipped cafe'. I would give four points for the room although at times there was noise from the mall however when you stay in such a centralised location some noise is expected and I slept well regardless. The pool area, particularly the lights on the roof needed renovating and towels were not left near the pool so if you forgot the towel you had to hike back upstairs.
Sharna one of the receptionists promptly assisted me with admin services and recommended some great dishes from the bar.
The bar food was part of room service and the food and service were great.
Overall, I had a great stay in Townsville!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemplen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

im a busy mom who does alot shift work so when i rang around to last minute book our accommondation for townsville everything was booked out or no one answered.
What i like about this hotel is that reception is open 24/7 when you need something their always happy to help, room service, towels, toilet paper etc. The rooms were clean very average well for the price it was worth the money. There was a very very bad smell on the 5th floor and in our rooms but being people who dont say much we left it till the next day hopping it would go away but the smell of wet carpet and towels get worser. i mentioned this to reception and Janet was fantatic. We got two free rooms upgrade no questions asked what Great customer service is that. i would have love to stay on the 5th floor tho but floor 3 was beautiful too.

The restaurant: for the two mornings only one staff there was warm and welcoming she smile and made us feel comfortable. there was one staff whom stared at us for a while even coming over and questioned us before taking our buffet food vouchure off us. Breakfast was fulling tho.

Will be returning!!! this hotel is right in the centre if the city, next to the cinemas, castle hill and much much more.

Management you have a great hard working/caring team in customer service please buy them lunch or something for their excellent customer service. i will be recommending this to all my famlies and friends for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XaiyaxangLuLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is situated in the CBD and is a short walk to the town centre. Reception is pleasant enough, attained up a couple of steps at the front door. The staff were friendly and attentive. The room was a nice suprise, tastefully decorated with a large comfortable bed, sofa chair with foot stool. writing desk, bag table and a good sized modern TV. The bathroom although small was wll presented and had a large rectangular shower head, however the water pressure varied considerably. The bathroom was clean but there is evidence of mould in the grout in the shower. Window coverings in my room was provided by a wooden timber blind, other rooms also provided a curtain over the blind, mine did not and allowed street light in. Street noise was noticable but not troubling. A/C worked well. TV remote worked well also a nice change. The pool was open but the sauna was broken. There was NO complimentary in house movies.

Room Tip: Secure undercover parking is in the next block in an old disused shop, and is limited, but it was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezzaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I travel a lot and stay in many motels, a lot these days offer new modern facilities however forget the important things like service and cleanliness. Too often we stay at a brand new motel and the rooms look like they have been cleaned by a child. The Plaza is not one of these, the rooms on the third floor are very nicely renovated, clean, great value for money and the young lady at reception, Sharna was the most helpful, polite and efficient hotel staff member we have come across in a long time. Thanks for the stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenTeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.1 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#22 of 41 in Townsville
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Plaza Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Plaza Townsville

Property: Chifley Plaza Townsville
Address: Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
#8 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#11 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Plaza Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chifley Plaza Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of Townsville's shopping and business district, just 10 minutes drive from the airport, and 2 minutes to the beach.The hotel offers a range of guest rooms and suites - all are non-smoking with individually controlled air conditioning, wireless internet, TV, DVD Player, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Plaza Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing