We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
1 review
“Location and price”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of the CBD. Location was perfect and the price was very good. I paid $93.00 for a lovely refurbished room on level 3. The Cafe Breakfast was good, although busy, but it is the city. Rooms had very good AC which was nice in Townsville. Will recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    227
    102
    42
    31
See reviews for
110
163
63
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed at the Chifley over the new year period and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived around 930pm on Sunday night and were met by a very friendly and bubbly girl at reception who was more then happy to assist us with our queries. The room we stayed was the executive suit and it was lovely. Nice big comfy bed and a beautiful spa.

The parking location was a little different but however they have only recently changed parking locations I am sure these will be improved in the near future. The noise level from the street was bearable but considering the time of year and location was expected.

The breakfast was incredible and would strongly recommend.

Would recommend this hotel to family and friends and will stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_mac357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Right in the middle of town, the noise was terrible, not only street noise but also from the adjoining apartments, we were woken at 5.45am with people laughing and carrying on next door and the street noise kept us awake till late at night. The apartment had new furnishings which were really nice but the walls had large chunks of paint coming off, the carpets and the built in desks were very badly stained. The light switches had their covers off and the toilet floor hadn’t been swept and had dust and hair on it. The bed was really comfortable, but with all noise it was impossible to sleep. There is no car park, so we had to find a park on the road outside. While we were eating downstairs, we had a drunk walk in and relieve himself on the floor, he then walked up to the table next to us and tried to start a fight. I wouldn’t recommend here at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janngary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Located in the centre of the city the plaza hotel was fantastic place to stay. We were able to walk where ever we needed to go as everything was so close, shopping, restaurants, night life, local attractions and more. In was fantastic!! As for the hotel its self the services was great the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a decent size and were very comfortable! I will definately be recommended this hotel and would definately choose to stay here again if I return to Townsville! Have had a fantastic holiday :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahalyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Was well looked after was easly checked in great friendly service from janet room was well suited to my needs janet helped with local information i needed the meals were great value more then i could eat would definatly stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My car broke down just out of Townsville and the repair shop dropped me in the City and I stumbled on the Chifley Plaza. Excellent service, had a lovely large meal for dinner and a very comfy modern room. Rate was very reasonable at 125 including a cooked breakfast, which was great, long story short, car got fixed but I was not as sorry I broke down. I will make a point to stop here next trip on my own accord.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

After driving from Cairns we arrived at the property tired and needing to be refreshed!
We were greeted by the lovely receptionist who kindly upgraded our room. Also found the male employee on night shift very friendly. We loved the room as it was modern and extremely clean. Although the bathroom was small it was fitted brilliantly and the shower was amazing! Loved the nice dark furniture and touch lamps were a great touch. The bed was very comfy!! We really appreciated the 24 hour reception. Didnt get to use the pool but we will soon as we are definitely coming back. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.1 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#22 of 41 in Townsville
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Plaza Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Plaza Townsville

Property: Chifley Plaza Townsville
Address: Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
#8 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#11 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Plaza Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chifley Plaza Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of Townsville's shopping and business district, just 10 minutes drive from the airport, and 2 minutes to the beach.The hotel offers a range of guest rooms and suites - all are non-smoking with individually controlled air conditioning, wireless internet, TV, DVD Player, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Plaza Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing