We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great location and good value for your money but some reservations!.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chifley Plaza Townsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chifley Plaza Townsville to your Saves list
Chifley Plaza Townsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A great location and good value for your money but some reservations!.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Based on tripadvisors reviews we felt we would stay at the Chifley Plaza Hotel. It was a bit hard to find as it is known as "The Plaza" to the locals. We requested a quiet room on our booking but were given a room opposite the lift and over the street so it was quite noisy. However it was renovated and clean. On our return visit a week later we did get the quiet room (as I spoke to reception on the first check out). It was a much older room but lovely and quiet and we had great views to the city and beyond.
You have to park in the street - around the corner - and there is no ramp for cases and only one lift works!
However the rates are excellent, the breakfast and coffee superb and Flinders Markets - on Sundays - are around the corner. The staff are also very nice.

Room Tip: When you check in stress you would like a quiet room even if you have put this on your booking form.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManager2000, General Manager at Chifley Plaza Townsville, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thankyou for your review. I hope we can accommodate you again in the future. The Cotters Markets are a great asset for the City and they are growing in strength as the City comes alive around them. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    149
    72
    34
    25
See reviews for
76
115
38
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Awful room, bed had bugs. Bathroom tiles cracked, hall smelt like rotten cockroaches. Girl at the check in desk was not helpful or friendly. (Girl on checkout was friendly, Asian background). Breakfast was however very good! I think we got an old manky room, they should be consistent and update all of them. Yuck.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank losbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our second stay at this property, we booked an executive room including breakfast. These rooms have had a great makeover, very fresh & clean with lovely furnishings. The staff are friendly and helpful, and its excellent value to add the breakfast option to your booking.
The hotel doesn't have parking but we have parked on the street on both occasions with no problems. The restaurant doesn't have a lot of seating but there is an excellent menu and the food is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

As a value for money, this hotel fits the category. The rooms were under $100 per night and the standard was very acceptable. The Restaraunt was open from 7am for a very good continental breakfast (which we upgraded to cooked for a small extras fee) and the staff were all friendly. We used the hotel as a base for a "boys" long weekend and would recommend it to anyone on a budget. Easy access to most restaraunts, clubs and shops. No complaints.

Room Tip: The top floor had better rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timberl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a fine hotel to use as a stopover, or as a base while exploring Townsville. We paid $99 for one night and that included a "continental" buffet breakfast for 2 (very filling - cereals, yoghurts, fruits, muffins, baked beans, toast, juices, coffee etc).

We stayed on the 4th floor which was a bit old both in the hallways and the room - chipped paint, scuffmarks, odd stains on the carpet, etc - but it was a perfectly functional, if plain, normal hotel room with a comfortable bed.

People from, or familiar with, Townsville may laugh at my next comments, but this was our first time here:

I didn't like the fact that there was no security lock inside the room - no way to bolt or chain the door.

And as there was no safe available in the room, we called the desk to ask if we could store our laptop in their safe while we went out. The person who answered seemed surprised at the question but said "Yes, I guess you could put it in our personal safe." However, when we went down to the desk, the young girl there told us that we should leave it in our room since "no one is going to go in your room but you!". We said we'd prefer it to be in a safe, which seemed to puzzle her, but she took it -- and immediately put it down on the desk to answer a phone call. We waited about 5 minutes, hoping to see her put it safely away (where it was, anyone walking by on the way into the bar could have grabbed it), but finally gave up as the phone call seemed endless, and hoped for the best. When we asked for it later that night, the same girl "couldn't remember where she'd left the keys to the safe" and so asked us to come back in 10 or 15 minutes. ???!!! Luckily she found them and all was well.

The downtown area immediately around this hotel seems quite abandoned, with many shops closed and boarded up.
We went for a walk past the museum and over to The Strand - about 10-15 minutes away, which was lovely. However, we wouldn't have felt comfortable walking the same first 5 or 6 blocks if it was dark.

There is a bus stop right across the street, though, and one of the buses goes to the ferry terminal, our next day's destination, so this was quite handy. There is also a grocery store only about two blocks away.

We had a beer or 2 in the bar, which was pleasant enough, though a bit like an American sports bar, with all the tvs.

To go out to dinner that night on Palmer Street, we probably could have walked, but being unsure of the area, took a cab there and back - inexpensive and quick!

In summary, it's a good hotel at a great price. I'd definitely stay here again as a stopover, although probably not for a holiday destination in itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnB99az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed in July. The room was fine it was well presented, clean & the bed was comfortable, the location perfect, staff welcoming and the breakfast was fantastic. If you wanted to be really critical you could find fault but really is not like you are buying the property ... friends moved from their hotel to ours after they heard ours was better value and from their comments ours was nicer !!

Room Tip: ask for Excecutive with buffet breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in town for a night with the kids to go to the footy, great stay, thanks to Natalia who was very helpful, had a great tome and found everything very good. Great breakfast, sorry about the mess.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#6 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#4 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Plaza Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Plaza Townsville

Property: Chifley Plaza Townsville
Address: Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#11 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Plaza Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chifley Plaza Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of Townsville's shopping and business district, just 10 minutes drive from the airport, and 2 minutes to the beach.The hotel offers a range of guest rooms and suites - all are non-smoking with individually controlled air conditioning, wireless internet, TV, DVD Player, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Chifley Plaza Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing