We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Rowdy Youngsters In Hotel”
Review of Quest Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Townsville
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and on the second night "trailer trash" people were running along corridor shouting and disturbing residents.
I was woken at midnight, 0300, 0500 and finaly when went for breakfast was abused by these people at 0700hrs as they shouted from balcony.
Several of my work collegues were disturbed by these people and complained but nothing was done. Sorry they may have been told to calm down but it was obvious that they were not intereted.
I was told that they had been dealt with when I complained but when I went for breakfast saw and heard them shouting abuse from balcony.
Went back to reception and was told they were being asked to leave.
I do not know how many times these people were told but it did not matter to them, they should have been thrown out at the first sign of noise.
The whole of my works team were disturbed and sleep deprived the next day at work.
The No Party Policy at this hotel failed.

Rest of review rooms were functional and starting to show there age. Nice view over harbour, perfect spot for restaurants.

Room Tip: Keep away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QTownsville, General Manager at Quest Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear ShaunScotland,

Thank you for your feedback.

Quest Townsville does have 24 hour reception, that when made aware, will respond to disturbances.
The guest's you are referring to were evicted from the property. Initially they were warned and then given time to pack their belongings.

We hope that you do come and stay with us at Quest Townsville again.

Kind regards,

Larissa Nielsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 478 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hi, I stayed at this place once and will not come back... I payed for an apartment for one night that was ment to be on an upper level.. When we arrived finding parking was terrible and not a nice experience.. Upon check-in we received an upper level room but when we went inside it had not even been cleaned from the previous people staying there.. We where moved but to level one even though we had payed for the room on a higher level.. It was not as clean as I would have expected and extremely noisy throughout the nice with both traffic and people yelling.. The staff where ok however I do not appreciate being told we have paid on a different card to what we had... We are not the type to complain however for the location and price this was a terrible choice.. I have travelled a lot and I can say this is one place I do not recommend..

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mine2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QTownsville, General Manager at Quest Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear JessicaV,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I’m saddens us to hear of your experience at Quest Townsville.
The reservation was booked and paid via our website for a studio room , no request was made for a high floor with the booking.
Due to the inconvenience on check in with the room not being ready you were given an upgrade to a larger room type and a discount on your booking, we are sorry that you left feeling disappointed.

Thank you again for your honest feedback.

Kind regards,

Larissa Nielsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Exceeded our expectations. Nothing a bother for staff. Clean and tidy. No oven but microwave more than sufficient. Woolworths over walking bridge Stokes Street. Definitely stay here again if we came back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelockAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, General Manager at Quest Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Lovelock Australia,

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Quest Townsville.
It is great to receive feedback about our staff, this is the level of service we strive to provide.

Our microwaves in the One & Two Bedroom apartments are also convectional ovens, I have been told they are fabulous for baking.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Quest Townsville.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Larissa Nielsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great views over the yacht club and mariner. Lots of eateries of all types on the street below .Rooms were well sized and fitted out very well .Try to avoid a room near the lifts if you like to sleep in.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, Guest Relations Manager at Quest Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you Ted58 we appreciate you taking the time to write your review. One of our most favoured features of Quest Townsville is our balcony's overlooking the Marina, and to watch the sunrise over Cleveland Bay in the early mornings.

It's true, with 80 spaces available, parking can still be a squeeze on our busier nights. We recommend to see reception if you are unable to locate a space, we are usually able to arrange suitable double parking.

Thanks again for your review, we look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Jodi Hamilton
Business Development Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

In amongst the restaurants & pubs this hotel offers secure parking, generously sized rooms & very comfortable beds. 24hr reception is a bonus too. I only stayed 1 night but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, General Manager at Quest Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear BlueyT,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on Quest Townsville.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Larissa Nielsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The location is very convenient to access? It is within a great hub of restaurants and pubs at 5 minute walking distance. Walk a little further and you have more restaurants and cafes at the centre of town. Rooms face onto an interesting boat harbour / marina. Plenty of off street secure parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, General Manager at Quest Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear AndrewG61,

We appreciate you taking the time to review Quest Townsville.
We hope we get to welcome you back again one day soon.

Kind regards,

Larissa Nielsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the week of our wedding two weeks ago. And we often stay here when in Townsville. The rooms are airy and fresh with the big veranda making the rooms that little bit nicer. All rooms have a water view.
The staff were super helpful throughout our stay. I left some items behind but the staff promptly called me and stored it in the safe until I could return.
Great customer service and great hotel all round.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaCross13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodi H, General Manager at Quest Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Congratulations on your wedding.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Quest Townsville and found our staff to be super helpful.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Larissa Nielsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
485 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Townsville

Address: 30-34 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $85 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Townsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Townsville, the business and extended stay specialists is located in the CBD and heart of the city’s dining precinct. Providing spacious 4.5 star accommodation, with 139 rooms (studio, one and two bedroom apartments) and chargeback facilities available to a variety of restaurants, we take pride in offering you a personalised service, quality accommodation and ensuring you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing