We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have booked again”
Review of Quest Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Townsville
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

There in May A great place to stay friendly staff, good parking ,easy to get to and placed in a great area
Liked it that much have booked for September

Room Tip: As high as possible and a 1 or 2 bedroom appartment is the go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 492 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at Quest Townsville recently while in town for business. The apartments are conveniently located on Palmer Street are there are plenty of eating and drinking options (some of which you can chargeback to your room) closeby and it is only a short stroll into the city centre.
Reception is staffed 24 hours a day and check in was fast and efficent, reception staff were also friendly and helpfully anytime I had questions.
While the studio room I had was resonably spacious and clean the funishings although in good condition were rather dated. The studio rooms had a bar fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster (no hotplates). The room also had a small balcony that overlooked the pool.
There is a washing machine that is accessible for guests and free off street parking. Internet is available at a cost!
However the biggest negative is the noise levels...as the rooms are accessed by an external corridoor/balcony which tiled the rooms are very noisy, you can hear suitcases rolling across tiles at all hours of the night...as well as niose room the street.
All in all Quest is an OK option as long as you arent a light sleeper but i would suggest that if you shop around there are better options in the area for the same price.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor may be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here recently. Rooms a bit run down and can be quite noisy at night. Better hotels in the area to choose from. Restaurant bistro one downstairs nothing to rave about either

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We just had 4 nights over Easter at the Quest Apartments in Townsville and I cant rate this hotel highly enough.
We booked a two bedroom suite which turned out to be two rooms with an adjoining door. This was perfect as we have two bathrooms, a full kitchen in one room, and a smaller kitchenette in the other .. Both rooms had a great view and were quiet during the day and at night
Check-in and Check-out were both smooth and hassle free. Reception staff were friendly and always willing to help …
Hotel is walking distance from the CBD and many restaurants with some of the close ones offering charge back (see review on Bistro One)
The swimming pool was beautiful and we swam everyday ..
All in all, the perfect place to stay in Townsville.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The rooms are very nice and open. Very close to many restaurants and attractions. The employees were very nice and extremely helpful with ideas of thing to do and places to see. The employees have pride in their hotel. I will be staying here as often as possible. Favorite part was waking up, making a cup of coffee, and watching the beautiful view of the sunrise each morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarKrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I am here now. Room is very clean, great facilities, comfortable and bed is great. If you have a family and you expect to be cooking all of the time the Quest has all the facilities but the room might be a bit small for the kids. There is just the two of us and it's perfect. There is also air con in the living area and bedroom and that's a godsend in Townsville. The staff are so friendly. The pool is great and there is a restaurant strip just downstairs. You can charge your meals back to the room in most of the restaurants so that is convenient. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32foreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights at Quest Townsville while visiting family up that way. As always I did my homework on Tripadvisor when choosing our accommodation and was very happy with what we got for the money. We had a studio room which as it turned out, was on the 8th floor and had an excellent view across the marina, towards Magnetic island and also down parts of Palmer St. I would suggest that those staying at this hotel request a room a few floors up - it's quieter and away from the occasional noise that comes from the streets below or from the hotel pool.

The room was not overly large but adequate - the kitchenette consists of a microwave, kettle, toaster, several cups, plates, bowls and saucers and cutlery and of course a kitchen sink. There is a small bar fridge that will fit the obligatory 2l Coke bottles inside.

The shower is large enough for two but there's only one shower head so you need to share that. :-) Hair dryer is mounted on the wall and the vanity has a good amount of storage space. There is an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe, the wardrobe having a small set of drawers and several coat hangers.

The room has an air conditioning unit that does a good job considering the heat of Townsville. There were two plastic chairs and a plastic table on the balcony.

Reception is 24hr which is handy, and in reception there is an array of pamphlets for tours and local attractions.

There is adequate undercover car parking.

No restaurant here but there is a chargeback facility for some of the nearby ones. Tip - the meals at the Shamrock Hotel across the road are good value bar meals and more than satisfactory.

The pool is smallish and the spa section was neither warmed nor did the jets work. Beside the pool there is an electric BBQ and outdoor furniture should you want to have a BBQ meal.

Our room was serviced each day.

All in all I found Quest to be well located and close to restaurants and things such as the Reef HQ aquarium, cafes and eateries and also the Magnetic Island ferry port. It is in my opinion an option worth considering in the CBD of Townsville if this is the sort of accommodation you want - though as with many places the choice of room could make a big difference to your stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view and away from the noise of the street below and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#10 of 41 in Townsville
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
432 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Townsville

Address: 30-34 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $87 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Townsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Townsville, the business and extended stay specialists is located in the CBD and heart of the city’s dining precinct. Providing spacious 4.5 star accommodation, with 139 rooms (studio, one and two bedroom apartments) and chargeback facilities available to a variety of restaurants, we take pride in offering you a personalised service, quality accommodation and ensuring you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing