We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Stayed here twice now, and between both times (with more than 6 months in between them) the place hasn't changed at all. The room decor is dated, TV etc is all dated and mid 90s. The bathroom was small and pokey. Can hear neighbouring rooms showering or flushing toilet if you are in the bathroom. Bed was comfortable but the airconditioning was too cold (tried to turn up the heat but it seemed to not do anything - and there are notices directing you to NOT turn off the aircon) - and there were no extra blankets in the room so didn't sleep that well. Ate from the 'casual dining' room service menu the first night which was mediocre to put it nicely. Second night ate at the restaurant across the road (Tuesday) and it was half price pizza and pasta - very nice meal and great service (and a third of the price of the overpriced in-house restaurant). Breakfast is good - usual hotel buffet fare. Overall, it is a decent place to stay - great location and ok rooms. But it does need an update pretty urgently if it wants to stay competitive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzyJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulTownsville, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Hi

Thanks for your comments. We have employed a new Chef with considerable hotel experience and have a new room service menu for implimentation in December 2010. The rooms are due for upgrade in early 2011 and we are currently working through all rooms upgrading the airconditioning controllers. Once again thanks for your comments

regards
Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Southbank Townsville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 504 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2010

This hotel does not live up to expectations from the Rydges chain nor its website. Dated interior, and one of the worst hotel beds I have stayed in; I woke up with a back ache every morning. Cleaning is substandard with stains here and there in rooms. Such a shame as the room I had was big, and the location is fantastic. Bearable for a work visit, I would stay with family or a significant other. The restaurant is good (but over priced) and don't bother with breakfast in the hotel, walk over the road to Bistro 1.

If and when this hotel is renovated, then it would be a much better place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bambooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulTownsville, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Hi

Thanks for your feedback. We are in the process of upgrading all rooms at this stage we have completed new beds in 28 rooms with the rest due in early 2011. We have implimented a new fresh breakfast buffet in November and have a new restaurant concept in the design stage and will keep TRIP Advisor updated.

Regards
Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I booked in for 2 nights at this hotel for a change to where I usually stay in Townsville and I was very disappointed. I felt that the price paid did not meet the quality of room I was given. The room was nothing like what I had seen in photos nor what I expected from this hotel chain. The decor was very dated, a few stains on the carpet and very thin pillows that made for a very uncomfortable sleep. The bathroom was in definite need of a makeover, the sink was cracked and the roof was quite low, luckily I am not a very tall person. The best part of my stay was the food, but it was very pricey also.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babybeatlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulTownsville, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Hi

Thanks for your comments. Rydges purchased the property in late 2009 and we are due to refurbishment in 2011, the bathroom size won't change, but with new basins, tap ware etc will improve the look and feel of the area. The restaurant is very popular with locals and visitors alike and we are proud of the high quality food we produce. Once agian thanks for your comments.

Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Room very old and tired. When you enter bathroom you feel in a box. Second lift (lateral one) is not recommended for usage as occasionally it can get blocked. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Mediocre breakfast, continental one with croissants that were of a very low quality.Cooked breakfast was boring (mine sites have much higher quality and diversity), fruit was not fresh. On a positive note dinner was surprising; Sydney Chef delivered some very good plates including very tasty desserts. This hotel is situated in the Palmer St. with a variety of restaurants and it is very central.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orsini70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulTownsville, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Hi

Since your stay we have refreshed the breakfast offerings and are recieving positive feedback. Our chef brigade are continually striving to provide exciting dinner menu's. The rooms will be upgraded in early 2011. We have not owned the property twelve months yet and with all refurbishment programmes it does take time. Pease keep looking at TRIP ADIVSOR for updates and once again thanks for the feedback.

Regards
Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed here for one night on the way to Cairns.
This hotel is a well located ,on the main drag but
it needs to be cleaned; it's very dusty (the rotin furniture is disgusting,with deep incrusted dust) and we found an unidentified big black insect in the room. My husband wanted to leave but the kids were already in the shower and we were too exhausted to look for another accommodation. When I told reception about it, they gave me free vouchers for breakfast...
At 6am,the alarm went off and we weren't able to go back to sleep after that.
Breakfast was good.
I wouldn't come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulTownsville, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Hi

Thanks you for taking the time to post feedback. We will be replacing all ratan furniture in 2011 we as a group purchased the hotel in November 2009 and are aware we need to refurbish the hotel. On a positive not I am glad you enjoyed the complimentry breakfast.

Thanks
Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Stayed at this hotel purely because it was on Palmer Street - restaurant capital of Townsville - but will not go back here. The rooms were very old and tired, cleanliness was only just OK, matress was in need of replacing (also too old)... I can not remember too much positive about it except for free parking below and the Palmers Street location. It is a shame, as this property has great potential if the owners decided to spend some money on it, but obviously Rydges as a management company is not too worried about letting the owners damage the Rydges brand by not putting any money back into the business. Shame.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlusting_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulTownsville, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Hi

Thanks for your feedback. Yes Rydges are keen to upgrade this property and as we have owned it only 6 months these refurbishment programs take time. The hotel is in an ideal location and once the refurbishment program is complete we look forward to welocming you back.

regards
Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The room I was in was very tired. Scuffs on the wall, paint peeled in the bathroom, concave mattress. Faux-wicker furniture which was reasonably clean at first glance, but deep dust enbedded in the 'wicker'.

The plumbing: creaked and whined everytime someone somewhere turned on the water.

The A/C too cold even when set at 28 degrees. A note taped to the wall said something like 'Please do not turn off the A/C because the warm tropical air causes the fire alarm to go off'. Excuse me, it is winter, even in the tropics.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langhorne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulTownsville, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

Hi

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on TRIP ADVISOR, I am pleased to advise that the beds are in process of being replaced, the furniture will be upgraded in 2011 and the painting of all rooms has commenced.

look forward to welcoming you back once completed.

Thanks
Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#15 of 41 in Townsville
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#16 of 41 in Townsville
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Townsville Central Hotel
Townsville Central Hotel
#19 of 41 in Townsville
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $83 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing