We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges Townsville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Proserpine, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rydges Townsville”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good for an over night stay. Close to great eating venues, town centre and markets on Sunday. Undercover parking limited.- and if busy outside parking can be difficult. Rooms are clean and 'nice'. Everyone friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Robyn P, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at Rydges Southbank Townsville. We appreciate receiving guest feedback as it allows us to work on improving guest satisfaction. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back some time in the near future.
Regards,
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    167
    140
    71
    48
See reviews for
76
119
35
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on 27, 28, 29 September. Very expensive due to country music festival, but the price is way over priced. I understand they can bump up the price due to the festival but the property must be of at least an average standard.

We paid 700 for three nights accomadation in a standard room. The beds are comfortable but they are only about 4 and half feet seriously. They def are not built for any adult that is 5ft or taller.

The roof in the room in parts looks like it is all falling in. Big gaps between the roofing and the support bars holding it up. Wether the support bars are all bent out of shape or the roof sections between the support bars are all water logged.

Don't expect to watch a on demand movie on the tv because there are none.

The bathroom. What hotel has a shower curtain these days. The shower curtain does not even reach the ground. It stops about 1 foot above the ground hence making the shower curtain not serving its purpose, to prevent water from going onto the tiles. The shower curtain is only being mounted by a couple of screws and shower curtain mounting will break if someone pulled on it with a little bit of force. The mounting is hanging down low. The bathroom window has no fly screen in it at all allowing bugs to come
in.

Breakfast. We had our doubts about breakfast from the first day we saw it. $24.95 per person... Pricy which is alright as long as the food is there to substantiate the price in this case it wasn't. Out of the 3 possible breakfast we had, 2 breakfasts were had at holiday inn about 1km away. Much nicer and better variety for a lower price of $19.00 per person with real coffees (as many as you want) for free. I highly recommend breakfast at holiday inn. We did have breakfast at Rydges on our last day and it was shocking. Overpriced and bland. Hash browns and bacons were dripping in oil. Hollandaise sauce was more like plastic cream cheese. Scrambled eggs was like a milkshake on a plate. Fried eggs... There were none. You could have what is called coffee but I would much rather have a Mcdonalds coffee. Fruit was all brown looking and bruised.

Car parking at the hotel is extremely limited. You
may have to park on the street.

General hotel/motel corridors and public spaces are very old and outdated looking. Don't know how this hotel got a 4.5 star rating. I really don't coz it is more like a generous 3

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank someone255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear someone255068, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at Rydges Southbank Townsville. Receiving feedback such as this allows us to prioritise increasing guest satisfaction within certain areas. Our rates for the Country Music festival weekend were based on demand within Townsville City accommodation providers. I have notified our maintenance manager regarding the room issues you have noted. The bedding configuration in the room that was booked was for 2 x standard double beds. We have two complimentary movie channels however we do not have nor advertise movies on demand. Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards,
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just had a quick overnight stay, but everything worked. And when you are dog tired, to have a hotel check you in in less than 2 minutes is ace. In the room, no problems. My room was next to the lift but no noise at all.

There were many features I did not use, but it looks like a nice hotel. Definitely worth a repeat visit for a longer stay.

It is just a little far from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TypeYourNameHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us at Rydges Southbank Townsville. We appreciate receiving feedback as it allows us to have insight into what we are doing for our guests. We would love to have you come and enjoy a longer stay with us on your next visit to Townsville! Once again, we appreciate your feedback.
Regards,
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

stayed at Rydges Southbank recently for a business trip. The reception staff was friendly and the room on first floor clean but could do with a good airing as it smelled a bit musty. The breakfast buffet was nice, I especially liked the fresh juice shooters. The restaurant staff was also friendly. Position wise the hotel was great, in walking distance of some nice restaurants and CBD. The bed was comfortable. If I was to travel to Townsville again, I would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Tina K,
Thank you for the recently stay and feedback and am glad that you had a fantastic stay with us. Our staff are surely our asset from reception to housekeeping to restaurant and am glad that you have recognized it. Those Juice shots are no doubt very popular in the restaurant and we receive great feedback in regards to newly renovated restaurant and rooms - beds etc..... I look forward to welcome you back with us.
Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed many times here and each time has been a good experience. We stayed 3 nights at Rydges Southbank on the 13th, 14th & 15th September. We were very pleased with the service both in the restaurant, cleaners & front counter (particularly Meeghan). I had meals on both Friday & Saturday night & they were good & great value for money. Breakfast has changed in the last couple of months for the better. We were very pleased.

Parking is free & as long as you get there early you will get a park, otherwise you can park close by. The beds are always comfortable & the rooms are clean. I don't think you can beat $99 per night, breakfast included & smack bang in the middle of city. So happy. Thanks Rydges :) Will be coming back.

Room Tip: Make sure you sign up to the Priority Club :) well worth the savings & its free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear EM88_12,
Thank you for the recent stay and feedback and am glad that you had a fantastic stay with us from staff to meals to cleanliness to beds... well.. what else can I say... Thank you!! I look forward to welcome you back with us.

Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

They pitched the hotel as "newly renovated", but it doesn't look like they spent much doing so. The bathroom, for example, had a lot of visible wear on the sink and the shower floor. And who renovates a bathroom and puts a shower curtain in?

The room itself was satisfactory. It was clean and had a comfortable bed and flat screen TV but the addition of an in room safe would help. The location is very good with plenty of places to eat or have a drink within an easy walking distance even if you walk over the bridge.

The staff at the front desk were helpful and polite even when I was checking out at 5am! Still, overall it was a little disappointing and Rydges Southbank won't be my hotel of choice next time I visit Townsville unless I can't find anything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Phil B,
Thank you for the recent stay and feedback. We have finished the complete rooms and restaurant refurbishment and bathrooms are the next phase of project. I do appreciate that you found rooms to be clean with comfortable beds with all modern necessities. We do have a safe located at reception for the more personalized service that is used by few of the guest to keep valuable etc.. so the guest have the freedom to enjoy the stay as we will look after for your valuables.- so next time please ask one of our friendly receptive staff to assist you. Our staff are surely our asset and am glad that you recognized and experienced this during your stay. Please allow me to welcome you back with us so you have a wonderful stay.

Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Always a great place to stay.
Some rooms are a little tired in appearance.
They are bringing it up to date.
The beds are very comfortable.
I have been staying there for the last 7 years and have always found it pleasant.

Room Tip: Sixth and Seventh Floor have the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Landy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mike_Landy,
Thank you for the recent stay and feedback. We have completely done the rooms and restaurant refurbishment and yes those Dream beds are very comfortable - Thank you.
I look forward to welcome you back with us.

Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#15 of 41 in Townsville
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Property: Rydges Southbank Townsville
Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing