We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, functional, comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here again this year for the V8 weekend and again found the hotel to be a comfortable, clean, friendly place to stay for a few days. The rooms are fresh and more than adequate, the beds are super comfy. I don't agree with other posters on the hotel being "tired" in the public areas or the bathrooms not being refurbed. The fact is the hotel is old but I experience internally is a hotel that has attended to the things that are important to me when I stay - is the bed comfortable, can I get sport and movies on TV, does the shower work properly, is it quiet at night, is check in easy .... on all of these points the hotel gets top marks. In fact even though the shower is over the bath (not a fav of mine) the actual shower was brilliant with strong water pressure and plenty hot water! It is always easy to pick fault in hotels of this age, my feedback on this one is that they have done a super job of working with what they have and focusing on the things that guest actually needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Michael, Thank you for the recent stay and feedback and its always great to see positive and constructive feedback coming. I am glad that you had a great time here with us during the V8's and that is exactly we always aim for, that is - Service and Friendly place to stay. We are surely receiving some great feedback after the refurbishment and yes beds are the best in town that I can guarantee. We will be slowly moving towards the bathroom refurbishment and looking forward for that. I look forward to welcome you back with us. Regards, Saurav Prasad - Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recently spent a week in these two bedroom apartments in South Townsville, NOT the main Rydges Hotel on Palmer Street, but their two bedroom unit style apartments on the street behind, MacIlwraith Street. Walking distance to Palmer Street through the Rydges carpark, less than five minutes to the main Palmer Street dining areas, many restaurant options quite close. The units were spacious and comfortable, air-conditioned, self-catering if that is your preference and serviced daily if required. Ample parking underneath for car and visitor parking. Check-in is at the main Rydges on Palmer. Security was good, exterior lighting a little ordinary, quite dark outside, but is a very quiet area at night, so not a real problem. There are about twelve units in this three story complex, which has a lift, and security foyer. We found it to be a very quiet area, and is also within 5- 10 minute walking distance to the city center restaurants. Very comfortable and convenient for small families, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60gbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and valued feedback. Its always great to see positive feedback and am glad that you and your family had a great time in our popular Apartments. The Apartments are no doubt very spacious and we have been maintaining them thoroughly just so that all our guests have a wonderful and most importantly a comfortable stay. I look forward to welcome you back with us at Rydges. Regards, Saurav Prasad - Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Greeted by a friendly reception. Although she did not recognise my RPG benefits. The corridor from the lift to the room looked like a tired hotel.
Once in the room the refurb was ok. The bathroom is a real let down. Tip to hotel management - don't refurb a room and leave the bathroom - do the whole room.
As I arrived late I dined in the Bar & Grill. Not many diners and still the service was a little unattentive. Food was good.
Very amusing when I asked if they did affogato's. The waitress said yes, then the 3 staff had a long discussion behind the bar about if anyone knew what an affagato was! (What do I expect - it was Townsville)
The room aircon had to be turned off as it couldn't be programmed to any setting other than on and cold. (No I didn't complain to reception at 10pm)
Breakfast was ok- standard hotel buffet fare. When will hotels include real coffee with their already overpriced buffets???
Checkout was clinical. The reception seemed more interested to remind me that was there was a surcharge for credit cards.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrizzieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback, and my sincere apologies for the issues you had during your stay. Rest assured that relevant staff have been spoken with starting from in regards to your PGR Card to affagato. Reception & Restaurant staff are very efficient in their individual areas and am surprised that you still had to face the facts. Our new Rise Breakfast concept is the most popular amongst the guest and even walk in guests and not sure why you did not like and found just "ok". Lastly, as courtesy the reception staff inform all guest about the surcharge on departure, so they can decide and choose how would they like to pay either cash or Eftpos and I think that's the kind of service we provide here at Rydges and we feel proud on. I look forward to welcome you back with us.
Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It seems since I last visited Rydges, things are on the improve. The rooms have been renovated, despite work still taking place on the lifts and foyer area (and the outside looks exactly the same). When we were there, there was only one lift operational, which was a little slow but not too bad. Rooms were comfortable and clean.
Breakfast has been changed and the food was excellent quality, and a great range. Pretty decent place to stay in Townsville.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzyJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for your your recent stay and your feedback, that you enjoyed your stay and meals. We surely have done the refurbish of our hotel rooms and restaurant and are receiving some amazing feedback on both ends. Lift upgrade is a part of our refurbishment which is due to end by next week and my apologies if your found it inconvenient during your stay. I will surely pass on your feedback to our chef and team and look forward to welcome you back again with us.

Regards,
Saurav Prasad
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A quality motel room at at reasonable price. The motel offers easy parking and upper rooms have a great view over Palmer Street and south Townsville.

Full breakfast in the morning is a rewarding meal, although the small serving dishes around the buffet mean the staff must be on the ball and keep the hot food coming. But, on the ball they are and the service is excellent!!

Great location, plenty of restaurants within waling distance along Palmer Street, as well as the fabulous in house Southbank Bar and Grill (Townsville's premier steakhouse).

Room Tip: As for a room upgrade to the upper levels looking east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUS22897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for a great review. The newly refurbished Southbank Grill has really been a hit with regular and new guests alike. Our new dinner menu launched this week (22/05) and the depth of great grill options really is a beef lovers delight. There's also some great game options and locally sourced seafood straight off the reef. I'm sure on your next stay you will be even more impressed.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel was of a high and excellent standard. The room was great and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the mall. The staff were friendly both in the front office and in the restaurant. We enjoyed the breakfast. Thank for making our stay great your up the with the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for your kind review Brian. Its very rewarding for the team when their efforts are made note of in forums such as this site. We're glad you enojoyed your stay. The location certainly is one of the many great features of the hotel. The proximity to the CBD and of course the many restaurants on Palmer st make it a very conveinient option for enjoying all that Townsville has to offer.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We met up with good friends for a weekend at Rydges 2 bedroom apartments in Townsville. The apartments are in the next street but walking distance to all of the restaurants in Palmer Street. The rooms were very spacious and the main bedroom had an ensuite with a spa bath. Kitchen with all appliances, laundry, spacious living area, quite a large balcony also. The tiles in the living area near the balcony door were a bit dangerous. A couple of tiles had been replaced and were higher than the others which made us trip on them. Of course the buffet breakfast at Rydges Townsville is always superb. We stay here quite often but this is our first time at the apartments. We will definately be doing this again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Lawrence. One key benefit of the apartments is that they are very generously sized. Given their location behind the hotel in McIlwraith street they are also pretty quiet. With full access to all of the hotel amenities, these apartments certainly are some of the best value in Townsville when it comes to self contained options.
We look forward to seeing you again shortly,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.1 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#10 of 41 in Townsville
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#23 of 41 in Townsville
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $71 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing