We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$96
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$113
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
City Oasis Inn(Townsville)(Great Value!)
$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Motel(North Ward)(Great Value!)
$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Crest Motel(Townsville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Townsville(Townsville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
74
178
149
74
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
178
149
74
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalmer streethotel is in a great locationrestaurant stripgood sizebed was very comfortablebuffet breakfastundercover parkingrefurbcheckinmarina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 531 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A quality motel room at at reasonable price. The motel offers easy parking and upper rooms have a great view over Palmer Street and south Townsville.

Full breakfast in the morning is a rewarding meal, although the small serving dishes around the buffet mean the staff must be on the ball and keep the hot food coming. But, on the ball they are and the service is excellent!!

Great location, plenty of restaurants within waling distance along Palmer Street, as well as the fabulous in house Southbank Bar and Grill (Townsville's premier steakhouse).

Room Tip: As for a room upgrade to the upper levels looking east.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUS22897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for a great review. The newly refurbished Southbank Grill has really been a hit with regular and new guests alike. Our new dinner menu launched this week (22/05) and the depth of great grill options really is a beef lovers delight. There's also some great game options and locally sourced seafood straight off the reef. I'm sure on your next stay you will be even more impressed.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel was of a high and excellent standard. The room was great and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the mall. The staff were friendly both in the front office and in the restaurant. We enjoyed the breakfast. Thank for making our stay great your up the with the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thanks for your kind review Brian. Its very rewarding for the team when their efforts are made note of in forums such as this site. We're glad you enojoyed your stay. The location certainly is one of the many great features of the hotel. The proximity to the CBD and of course the many restaurants on Palmer st make it a very conveinient option for enjoying all that Townsville has to offer.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We met up with good friends for a weekend at Rydges 2 bedroom apartments in Townsville. The apartments are in the next street but walking distance to all of the restaurants in Palmer Street. The rooms were very spacious and the main bedroom had an ensuite with a spa bath. Kitchen with all appliances, laundry, spacious living area, quite a large balcony also. The tiles in the living area near the balcony door were a bit dangerous. A couple of tiles had been replaced and were higher than the others which made us trip on them. Of course the buffet breakfast at Rydges Townsville is always superb. We stay here quite often but this is our first time at the apartments. We will definately be doing this again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks for your feedback Lawrence. One key benefit of the apartments is that they are very generously sized. Given their location behind the hotel in McIlwraith street they are also pretty quiet. With full access to all of the hotel amenities, these apartments certainly are some of the best value in Townsville when it comes to self contained options.
We look forward to seeing you again shortly,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Loved my stay and restaurant. Staff Excellent. Check in quick and so as check out. 24*7 Reception was helpful. Would surely return and hotel is close to all restaurants and joints. Beds are the most comfortable that I have slept in. Good Job.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sampras S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thanks again Sampras, we do enjoy having you stay with us will see you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on a flying visit to NQ. I had stayed previously some years ago so knew the area. We arrived late and had to wait some time for someone to come to the desk, despite staff being in the restaurant and seeing us there. The rooms were reasonable for the price we paid, and as we'd read the reviews were not surprised by the dated bathrooms. The bathroom linens were surprisingly small and one bathroom had very poor hot water. It took several minutes to get warm and no cold was necessary. The air conditioning in one of our rooms was not working which I'm sure they must have been aware of. However as we were only there for a few hours sleep at night, didn't get around to reporting it till we left. Would have appreciated an alarm clock in my room, but that was only a minor thing. bed was great. Basement parking was free and handy - even though it was closed when we arrived back late, they kindly showed us how to get in and created a space for us. Overall not fantastic, but more than adequate for our requirements.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Air conditioning is one thing you must have working in Far North Queensland and I do apologise that yours wasn't. I can assure you that we wouldn't check anyone into a room with a non-functioning air con, the last thing we want is to 'bake' our guests! We'll also follow up on the alarm clock, with our new block out curtains it can be difficult fumbling around for the time in a dark, strange room.
Many improvements have been made in the last 12 months including bedroom refurbishment, guest corridors, restaurant refurb, new HSIA & WIFI services and elevators are undergoing upgrades right now. We also have a new hot water system, so its strange you had hot water problems. The entire hotel is linked so it is strange to only have an issue in one room, we'll definitely look into it. Bathroom refurbishment is next on the list and we hope to see work commence later this year.
Regards,
Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews