We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay could have been great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Southbank Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Townsville
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Good stay could have been great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The apartments were good, the carpet and blinds were a bit stained but this didn't really effect our stay. The remote to the TV and one of the air cons didn't work. We stayed for 4 nights and during this time our apartment was not serviced. I wasn't that fussed about it not being serviced only that after 4 nights our bins were overflowing and there was no instructions or obvious place to empty them ourselves. I was expecting the apartment to be serviced on day 3 as per the letter on the wall but was disappointed when we arrived back from visiting relatives at 10pm to find out it hadn't. Our price included buffet breakfast which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we'd love if you could send us a little more info on your stay so we could follow up on the items you have mentioned. We don't have any 4 night breakfast included stays in our system for February?
We certainly strive for 'Great' and the issues you have encountered are disappointing. We'd love to follow them up to ensure our future guests don't encounter the same, and to make sure if you are heading back to Townsville, your next stay goes perfectly.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    162
    127
    64
    47
See reviews for
74
109
35
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charters Towers, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This property is on the coast near where I live, and whenever we travel there I stay at Rydges. It is welcoming, friendly, and best of all for our family, has a variety of rooms with different bedding, to cater to all needs, from queen bed through to family apartments. The hotel has a lovely restaurant, overlooking a beautiful shaded pool surrounded by tropical gardens. It is situated smack bang in the middle of a number of pubs and restaurants, and close to the city centre and nightclub strip. Rydges also has a rewards card system, sign up online for this and get discounts, free drinks and cheaper food. They also have web specials on accommodation, sometimes so low it is unreal.

Room Tip: Join the Rydges Priority Guest program and check online for specials for accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hey Jennifer, we love it when people do the selling for us! Thanks very much! You will always find our best available rate when booking online with a Priority guest membership and the 20% off dinner goes a long way these days!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Southbank on New Years Eve with a great deal for a superior room including breakfat and a late check out. The staff are very warm and welcoming and really do chat to you like they care about how your day has gone. We went to the basketball for the evening so we did not have a meal at the restaurant, but we did enjoy the complimetary drinks on the deck overlooking the pool. Breakfast in the morning was nice, the only thing I would say is that I would like to see a little more variety but I understand that it is a buffet breakfast and they do only have limited space. The room we stayed in was a superior room and had lovley furnishings. The only down side to the room we stayed in was that it did not have a renovated bathroom. Apart from that it was a lovely experiance. So lovely that I have booked us in to an executive suite for my birthday so this time we can enjoy the restaurant and get a sleep in the next morning!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review Kate, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll certainly look forward to your return. We've got a few new things happening at Brekkie since your stay over new years. Along with all the classic breakfast items, we've added a rotating special too. We're also doing a couple of different juice shots a day, this week we've even got Dragon fruit, mango and purple carrots. A new dinner menu is not too far off, I'm sure you will be impressed!
Thanks again,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location close to restaurants and the city heart. Unfortunately when we entered our room, we found it occupied. No embarrassing situations but not what we expected. The staff were great and upgraded us for the hassle. Rooms clean and comforable with only one of the tv's working. The air conditioning was effective but very noisy. For the price it was ok for an over nite stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyderama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We're sorry for the scare Floyderama! Our cheeky internet providers are currently installing a new system throughout the hotel and thought an extra room on their list wouldn't be a problem. Problem was it wasn't on ours! We're sorry for mix up. We're glad you enjoyed the upgrade though and the rest of your stay, thanks for the feedback.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here last year in one of the better rooms which had been refurbed, but this time I stayed in the cheaper standard rooms and was delighted to see the total refurb has been finished in all rooms.
The bathroom is still the same but it is quite OK with a big shower and great water pressure, plenty of hot water, nice and clean, lots of towels and nice toiletries.
The bed, as per usual for Rydges was super comfy.
They have new carpeting, flatscreen TV, new bar fridge and generally a nice overall modernisation, albeit some of the furniture like the desk is still there but somehow fits well in the room and looks good.
The rooms are spacious, the price incredibly fantastic for a hotel room in the city.
Restaurant still excellent, plenty of parking.
For price and value, proximity to city and The Strand, terrific restaurants literally on your doorstep, for a city stay this Hotel cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for coming back Kez and for the feedback on your latest stay, we're glad you enjoyed the new improvements. There has certainly been some big improvements and there are still a few more in the pipeline, bathrooms being the most important.
We'll look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I thought the place was great. I was a bit worried after reading some reviews, but my room was perfect for my stay. I was tired after a long drive, so loved that there was two free movie channels in the room. Service was great and location was smack bang in the middle of great bars and restaurants. Will absolutely go back and will recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mcdau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Gary. A lot has changed since refurbishment and we're glad you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed few days back and as usual loved the stay and now that the restaurant is completely refurb and opened.... loved the new Rise concept... not to forget the juice shots... amazing...
Reception Staff were welcoming and professional and always love to stay here.... will come back again...

Room Tip: If you don't have a breakfast package... ask reception for great offers and you get the same qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampras S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks Sampras, we're glad you appreciate the refurbishment works. It certainly has been a big improvement, breakfast in particular has been a real hit with our new and return guests.
I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#13 of 42 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Property: Rydges Southbank Townsville
Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing