We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Business Trip”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great room, comfy bed, excellent food ... close to everything .... great service ..... staff are very friendly and helpful ....nothing was an effort.on site parking.... perfect.....thanks you.. I will definately stay again

Room Tip: ask for water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Catering to corporate travellers is our specialty, we're glad you you had a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    166
    127
    69
    48
See reviews for
75
113
35
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here visiting family over Christmas, and I have to say FANTASTIC! Coming from NSW the Air conditioning was excellent, the rooms modern and fresh. I found the hotel is located in a great position, walking distance to many attractions including The Strand.

Breakfast was great each day, the room was made up and cleaned daily, with all staff friendly and helpful, all smiles.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_McLean6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas, it can certainly be a very hot time of year for guests traveling from the Southern states, but its also a great time of year to grab a bargain. Our restaurant is receiving some refurbishment work in November and the new breakfast concept will be complete in time for this Christmas. Its going to be amazing, stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first time to Rydges Townsville, but it definitely won't be the last. The GM Rob ( I think that's his name) and his staff were exceptional and I couldn't fault their service. The renovation looks great and the beds were extremely comfortable. The prices were very competitive and I'd happily recommend staying there. ps. Best steak in Townsville!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petemitchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for the feedback Pete, it was nice to meet you and your wife Charlie. We're glad you enjoyed your stay it was a pleasure having you, we hope you'll drop by the next time you Jet into Townsville.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights on the way to magnetic island. My kids enjoyed Rydges. The beds were really comfortable and far superior to the ones on magnetic island where we paid 3 times the price. The value for money here at Rydges was unbeatable. Nothing was too much trouble, late checkout and iPhone charger for loan (we had forgotten ours). It was a busy time of the year that we stayed: a long weekend coinciding with school holidays, and the only negative I can say is that they ran out of pool towels at reception and when I came back to get one, Jason at the front desk was overrun with people and phone calls so that I was ignored while my children turned blue outside...possibly they need an additional staff member on the front desk at peak times? As most reviewers have mentioned the bathrooms are worn but for the price I could easily overlook this. The location is on palmer street near eateries. We ate at outback jacks where children eat free during the school holidays and at bistro one across the road from the hotel but wasn't that impressed with it. We had breakfast at the hotel which was fine and again not much worse than the magnetic island hotel...and at half the price (I prepaid on the Internet as suggested on here). I can recommend the school holiday package for those wanting good value with two children but note that it takes about 15 minutes to walk to the Strand but otherwise this hotel is in a good location.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank happyforeverafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for your feedback, we're glad your family had an enjoyable stay. While typically known for being a corporate hotel, we've made a concerted effort to accommodate families too. The pool is certainly a great option to keep the kids occupied and with the Grill bar overlooking the pool, convenient for the adults to get some of their own leisure time in too! Make sure you check out the offers pages on Rydges.com, we have a couple of great packages for the family including 'kids eat free', 'Magnetic island Day tripper' and 'Reef HQ' Aquarium offers.
Thanks again,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I stayed here for two nights in a two bedroom apartment on our way through to Cairns. And as I had already booked for our trip back we stayed again for one night in a different room. They are located in the street behind the main hotel which was a good location as it is away from the noise but close enough to walk to things. The disappointment was that nothing worked. There were loose floor tiles, oven & grill door didn't close properly, spa didn't work (and when advised to reception on exit there was no recompense offered), toilets flushed on their own during the night. We used the washing machine in the laundry and it flooded up through the drain pipe leaving a bubbly slippery mess. We had breakfast over in the hotel and the staff were very inattentive and our table wasn't cleared once during our stay. Would definitely look elsewhere to stay in Townsville.

Room Tip: Don't stay in apartment 11 or 12 as both had several maintenance issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwithyoungones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for your feedback and also for taking the time to discuss your stay with us via phone. It is disappointing that you encountered these maintenance items in the 2 apartments you stayed, as mentioned, each had been addressed following your comments and I am confident should you return you will enjoy vast improvement.
We've also discussed your feedback with the Breakfast team, as you can see from previous comments it is out of character, we'll certainly keep working at it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Home Hill
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed with Rydges this week for a work trip, and I was the only one in my group who said I had a good nights rest....guesss what they all stayed at other hotels!!! Comfortable beds and pillows, nice makeover of the hotel, so rooms have fresh new carpets, paint and soft furnishings. Very nice, great price!!

Room Tip: Others also complained, they didn't get their breakfast in time to make our meeting. Southbank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Awesome Debbie! It's great to hear we've gotten a leg up on the competition following our refurb and that the service from our team that has served us so well hasn't slowed down any. You've pointed out one of the great features of our breakfast, it seems everyone is in a rush and we certainly strive to provide cafe quality breakfast on our buffet each day. PS- stay tuned for some exciting new changes- our breakfast buffet is getting a complete makeover this December!
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel is what I'd call 'adequate' for a one or two night stay. Not fantastic. Yes the corridors are a bit worn and the bathrooms need renovation. The bed was comfortable and clean. The staff were generally pleasant if seeming inexperienced. Its within walking distance of most places you want to go in Townsville. But the overwhelming impression I'm left with is that this would be ok for a 3 star hotel...but its not a 4 star hotel.

And $29 to access wifi is a rip off. In fact any hotel charging for wifi is ripping customers off, and we're on to it!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor at the back. Either way, if the uni or army recruits are pub crawling you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your feedback. Hotel Corridors received fresh paint and carpet as part of our completed renovations in August 2012. Bathroom works are being considered for the second stage with a commencement date to be decided.
Internet costs are based on download usage not whether they are wifi or datapoint. Half price internet is available for all Priority guest members and we also have a Corporate package which includes free internet. Our contract with a third party supplier is currently being re-negotiated and we look forward to faster and cheaper internet for all our guests.
Regards,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#14 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Property: Rydges Southbank Townsville
Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing