We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in great location”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed at this hotel last Tuesday night - staff were terrific, room was nice and clean and the hotel would easily have the best location in Townsville.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PortlandQuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks for such a positive review. Location and service certainly are our strong points and with refurb tentatively scheduled for Feb 12 the Rydges Townsville experience can only get better.
Cheers, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    166
    127
    69
    48
See reviews for
75
113
35
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goondiwindi, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Having stayed at the Rydges in Rotarua, NZ previously, we had high expectations of the Townsville version. We were very disappointed. The rooms were worn out with dents and scratches on every surface. The lift had graffiti carved into the wall, and on our last morning it stopped working completely. The buffet breakfast was uninspiring and customer service was more miss than hit. The foyer outside our room had an overpowering aroma of air freshener and inside the scent was musty. There was no point paying extra for a marina view, the greater part of which was the view of the hotel across the street. We paid $134 per night for a Queen Marina room (booked through the Rydges website which included a discount for Rydges Priority Guest members). This tariff included breakfast. We stayed 3 nights. I would recommend looking elsewhere if staying in Toowoomba. This hotel has changed my otherwise excellent perception of the Rydges chain.

Room Tip: A good room would be at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank are_we_there_yet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
The current scope of works for refubishment includes guest rooms and corridors and then the restaurant. New elevators are being installed as well. Looking at our recent responses, your service comments are very surprising, we'll certainly discuss with the team. Breakfast is seasonal and due for an overhaul in the coming weeks. Its disappointing that your stay has had such a negative impact on the Rydges brand, change is certainly on the way.
Regards, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Great Service and amazing staff.. Keep up the great work...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Cheers JP, we certainly will keep up the good work.
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The hotel is nice, friendly and helpful staff with a great cocktails selection at the bar ;-) the location is perfect within walking distance to practically everything. plenty of restaurants on palmer street and night clubs on the next street up. all in all a good hotel although it could do with a bit of upgrading. but as i understand, the hotel has been recently taken over by the new owners so i guess it takes some time to get everything new and fancy. i would def stay there again :-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilinca2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Location is one of the key attractions to staying at Rydges Southbank Townsville. I'm glad you enjoyed your experience in Southbank Grill and about those upgrades, there tentatively set for February 2012. We can't wait!
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have had some very ordinary experiences with business travel lately - but this has restored my faith a bit. It is true that the rooms are a bit on the worn and shabby side, and aren't particularly well appointed but the service was outstanding from start to finish. We worked in the restaurant dining room for most of the two days of our stay, which was infinitely more pleasant than working in a business centre (with a constant stream of flat whites from the very accommodating staff), and stuck around for drinkies and dinner at night. The restaurant (South Bank Grill) was nothing short of outstanding - if there is a better place to eat in Townsville then I'd like to see it. Excellent steaks, incredibly well done seafood, creative desserts, reasonable wine list and again - very good service. The place was packed for both drinks and dinner - understandably. Kudos to the hotel team!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Rydges Southbank certainly does its best to accommodate our corporate traveller needs. Along with refubishment plans in the hotel and restaurant, we will be improving our internet services and freshening up The Southbank Convention Centre. 2012 is going to be a very exciting year for aspects of Rydges Southbank Townsville. I will pass you comments on to the Restaurant staff, its very rewarding when that extra mile of service doesn't go unnoticed.
Cheers,
Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns aust
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

It was clean, but the rooms are in need of a revamp! Very old and worn. Breakfast Buffet was very average.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tink07_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments, the location on Palmer is one of the best in Townsville allowing convenient access to the city, Flinders st and the Magnetic island terninal.
Refurbishment plans are firmly underway beginning with guest rooms and corridors, and then on to the restaurant. We will take your comments for breakfast on board perhaps we need a change for the holidays? Cheers, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

l stayed here for a night and found the place to be a bit tired but clean and comfortable The bed , pillows and linen are superb The air conditioner had a terrible noise coming from it that l requested be seen to while we went out for an hour or two and when we returned the noise was just as bad We turned the air con off that solved the issue We had tea the Southbank Grill which was great and lovely meals and a great manager who gave us fantastic service Breakfast was great also and a very large selection on offer in a nice location

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyjCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. Its great to hear that you had such a pleasant dining experience at Southbank Grill for both dinner and breakfast. We have a new Manager on deck who is settling in really well, I have passed your comments on. We have recently undertaken an extensive preventative maintenance program for our air condtioning system. It is disappointing you still had troubles, we did require a contractor to investigate and later resolve the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#14 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Property: Rydges Southbank Townsville
Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing