We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but tired facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I spent a week at the Rydges as part of a business trip and found it adequate but not up to the standard I'd expected from the brand nor at the price.

The good things are the location, on the restaurant strip along Palmer Street, with easy walking distance of the CBD, and about a 20-30 minute taxi ride from the airport. My room (on the top floor) had a pleasant view of the creek and marina. The lifts worked, although one consistently showed the wrong floor on the display. The staff, especially on the reception desk, were friendly and generally obliging. The air conditioning in the room worked and could be adjusted manually and there was a window that could be opened for fresh air. There is a selection of ok restaurants nearby, with a good fish and chips shop on the corner, a number of popular beer and beef houses and a few "fine dining" places, but be aware that people eat early in that part of the world; you'll need a booking on weekends and will have trouble getting served after 7:30-8 pm.

The less good things are more numerous. The hotel facilities are badly in need of redecoration, both the public facilities and the rooms. The lobby is relatively small with limited seating or luggage space. There is a pool, but it is a shade of green which does not look appetising. Furnishing in the rooms is basic and rather shabby, giving the overall impression of not being entirely clean. Indeed, the paint work in the bathroom had some rather unappealing splatters on it. The mattress was saggy and in fact, was replaced during my stay, which was not quite as big an improvement as I'd hoped. The TV was an old cathode ray number and was not talking to the remote control.

The servicing of the rooms should have been better. Although there were two of us staying, we had to ask every night for an additional towel and face cloth. Toiletries were not always replaced (we twice ran out of shampoo) and we had the impression that we were given whatever the chamber maid grabbed from the trolley (multiple conditioner, no bath gel, although we saw some on the trolley). After-hours staffing apparently was limited to a single young woman, who not only had to manage reception but also staff housekeeping (it was the receptionist who brought our towels) and service the conference room (when we asked for a whiteboard without prior notice). My room overlooked the beer garden of the pub next door which was extremely noisy at night, especially on weekends. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was ok but pretty ordinary, with the TV blaring and the same menu served every day, including some odd presentations (have you ever tried to eat an unpeeled slice of kiwi fruit?). There is internet access in the room but it is very expensive ($30 for 24 hrs).

My company made the booking and felt that it was the best they could find without going to an inconvenient location. It could have been worse but it could also have been lots better, with a bit more attention to service and a little TLC for the facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NZDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for your detailed post. It is disappointing that you did not find the new beds to your liking. Rydges dream Beds have been installed across the majority of our hotels with great feedback to date. We do show the morning news weekdays for breakfast as many of our corporate guests have requested it. We have a new Executive Chef on board this month and a number of menu changes are on the way across all service periods and outlets. Our housekeeping procedures have been overhauled and we are beginning to see vast improvements in that department however there are still some teething issues evidenced in your stay.
As I have mentioned in many of the past reviews there have been an number of managerial changes at Rydges Townsville and refurbishment is now beginning. I have a great confidence that the service and experience is headed in the right direction.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

I share most of the negative comments made about the hotel. Room service was odd: sometimes things such as shampoo appeared, other times not. The breakfasts were standard hotel fare complete with tasteless buffets, poor bread and watery coffee. An effort had been made to supply some fresh fruit, although most of it came out of cans. Surprising, however, to slice up kiwi fruit without first taking off the skin!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Your feedback regarding room servicing will certainly be shared with the team. This is an area which is being focused on at present. I find your comments regarding breakfast a little surprising. There have been many changes in the last 3 weeks (June) particularly fresh fruit options. Currently there is no less than 5 diced fruit and 1 whole fruit each day. There is 3 tinned options. The bread is a selection of gourmet sliced options rather than your generic household loaves. We do serve potted coffee but our staff make fantastic espresso to order.
In the case of the kiwi, the fruit holds it shape better when cut in a bowl with the skin on, you can eat it like an orange slice. It does seem to be a hot topic however so we will look at removing the skin in the future. Further menu changes are on the way, we have a new Executive Chef on board this month.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

As a business traveller, I stayed for 2 nights in June 2011. Next time I will go back to Jupiters. Although it's in Palmer St with the fabulous restaurants and cafes, I was disappointed how run down it is.

The bathroom did not have a bath, only a very old shower. The room service food was excellent though with generous portions.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Soft refurbishment of the hotel has commenced with Rydges Dream beds in all rooms and new linen. LCD TVs will be installed in July once systems have been made digital ready. We do have baths available in suites and the apartments. Our renovations will certainly be centred around providing our corporate guests with modern and effective facilities. Our location is a great feature, Palmer st is a wonderful 'foodie' precinct. With regards to our competitors, our product is significantly different to Jupiters and clearly differentiated by price and star rating.
kind regards,
Rob McGufficke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The room was really outdated really it was the old 1970's tropical look and the lift was reaking with the smell of cleaning products like in a nursing home. Somebody needs to tell them to replace the fridge - old, battered and need of defrosting (I have no idea what the house-keeping/management are doing).And then we got hammered for a credit card surcharge just to top it all off- not a great experience at all. To be fair though it served its purpose with a good selection of places to dine near by and secure parking that was needed at night

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandN255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

It is disappointing that elements of a hotel may sometimes be overlooked. Management are not in every room everyday so sometimes it does take our guests honesty and feedback to get things moving more quickly. So for this I do thankyou.
There were a number of major changes in management in May and June and work has begun in rectifing many of the issues mentioned in yours and other guests postings. While the 'tropical' look does have a sense of nostalgia about it, it is a dated look that we are currently reviewing. Rydges Dream Beds and LCD's are the first of many modernisations for rooms, painting is soon to follow. There will be improvements in the coming months.
Thank you for your feedback,
Rob McGufficke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Was booked in as part of a business trip. On arrival was informed I'd been booked into an apartment as the hotel was full. The apartments are in a separate building a short walk from the hotel.

Reception staff was polite and efficient, and ensured I could find my way to the apartments.

Somehow managed to score a two bedroom apartment. Absolutely enormous for just little ol' me. Plenty of room with a large balcony included. Would easily accommodate two couples.

A bit disappointed with cleanliness - the balcony tiled floor was grubby, there were glass marks on the kitchen bench and one of the ensuite sinks, and the fridge interior needed a clean. Perhaps it was a last minute rush job to make the room available? Otherwise clean and tidy.

There were two TVs, but interestingly neither was digital. There was also no phone (unless it was very well hidden). For a one night business trip who cares, for longer this may have been annoying. Also could not find a tea towel, but used little crockery so didn't follow up (I'm sure I could have been provided with one had I asked).

Palmer Street location is excellent - restaurants aplenty. The restaurant buffet was typical motel / hotel fare - nothing exceptional, but plenty good enough for me.

If you were staying in Townsville and had family or travelling with others, and you didn't care much for telly, this would be worth a look.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. The apartments certainly are a great product especially for families or larger groups. From time to time we do upgrade our guests depending on the hotel occupancy. I have taken note of the 'quibbles' you experienced and will address accordingly. We are working closely with apartment owners to upgrade to digital TV's. There certainly should be phones in each apartment we will follow up just to make sure.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Was very disappointed with the room and look of hotel. Looks very old and untidy. Room was a horror. Surpieor room looked like a 1 star motel room. No furniture match. I even checked for bed bugs. Bathroom was always wet, never dried. Taps and silver were rusty and chipped. Was hard not to wear my shoes in shower. One small double bed and one chair. Standard on internet looked better but stil ugly. Never will I stay here again. Well disppointing as a Rydges Hotel.

Room Tip: If have to stay get Executive Room or dont stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

Soft refurbishment has begun on the hotel including new Rydges Dream beds and linen. LCD's will be installed in July 11 and painting will also take place in the new financial year. The restaurant has also been earmarked for renovation.
We do not have any rooms with singular double beds, all are queen and in our suites, King Size. Our twin rooms have all been upgraded to twin double beds.
Regards,
Rob McGufficke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Called in for faimily meal all was good untill my main.Tbone steak with chats potatoes arrived all going good untill potatoe skin turned out to be 25mm x 50mm material composite that had a very bitter taste associated with it.. Waitress was very appologetic but certainly no response from the shall i say cheif or Maitre D. A very poor meal from a restaurant that has the best steaks in town sign out front

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank rammy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMcGufficke, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

It is an unfortunate occurance when things other than food are found on our guests plates. However I can assure you that this is a very isolated incident. Our kitchens undergo stringent HACCP and food safe testing and are compliant in all aspects. All of our kitchen staff have food handling certificates.
I'm glad that your waiter offered an apology, given the seriousness of the incident, perhaps the Chef and the supervisor of duty should have also. Definately food for thought, thank you for your feedback.
Rob McGufficke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#10 of 41 in Townsville
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Southbank Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: $70 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing