We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge it by it's neighbours”
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't judge it by it's neighbours”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Arriving at this hotel you weave your way through a myriad of fast food outlets that is a bit off putting but once you get there it is actually very good and a bit if a surprise. Great pool, nice restaurant, good service, Ticks all the boxes. It is what is is, a good value hotel with the bonus of a great pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merde-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Merde-man
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Mercure Townsville during your recent stay.
We appreciate the time it takes to post a review and thank you for your positive comments.
We hope to welcome you back to the Mercure soon.
Kind regards
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Mercure Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    396
    190
    55
    30
See reviews for
217
282
83
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The staff here were very helpful & friendly and the meals were a big size (i had room service).
The rooms however let it down, and my room was on the bottom floor and was very noisy from people talking on the balcony upstairs & the screaming birds! The outdoor lights were left on all night also which did not help the sleeping goal. The pool looked lovely, but i didn't get a chance to go for a dip. Just make sure your not on the bottom level.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Kate
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Mercure Townsville. I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations this time.
I am extremely pleased that the team provided you with helpful and friendly service and that you enjoyed your room service meal.
Our reception team is available 24 hours a day and would have been more than happy to assist you with the issue you faced with noise, or even accommodate you with a room move if required.
Thanks again Kate we do appreciate the time it takes to post a review.
Kind regards
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Mercure Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was a most pleasant surprise. Near a main road but isolated by trees and a slip road, it was a most relaxing and pleasant hotel. Walking in through the breezy entrance way and past the pool and palm trees, it felt lie another world. The staff were all super-friendly as well as efficient. The room had everything we needed and was excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Alison
Thank you for your recent post about your stay at the Mercure Townsville, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
At the Mercure Townsville we strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and your review with encourage us to continue to do so.
Thanks again Alison we appreciate you taking the time to post this review.
Kind regards
Juanita Trickett
Assistant Manager
Mercure Townsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
3.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
562 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Property: Mercure Townsville
Address: 166 Woolcock Street, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing