We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Resort”
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Hobart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Resort”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Mercure Townsville has an open, wide and airy entrance with a restaurant on one side and reception on the other, with seating in the middle. The gardens are lush with palm tress and the accommodation blocks are curved around them. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the river. Some noise from planes at the nearby airport and from the sports bar, as State of Origin being televised that night, but otherwise quiet. Room was spacious with all amenities. There is a guest laundry and pool as well.
When we arrived in Charters Towers, my husband realised he had left his vest and jumper in the wardrobe. Thanks go to Katie on reception, who arranged for the clothing to be posted back home to us, which was most appreciated.
We chose this hotel as it was near to the place we were picking up a rental car the next day and also an Accor Club member.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tassiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Tassiebelle,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment on your recent stay at Mercure Townsville. Its always a pleasure to hear positive feedback.

I will share your comment onto Katie and our team. I am sure this will provide our team with encouragement to strive to continue an excellent guest experience.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Weller
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    385
    181
    54
    28
See reviews for
209
275
79
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is centrally located , and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. It just had the feel that it was need of a revamp. The rooms were comfortable and fairly standard. The food at the restaurant was very nice and the full breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Ryan B,

Thank you for your recent comment on your stay at Mercure Townsville.

Its always a pleasure to hear great feedback. Our team is always striving to provide an excellent experience for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

David Weller
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Venue ,accomodation great but my experience was totally devalued by my restraunt experience for both dinner and breakfast. dinner returned twice( manager intervened and did not charge) BUT breakfast next morning had to cancel order when no eggs available after 20mins. and the remaining buffet was tepid . As a Platinum men=mber my worst eating experience since joining Accor.. Staff were excellent and tried to appease - will not rush back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SAINT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Saint58,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments from your recent stay at Mercure Townsville.

I am disappointed to hear your stay didnt met your expectations. Your feedback has been forwarded onto the food and beverage department, which they are happy to hear to improve the quality of services.

We do value you has an Accor Platinum loyalty member and hope to see you again.

Yours Sincerely,

David Weller
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just a shame about the entrance and car park that really detracts from the presentation of the hotel. The room was adequate although the bathroom a bit cramped. The entry zone is spacious and relaxed a good place to relax after arriving back from the day out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyuncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear suzyuncool,

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay at Mercure Townsville.

The resorts entrance was designed to allow an open air and a spacious entry.

We appreciate your feedback.

Hope to see you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

David Weller
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

They had a full house for our stay and were busy, however,the staff were friendly, accommodating, nothing was
too difficult as we had appointments and wanted to leave luggage. The meals affordable
Complex situated close to shopping centres, very convenient Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank madonna186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear madonna186,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comment on your recent stay at Mercure Townsville.

We appreciate your great feedback, our teams goal is to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for every guest and family.

We hope to see you and your family again soon at Mercure Townsville.

Yours Sincerely,

David Weller
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The only issue is if you have lots of luggage. It is quite a distance to the rooms and some are upstairs so you have to get your luggage up and down stairs which is difficult especially with heavy luggage. The restaurant had great service and the staff were fantastic - the food was ok. Checking in and out was easy and no fuss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank daz_67-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear daz_67-69,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at Mercure Townsville.

We do have ground and 1st floor rooms at the resort, our team at reception are always willing to provide assistance for guests who have luggage.

We look forward to seeing you at the resort again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

David Weller
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

After a long day travelling we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Our room was nice, clean, and the bed comfortable. A walkway and some stairs to our room but there is a lift. We heard a noise about 1am and looked outside to see a large possum in the garden below. Checking in was efficient and we were asked if we needed help with our bags. The pool is beautiful and the water quality excellent so we had to go for a swim even though the water was a little cool. We had our dinner overlooking the pool and ordered barramundi. The first pieces of fish we ate were delicious however we both had 1 piece which was definitely not fish. It was so tough, meatlike and difficult to cut with a knife that my partner sent it back and it was replaced with another dish the same as the last one. I did not send mine back as I had eaten enough. We were told that the chef had changed the menu from barramundi to snapper but the tough pieces were not snapper or any fish that I know of. We decided not to pursue the matter and enjoyed the evening looking at the stars and chatting with people at the next table. The grounds are extensive and well kept and worth a walk around. Checkout was good and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear JanMushroom,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments from your recent stay at Mercure Townsville.

Our team strive to provide the highest quality of service and we appreciate your great feedback.

The possums are a local at the resort with other wildlife such as; curlew birds, white and black cockatoos which also can be seen around the resort.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to seeing you at the Mercure Townsville again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

David Weller
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Property: Mercure Townsville
Address: 166 Woolcock Street, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing