We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townsville Holiday”
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Tasmania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Townsville Holiday”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The stay was generally comfortable and enjoyable. The room was a little smaller than expected and lacked comfortable chairs for relaxation. It did have a small table with two dining type chairs. No outdoor seating near our room. There were no benches in the room or bathroom for puttin items. We had to make sure the toilet did not keep running after flushing.The pool area was beautiful- warm water, clean, well appointed and relaxing. Dining facilities varied. The food was generally very nice and good variety although we did have a couple of minor mix-ups with our orders. Meals took considerable time to arrive but were freshly cooked. and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kerri235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

You can opt to choose either our Deluxe Balcony Rooms or Family Rooms which offer all guests private seating areas overlooking our gardens and beautiful lake.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    395
    187
    55
    29
See reviews for
217
280
80
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay. We were there for a wedding that was held at the resort, the location of the ceremony was romantic and beautiful, food great and reception venue very well presented.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.
Loved relaxing by the pool and reading. Found it to be quiet and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank holzingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Holzingers,

Congratulations! I am sure you had a great wedding at Mercure Townsville. I am glad to hear that our staff made it memorable.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on a number of occasions. The staff always welcome us as friends and we were given a room upgrade. Restaurant staff were also very friendly and we had good service and great meals. We will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank holidaymouse52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear holidaymouse52,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to provide consistent service to all our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice stay but needs a lot of work to the rooms, very ran down. Entry foyer beautiful. Breakfast are not very big & people walking thru to room access. Constantly had to ask for things at breakfast. Staff lovely but don't fill thing up. No one helps with bags etc & outside stairs to access rooms

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Kym B,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Townsville. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I will be ensuring that we bring about a positive change in the quality of service provided at the restaurant during breakfast service. The staff at the Front Desk are always happy to ask help guests with their luggage, but it appears in your case this was not done. This has already been communicated to the guest services team.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Loved this as it had a really restful air at the end of 2 weeks of a different resort every night. It had a lovely family feel and all the rooms are located around a pool, spar, restaurant and bar. Overlooking a lake to the rear it has a fantastic open space foyer which gives the whole place a bigger feel than it has.

The day we were there it was hot hot hot so the shaded pool and ground floor (slightly dark) room was lovely and cool. We ate in the restaurant and the staff were chatty and friendly but unobtrusive, the food really tasty and reasonably priced. The superior room was actually smaller that other cheaper ones (so no 5 stars) but really OK for one night. I may have felt differently had we booked for a week.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms near the pool can be dark so ask for an upper one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pumski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Pumski,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am also happy to hear that you enjoy your stay at Mercure Townsville and found our staff to be friendly.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We also offer Deluxe Balcony Rooms and Family Rooms which are perfectly suitable for long stays. With private balcony overlooking the lakes, these rooms are more spacious and designed with all the modern amenities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

this is now far from my first choice of accor motels in townsville, getting a phone call after 3:00 telling me my room cannot be guarenteed after 4:00 was poor. Lucky i wasnt on a plane and could answer the phone.
After the last time I stayed I said I wouldn't again, gave another chance and that was deffinately the last

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank caitdav82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear caitdav82,


Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Townsville. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Due to high occupancy on the night of your stay we would have given you a call to provide a credit card to guarantee your booking should your arrival be after 4pm.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

They have done a great job on the shared facilities! It looks lovely and very confortable. The pool and gardens are beautiful. Once i got to my room however, my feelings have changed. I have opted for the one of the more expensive rooms with a king size bed and had to double check that i was in fact in the room i ordered as it was less then expected. It was however sufficient for a one night stay. It was large and had a nicely renovated bathroom. The water pressure was the best out of any hotel i have ever stayed in! But i would not call it a hotel, rather a renovated motel. The carpet in my room was so badly stained i did not want to walk barefoot. It had scatter of rust coloured drops all over one of the areas, which made me come up with millions of reasons where they come from. And one questions - why didnt anyone try to get the stains out?
On the bright side, the beds are good, towels fresh and service was excellent. I found stuff very helpful, which seem to be true across all of the Mercure hotels i used. I had to wait for my flight later in the day and was allowed to chill at the pool for as long as i needed.
In all, i will stay in this hotel again, but will ask for a room on the second floor this time, maybe it would be nicer?

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Divs74,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am also happy to hear that you enjoy your stay at Mercure Townsville and continue to receive consistent service and value.

I have passed on your comments to the houskeeping team regarding the carpet stains and I am sure we will come to a solution soon. While the carpets are regularly treated there is a certain level of discoloration due to regular usage. And lastly, we are more than happy to move you the upper level for your next stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
3.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
752 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
304 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Property: Mercure Townsville
Address: 166 Woolcock Street, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing