We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Expectations”
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonj3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Townsville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 909 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

My Husband and I have stayed a few times, the food is always very good staff are friendly and the pool is really nice. Its a nice place for families as well. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the mini bars is good as well

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz05095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear kaz05095,

Dear Jon942,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Second time in 12 weeks we have stayed at the Mecure - 3 days each time. We requested and were given the same room. Staff were great, room was clean and modern. As on our first stay, we could not fault the hotel and its facilities. We stay for non business reasons and therefore we have an option where we book into. Definately our preferred hotel in townsville and recommended to all on holidays.
slimreverend - Cairns

Room Tip: Lake views are great and its well away from the noise of the restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slimreverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear slimreverend,

Thank you for your response once again. I am glad that even your second visit was as good as if not better than your first visit.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dybydx1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Reasonable location out of the heart of town, casual eating available within walking distance. Relaxed environment with friendly staff. Great family friendly hotel with nice swimming facilities and in room movies - a good selection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Jon942,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

As mentioned, Mercure Townsville is a resort style hotel located close to the city and 2km from the airport. Set lakeside amidst 11 acres of lush tropical gardens, the hotel offers 144 spacious, well appointed rooms, with views across the lake or pool or through to the gardens. Mercure Townsville boasts the largest hotel freeform swimming pool in Townsville, with a spa and an area for children, as well as tennis courts. We are also close to Castletown Shopping Centre to fulfill your shopping needs and desires.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turbo291
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

for the price they charge for the town I visited I would have been laying on a beach in Byron Bay with some form of safety.

way to overpriced and im pretty sure a homeless guy was living in the garden.

Backpacker hostels are cheaper and far more luxurious.

Dont kid yourself and don't waste your money. hotels great but the location is literally amongst top notch bogans that have prob been in jail 5 times over...

Its cheaper to stay in bali... for longer and more fun.
too expensive for the location dont waste your time...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfcentrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Surfcentrail,

Thank you for taking time to respond regarding your stay at Mercure Townsville. Clearly, I am surprised with your review as we have been constantly rated as being a great hotel to stay at.

Mercure Townsville is an ideal place for family of four as mentioned. With generous room space with an option of pool view or lake view, very few hotels in Townsville can claim the same.

Our clientele is a mix of professional and leaisure guests who enjoy staying at our property. hence it is quite difficult to ascertain the crowd you are referring to. Apart from the issues relating to other guests staying in the hotel I hope you did get a chance to dine at our fine restaurant and relax.

Thank you for staying with us and it is our hope we get an opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind Regards,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
3.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
455 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#13 of 41 in Townsville
465 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Address: 166 Woolcock Street, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: $85 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing