We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Townsville
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Raintree Motel(Townsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central City Motel(Townsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
City Oasis Inn(Townsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coolabah Motel(Townsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveler rating
252
424
205
60
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
424
205
60
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastletown shopping centreclose to the airportfast food outletsbuffet breakfastrooms are comfortablefamily roomchecking outpleasant staybusiness tripgreat spotmagnetic islandcelsiusreceptionsizzlertropicalpillowsconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 973 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in a family room which had been refurbished and was very modern and clean. Staff were very helpful and facilties were very good. The location is good, with easy access to the airport. I booked via Accor site and breakfast was included in the room cost (which wasn't available direct with the resort). Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardingAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear HardingAyr.

Five out of five!!! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that they will appreciate your kind words. While we are glad that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast, I would like to let you know that you can book Bed & Breakfast rates with the hotel directly as well.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is more like a small resort than a hotel, with a lagoon pool and spa in the middle of the complex and lots of palm trees in between. Our room was medium sized with basic amenities i.e. mini bar/fridge, tea/coffee maker, flat screen TV and air con. All was good apart from the fact that the door had a huuuge gap under it and we had to use a large towel to cover the gap to prevent heat and geckos from coming in - this place turns into gecko central at night - they seem to be everywhere. Bathroom was small, but with a very spacious shower. Overall it was clean, but there was dirt in between many tiles in the bathroom - looks like the cleaners don't really pay too much attention to detail. Shampoo and soap were provided. The price was reasonable, less than $100 per night, which is really hard to find in Australia these days. But it had to bee paid in full on the day of booking - no refurnds so watch out! - and also, there was no free WiFi access and no breakfast included in the room price. There was a restaurant and bar in the hotel, but we found it a lot cheaper to eat out on the town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked a night there on our way back to Sydney because it was close to the airport and looked nice. The price is a lot lower than a crappy motel around Sydney and as we walked in we felt like we were in a small resort with no pretension. Nothing very fancy but a beautiful pool and a lot of palm trees around, an outdoor reception and a restaurant overlooking at the pool.
The breakfast buffet was very simple though, I was expecting something a little bit above.

Room Tip: Try to get a room looking at the park at the back of the hotel, it looks beautiful.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Gillesydney,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
cairns
23
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room was lovely as always, however our sleep was not good and we woke with sore backs. The mattress was not good at all. Service was great as usual and the food was great as usual. We will be back and will reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is a bit disappointing to learn that you did have the best of sleep here with us, please accept our apologies. I have passed on the message to our housekeeping team and we will investigate the quality of the mattresses. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Restaurant and Bar Staff were extremely professional, happy and helpful. Reception staff could have been a little happier. Rooms were average with blankets in need of a good clean. Food at the restaurant was great, however room service/pool side meals were on plates that were not clean. Housekeeping staff were always happy and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richo59, General Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Holiday377,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We also appreciate your concern regarding the cleanliness of the blankets and quality of plates, but let me assure you that we treat all amenities with the utmost care.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your's sincerely,

Peter Richardson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews