We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend away”
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Mackay
1 review
“Wedding weekend away”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived and were able to check in early which was great. We opened the door of our room to be overwhelmed by the smell of chlorine or bleach. It was neat enough for one night.
At the wedding buffet we were table 6 so not too far down the list in order of service we saw one of the salads was completely empty. We told one of the men serving the meat who replied oh well.
In the morning we paid $100 for a buffet breakfast but the bakery items were stale, No variety of yoghurts just mango and the fruit looked like it had been cut days ago. Needless to say we wish we would have taken our $100 elsewhere for breakfast.
Final comment would be is i think our room may have had an ifestation of ants. We took a piece of wedding cake to enjoy the next day but it was absolutely crawling with ants in the morning.
For the price we got the room for and the ease of staying where the wedding was it was great but i would probably look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaMackay4740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Townsville, without your feedback we would be unable to improve our operations.

We like to consider weddings as our specialty, we where recently announced as the runner up for the Australian Bridal Industry Awards, and in 2011 the Mercure Townsville won this award. This is why your feedback will be passed onto our executive chef, as this is not the service that the Mercure Townsville is known for.

Our Restaurant team prides themselves on having one of the best buffet breakfasts in Townsville. We have just recently upgraded the whole buffet, with new Bain Marie that keeps all the hot food at 80 degrees. We also offer an omelets station on weekends and a build your own yogurt-bar, with natural yogurt and a large selection of fruits and nuts.

The Mercure is subject to regular pest inspections, during this inspection the pest controller will inspect the hotel and use environmentally friendly procedures when they deem necessary. I will pass your comments onto your Chief Engineer so we can look at our current pest control procedures.

Thank you for your feedback once again. I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure in the future to show, you this is not the standard of service expected at the Mercure.

Kind Regards
Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    396
    190
    55
    30
See reviews for
217
282
83
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I found my stay at the mercure in Townsville very easy. I was visiting for family reasons and was on a very quick turn around. The mercure is very easy to access from the airport and the service was very good. The only negative thing I have to say is that the heat pump blows directly across the bed and therefore across me creating a draught.

All else during the stay was great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. At the Mercure we pride ourselves on our services standards, we try to devote ourselves to our guests and offer a yes I can attitude to very request. We have one of the best locations in Townsville we are close to major shopping centers and the Airport, for this reason we car very popular with corporate and leisure guests. We look forward to welcoming you back the Mercure.

Kind Regards
Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is my second stay at this particular hotel. This time I was little more disappointed. On my second night, I ordered food from room service. As it was quite a large portion, I decided I would let what I didn't eat cool down, and then put it in the fridge for later. Only a short time later, when I went to put it in the fridge, the food was absolutely covered with ants. Never before have I ever encountered such an issue at a hotel. Leaving room service outside the room also does not seem to be a great idea, as the animals seem to get at it right away - I heard (and saw) this happening several times with neighbouring rooms.
The housekeeping in general however, was good. I always received fresh towels and amenities. The bed was very large and comfortable, and I was grateful for a choice in different kinds of pillows.
The shower temperature would change randomly without my even touching the handle, which resulted in me almost burning myself at one point when the water turned incredibly hot.
I was prepared to pay for in-room internet, as I discovered during my last stay that internet was not included in the cost of the room. However, the in-room internet was not working, which according to the hotel staff, was a problem across the entire hotel. Although the staff were kind enough to provide me with updates regarding this, the lack of in-room internet to work on other projects was very frustrating.
This hotel has promise, but until some proper upgrades are done, this hotel would not be my first choice pick the next time I am in Townsville.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniahime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; through your feedback we are able to improve the whole hotel operations.

The Mercure Townsville has a scheduled pest control program; this program is designed to not harm the local wildlife whilst making sure guest comfort is not effected also. However due to the Townsville tropical weather when there is consistent rain it is common for ants to seek dry ground. I will pass on your comments to the executive housekeeper and chief engineer, so we can explore some new policies to deal with this issue.

The Mercure was experiencing an issue with the in-room internet, this issue required the hotel internet provider to work through, and this has now been resolved. In reception we do offer a complementary 30 minutes of internet access, which was operational during your stay.

I would like to apologies as your experiences did not meet your expectations, and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure Townsville in the future to show you that your issues have been resolved.

Kind Regards
Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

No hot water, noisy room, running toilet, incorrect mini-bar charge......
We booked a quiet room, but was given a room at the beginning of a row. It was very noisy until quite late as people moved along the wooden walkways. The toilet was hard to shut off and it took quite a bit of jiggling to stop the water flow after flushing. After a cold shower, we reported no hot water to reception in the early evening . They were aware of the problem and said it was being fixed. They next morning there was still no hot water and when we advised them of this at check out they didn't offer any apology, refund or discount. Sent two emails to the front desk manager who finally replied offering a 50% refund on our room. Our credit card was also charged after checkout for goods taken from the mini bar, which we didn't use. This was refunded after we brought it to their attention by email.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepy668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

As a member of the Accor Advantage Plus programme and a regular frequenter of Novotel / Mercure hotels everywhere (a dozen in the last month or so) - I can safely say that this hotel needs to seriously rethink their options. The rooms were poorly sign-posted (wandered around looking for the room!), smelly (really stank of bleach!), falling apart, with tired old furniture, saggy beds, rotten pillows and that cheap motor-inn feel everywhere. The drunked louts in the same wing kept everyone awake all night (paper thin walls!) and the bathrooms, which lacked ANY working ventillation (open window didn't solve it!), were horrible to use.

Breakfast was amateur hour (despite the usually excellent Accor buffet formula) - These guys couldn't even get that right. I was amused that they'd even removed proper coffee from the breakfast - so you had to pay for this additionally (unlike all of the other Mercure's I've stayed at). Checkout was the only thing I looked forward to. Such an amazing contrast to amazing hotels in the region like the Mercure in Cairs which is simply stunning. Until this hotel gets a COMPLETE make-over, it's for the AVOID list. Find an alternative Mercure that's had the treatment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyNationalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. Through this type of honest feedback we can better our services to our guests. I would like to apologise, as your experience at the Mercure did not meet your expectations.

At the Mercure Townsville we pride ourselves on our service standards; this branches to all aspects of the hotel, whether it is from Celsius restaurant to the room cleanliness.

We consider the Mercure Townsville breakfast to be one of the best buffet breakfasts available in Townsville, with omelet stations and a board variety of breakfast options. Your comment regarding the breakfast quality has been refunded to our Executive Chef & Restaurant Manager; we will be reviewing our breakfast process.

We have also very recently upgraded some of the room features in the rooms, such as every room has had an upgraded plasma television installed. We are all trying to find new ways to make our hotel rooms look fresh and revitalized.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and offer my sincerest apologies that your experience did not meet your expectation of the Mercure Townsville. I hope we will afford use the opportunity to change your option of the Mercure Townsville, and welcome you in the future.

Kind Regards
Mercure Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The room was right next to a very busy main road
There was no hot water it was warm at best , even after bringing this to staff attention nothing was done to fix the issue.
When we left they did reduce the account as some compensation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville. Please accept my appolgise for the issue with the hot water during your stay.

This issue with the hot water has been fixed, after you brought this to your attention. I would like to thank you for this.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and offer my apologies for the water issue. I hope we will afford us the opportunity to change your option of the Mercure Townsville, and welcome you in the future.

Kind Regards
Mercure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
3.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
763 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
562 reviews
2.7 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Property: Mercure Townsville
Address: 166 Woolcock Street, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing